-
Midweek Trip to Shoals north of Fraser Is
Got a call from a good mate inviting me to head out with a mate of his for an overnighter off the top of Fraser out over the breaksea spit so headed up to Hervey Bay for my first trip to that area.
Left Urangan at 11am and headed off on the 3 and a bit hour trip in perfect conditions as can be seen in the attached pic.
First drop was a bit before 3pm with me and scoring nice fish on the first drop, the biggest of the parrot and one of the big red throats, thought we were going to have a ripper of a night. Fishing was good until the sun went down although a few good fish had alread been fed to the sharks, continuing into the night I got sharked atleast another 6 times, had ne fish to the surface, broke the water wide of the boat and then took off and broke me off. I finally got a big fish to the boat to find that it was big travelly (any help with the type would be appreciated, GT??). Got sick of catching hussar and moses and getting busted up by sharks so we anchored up and had a snooze.
Got up just before sunrise and started drifting again. Just as the sun come up all four of us hooked up to good fish, boat owner pulled the hooks on his but two big spangled emperor and a big red throat were added to the esky. Things were again looking very promising after a slow night, but once again sharks showed up and we never boated another fish, only a couple of heads. Some of the fish taken would have been larger than the biggest spangle and were taken whole as we then ended up hooked up to freight trains.
Overall great trip, great weather, but lost more fish to sharks than what we landed. Few pics for everyone attached.
Last edited by Spot82; 22-05-2008 at 10:40 PM.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: Midweek Trip to Shoals north of Fraser Is
Nice report & pics - sounds like a great trip. The grey suits seem to be getting more than their fair share at the moment (sic other similar post reports).
Mal
-
nice catch and perfect conditions, always mid week and never on weekends. i am sure that there are a lot of jealous people that will read this, well done.
-
sound like a great trip mate, and also that is definintaly a giant trevor,
jamie
Ahhhhh, To be young and Free
-
Nice spangle and redthroat mate, very envios, well done.
Wal