cars parking in boat spots

View Poll Results: Who thinks cars should be allowed to park in boat car parks

Voters
181. You may not vote on this poll
  • yes i do think they should be allowed to park in boat car parks

6 3.31%
  • No they shouldnt be allowed to park in boat car parks

175 96.69%
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: cars parking in boat spots

cars parking in boat spots

Hi im just wondering everyones thoughts on cars parking in boat spots at the boat ramps, reason being we arrived at spinaker sound marina at 4.30am on sunday and there was five cars parked in boat spots. I would hate to be the people arriving at the ramp at say 7.00am with there boats and having to park on the side of bribie rd. There is a car park for cars across the rd why cant they park there. So do you think cars should be allowed to park in boat parks.

cheers tassie JR

Re: cars parking in boat spots

Thats why we all have bull bars on our tow vehicles isn't it? Ha Ha

i beleive yes only responsibly though, like as all the normal car spots were full i could undestant them parking there. when i went to jacobs well with my family and my pop and nan there was no where else to go so we both parked in 1 of the boat spots.

regards,
    keechie
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

There are always plenty of car parks but no Boat and trailer parks just because some one is lazy to walk extra 200 metres they use them then the poor boatie has to park his trailer that distance
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

They will get booked if they park in the designated trailer parking places at Redland Bay. And so they should imagine the congestion on the ramp if a boatie has to spend 20 minutes walking to where his trailer is parked. After all the trailer parking and associated ramps are paid for by our boating fees.
    Ray

I hve on a rare occasion had to park in a boat parking bay deep water bend is oneif my memory serves me correct has limited "car" spaces also on the weekend at scarborough I noticed that it has heaps of boat spaces but only about 10 car spots. All it takes is for the tow vehicle to be a ute and they have a few deckies with them then they require 2 spaces. On the rare occasion that I have had to park in a boat space I try to park in one that is drive thru which enables another car to park behind me.

If more forthought was put into boat ramp design I'm sure this problem wouldnt occur

Quote Originally Posted by Keechie View Post
    i beleive yes only responsibly though, like as all the normal car spots were full i could undestant them parking there. when i went to jacobs well with my family and my pop and nan there was no where else to go so we both parked in 1 of the boat spots.

regards,
    keechie
    gotto feel sorry for people in those situations ......... but it is just like parking in a disabled spot if no other parks are available ( not quite ... but you know what I mean )

Nagg

Quote Originally Posted by Keechie View Post

regards,
    keechie

Keechie

Methinks you've (quite innocently) just shed another light on a thread that would normally generate considerable venting & anger.

Car & boat trailer units are not the easiest of things to find a park for (many are 10-15m long). It is a scenario that most trailer boat owners would spew over - - to find a dedicated vehicle /trailer carpark full & some inconsiderate pr!ck(s) parking their piece of sh!t at the boat ramp cause they couldn't give a flying f**k !!

On the other hand, your description of your scenario is entirely different - it made me think of other possibilities - and I thank you for that.

Anyway ... back to my ramp problem ... wish I could use a really faarking big excavator with grappling jaws to deal with the offensive vermin then proceed smoothly into launch mode as if that spot had been destined for me - aaaahhhhhhh

have a good day
    MalM
    Last edited by uripper; 27-05-2008 at 08:12 PM.

No
    there is no need for it
    maybe if any occupants of the car cant get around so good they could be dropped off near the ramp area & the driver & more agile passengers could park the car in a CAR park & walk to were they want to be.
    UN

Tassie.
    This is a case of where we used to have unwritten rules that people seem to know. We know have a situation where because of a number of reason peoples attitudes are " I was here first and bugger you".
    A classic example of what you describe occurs at the Coast Guard ramp at Mooloolaba. Over summer it fills with beach goers who either have no idea or simply don’t care.
    Is it legal?

Quote Originally Posted by stingau View Post
    I hve on a rare occasion had to park in a boat parking bay deep water bend is oneif my memory serves me correct has limited "car" spaces also on the weekend at scarborough I noticed that it has heaps of boat spaces but only about 10 car spots. All it takes is for the tow vehicle to be a ute and they have a few deckies with them then they require 2 spaces. On the rare occasion that I have had to park in a boat space I try to park in one that is drive thru which enables another car to park behind me.

If more forthought was put into boat ramp design I'm sure this problem wouldnt occur
    Mate, I still dont think thats a good enough excuse. What, because there is only limited car spaces, or you have two vehicles. Park your car out on the road, and leave the trailer spaces for vehicles with trailers. I spose youd park in the rigging lane (Like many people do every weekend at Deepwater) if there was no spare spaces. Come on... park out on the road and walk the extra 200 metres. It's just inconsiderate lazyness in my opinon

Well thanks everyone for the replies and a few different opinions happening, another reason is alot of boaties that go fishing alone have to leave there boats parked on the beach unnatended for a long period time while they walk to get there car and trailer and risk there gear getting stolen very unlikly but it can happen.

cheers tassie JR
    Last edited by Tassie JR; 27-05-2008 at 09:07 PM.

Parking around the ramps beside the VMR on the Gold Coast Spit is hopeless on Saturday mornings when they have the dragon boat racing, cars everywhere in trailer places. I'm waiting for the day when a couple of car/trailer combos gang up & park a few of these cars in

And they give you greasy looks if you dare use the ramps to launch your boat where they are racing. I mean these guys have the entire Broadwater to race on but they choose to do it right in front of the boat ramps.

Presumably dragon boat racing gets you fit, well try kicking it off by parking in the proper places & walk the short distance

I feel better now

Ausfish Gold Member

Not so long ago Gawby couldnt get a boat trailer park at the Grand ramp because of all the deadshiiit parked there .He had to park on the road and on return had been booked ...the system stinks ...
    Terry

I got a bit of a story actually

On mothers day the akff crew were having a bit of a function at coochie. arrived at 5am to find most of the carpark of the lower section full with the cars of people who live on coochie. However, there were a few spots free in the centre carpark which were free, so without thinking i went and drove in with my nose up to another car.

There was kinda a blurred out line on the ground which indicated it was car separated car parking, so i thought nothing of it. Parked down there because i didnt really feel like wheeling a kayak 300m to get to a ramp, and then back again.

Anyway, went for my paddle, came back and found a parking ticket. So i looked for the sign, which was obscured by a tree. I copped it on the chin and realised i did something wrong, but if they are going to make that boat parking only, atleast completely remove the line AND book the bastards who park their car closest to the ramp who live on coochie. No need for it to be there.

Now, i had a kayak, so i needed to be parked in close distance to the ramp, and we arent "meant to use" public boat ramps, so we have to wheel it too and back again. In addition to this, a kayak is a hell of alot easier to steal than a boat, and subsequently steal off. So leaving it at a ramp while you walk 300m out of sight to put your cart back in your car is like erecting a sign that says" steal my reels and fish finders, i'm ok with it!"

Should there be a "kayak only" parking area? How bout a divers? Wind surfers?

All in all it was $50 for a mixture of my own stupidity, a lack of lighting, over grown trees, shitty carpark marking, an bad planning that assumes that only boating cars need high proximity car parking

You gotta remember there is always 2 sides to a story
    Last edited by theclick; 27-05-2008 at 09:48 PM.
    Perception Swing Flatty and bream angler
    Landbased Too.
    Subaru Lover