Ok gentlemen thats enough of the bitching , come on over and ill shout you some beers and popcorn and we can sit here and poke fun at someone elses thread
Two headstwo dicks because snelly couldnt be that silly playing with one
oh did i type that
come on fellas settle down enoughs enough
Last edited by 1lastcast; 23-05-2008 at 07:09 PM.
I think you poor cat and tri hull drivers should just sell them and go buy a mono
(then maybe I can pick up a cheap cat)
Snelly,
The question I always ask myself regarding tri-hulls, is: If they are so superior to cats and mono's, why have they not pushed these other inferior designs aside and become the number one choice of todays informed boaties?
Not trying to say tri-hulls are shite or anything as I haven't been in one myself and I bet this is the case for 95% of the blokes on this website, hence the little to no argument submitted
Im suprised the mods have let this one go on for so long, it has become too personal and some one is going to get banned. Also mick you need to not take things so seriously mate...jim
Snelly
Old chop duster is almost right ,it's probably over 99% though. i can not argue with you mate i have never been in a powered tri hull and have no idea how they perform. I think you'll have to wait for someone else to have a spat with!I do hate missing out on a good arguement though!!!
Ps. If you were talking sail powered though i woul;d tell you you are definately wrong as trimarans are far more dangerous in ocean conditions that cats and i would never go on one, powered ones are obviously in your opinion very differant!
Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!
Hi team ok i hope maybe i can help change this into a more useful thread... I own a 6m Hydrofield I love it and can honestly say after this i would never go back to a mono.. the ride is so much better and is as good as any 'similar sized' cat up to a point.... once the old sea gets above 20knts - 1.5m i've gotta back off just like anyone else where i have seen and been in cats that have powered on if not faster than normal cruising speed.. having said that though my idea of a good day out isn't a 20+knt wind 2m swell so having that advantage is not overly a huge concern. What i like most is that my 'actual' fishing space measures 2.1m x 2.4m which is huge in a 20ft cab style boat...and the fact that i can and do have regular trips that are up around 100km offshore and can come home only using a tad over 100L after cruising on 25+knts all day. As for stability Hydrofields i've found are like cats in that they will tend to drift sideways over the waves but in my opinion are both much the muchness. At the end of the day its a Holden, Ford thing and as with most things these days its how much of the cold hard that your willing to outlay...
I've never owned a cat ...... but have constantly fished out of several for 20 years ( 2 x shark cats , 3 x broadbills & 2 x Sailfish) ...... No experience with Tri hulls ( bar being boarded by NSW fisheries @ Narooma)
I can see the advantages ( 2 motors , good stable platform , nice large cockpit area & can push through some nasty conditions) ...... but in smaller sizes they can be a total pain in the ass
They can be as wet as any boat ( hard tops sucking the spray back into the cockpit)
Anchoring is a total pain / dangerous in a bit of swell due to the access!
The 5M Sharkcat was dangerous in a following sea
Windy conditions ( cross winds) played havoc with the broadbills ( + they banged quite hard)
Running costs ( & maintenance) of two engines high ...... though improved with newer technology engines
Bar crossing both outgoing & incoming ( in marginal conditions) .... Not fun
The high sides make drifting difficult once the wind puffs ...... spoils cubing for YFT ( unless a sea anchor is deployed)
So spending all the time I have in Cats ...... I've never felt inclined to go out & buy one of my own!
Just some unbiased observations with regard to CATs that I've fished out of
Nagg
Last edited by NAGG; 24-05-2008 at 10:37 AM.
Mick Mick Mick whats doin buddy??? Why you been so defensive?? Just cause you bought the wrong boat( you shoulda bought a cat) thats not the end of the world you can always sell itNah just winding you up mate im not the one to critisise cause ive never been in a trihard hull. That boat of yours is one lump of a boat i dont doubt it carves up the rough stuff. Mate the reason I Love my cat so much and am so proud of it is for a few reasons.
1) For a 5.2m boat is has a deckspace of 3.4m x 2.3m
2) It rides superior for a 5.2m boat (soft, stable, safe)
3) Its under 2 tonne ( easy to tow, doesnt require breakaway brakes)
4) Has watertight bulkheads making it unsinkable (rare in a boat this size)
5) Sleeps two comfortably in the bunks up front due to the squarness of the hull
6) Looks good![]()
![]()
7) Has a huge builtin livebait tank and separate builtin esky.
8) Easy to store as its not as lenghty as monos that apparantly are equal in ride
9) Great resale
10) Easy to retrieve on/off trailer.
These are just a few reasons why ill never sell this boat. Once fitted with 60hp yammie four strokes i reckon ill have a winner.
I think this sums up my caseNo more to say. Tight lines
![]()
Mick Mick Mick whats doin buddy??? Why you been so defensive?? Just cause you bought the wrong boat( you shoulda bought a cat) thats not the end of the world you can always sell itNah just winding you up mate im not the one to critisise cause ive never been in a trihard hull. That boat of yours is one lump of a boat i dont doubt it carves up the rough stuff. Mate the reason I Love my cat so much and am so proud of it is for a few reasons.
1) For a 5.2m boat is has a deckspace of 3.4m x 2.3m
2) It rides superior for a 5.2m boat (soft, stable, safe)
3) Its under 2 tonne ( easy to tow, doesnt require breakaway brakes)
4) Has watertight bulkheads making it unsinkable (rare in a boat this size)
5) Sleeps two comfortably in the bunks up front due to the squarness of the hull
6) Looks good![]()
![]()
7) Has a huge builtin livebait tank and separate builtin esky.
8) Easy to store as its not as lenghty as monos that apparantly are equal in ride
9) Great resale
10) Easy to retrieve on/off trailer.
These are just a few reasons why ill never sell this boat. Once fitted with 60hp yammie four strokes i reckon ill have a winner.
I think this sums up my caseNo more to say. Tight lines
![]()
Good to see the mods are worrking hard to prevent personal insults![]()
I have never been in a cat or tri, but in theory I would think a cat would be preferable to a tri or mono when punching through a bar/swell, just dont get it side on![]()
Less cross sectional area = less resistance (to the approaching swell)
Mick, dont get me wrong, I have nothing against you, but if thats 40 knots and/or 4 metre swell, I'll eat my hatI have been windsurfing for many years and have had to pick sail size based on wind conditions, and I'd call that 20-25 knots tops
Photos are deceiving Hamish, It was not as though I wanted to be there, Just got caught by a false forecast......
But He........Your an experienced Windsurfer, So Yep....I will take your word over the BOM Website readings..
Ps....Maybe if I get the Older Deckie onboard to join, He may tell about the wave that broke over the side next to the hauler and smashed him on the chest......
Last edited by snelly1971; 24-05-2008 at 06:22 PM.