Thread: Bloody Snapper

Bloody Snapper

Gidday All,
    Wasn't going to send in a post, but with the missus now working night shift and sitting around bored, thought what the heck. My brother and i did a quick trip to try find some new fishing grounds, searching all day with no current, fish must have been scattered, bait was the only schools we could constantly find schooled up.
    Finding a couple spots that will probably fish better of a night but failed to produce through the day, except for a couple cod which i don't like catching, and promptly released.
    Deciding to anchor for the night on a known spot, where the sounder showed a few nice snapper sitting up off the bottom. Not targeting snapper, we fished whole dead baits on the bottom tying to tempt a big red, but all we could catch for the night were snapper.
    I can thoroughly recommend using circle hooks, because my brother caught most off his fish sleeping, laying on the floor of the boat in a sleeping bag, with me yelling at him before his rod snapped in two.
    Even caught a few trag jew, that attacked baits halfway up when retrieving baits after being chomped by squire.
    Caught six huge catfish which bitterly disgusted us being so far offshore, with a couple undersized reds just to tease us.
    Havn't been offshore fishing since July last year, so we thoroughly enjoyed it, wish fuel prices weren't so high, so i could afford to do it more often.

Cheers Tiger
    Live To Fish

Re: Bloody Snapper

Beautiful fish Tiger and great pics. I'm yet to catch a snapper, and I hope one day to match yours, they are rippers!

G'day tiger nice fish and great post, yeh terrible to catch "bloody snapper" that big I WISH where are you from and what area do you fish. MARK

Nice work mate, top effort.

cheers tassie JR

Wat area were you fishing mate? They are some very nice fish.

Although I too would prefer to catch nice reds than big snapper, still a good catch no matter how you look at it though! Well done.

Top catch Tiger, Will be seeing you in July Regards Brett.

You poor bugger only to come home with those. You must be shattered. Well done anyway.

Kezza

Yes, poor dear. My unbridled sympathy to you
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

yeh nice fish mate

There some big snaps mate, I'd be cheering with one fish that big!

nice snapper mate
    Dylan

Quote Originally Posted by sea tiger View Post
    but all we could catch for the night were snapper.
    Cheers Tiger

im sorry to hear that, you must be devistated!

Congratulations on a successful trip. Some awesome fish. The fuel prices are hurting a lot of people in a lot of different ways. My way around it was to buy a boat that was VERY economical however to get the economy I have had to sacrifice being able to go offshore in it but it is a good boat for zipping around in the bay. In one trip I went from Manly to Peel Island to Green Island, then to Mud Island with a lot of drifting and then back to Manly all on one 25 litre tank. Affordable boating but the quality of fish is not the same as offshore. Still great to get out though.

Tight lines,

Last edited by Poodroo; 25-05-2008 at 12:58 PM.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Thanks Guys for your comments, Real Nautie: Next couple of months is prime time, best of luck, hope you bag a big one, it's a nice feeling seeing your first big snapper boatside.
    Coupie: I live an hour west of Brisbane, like to fish around Rainbow Beach area.
    Spot82: Yeah love the reds, just don't seem to get enough of them, what makes them special i guess.
    No Tiller: How are ya Brett, looking forward to it mate, see you soon.
    Poodroo: Mate limit my fishing trips to only a couple times a year now, in my younger years i would be off twice a month, must be gettin old eh!
    Thanks again fella's
    Cheers Tiger
    Live To Fish

There monster snapper - gotta be happy with that surely even though you'd hoped for a red. Great catch!