Happy Valley Caloundra 21st

Thread: Happy Valley Caloundra 21st

Happy Valley Caloundra 21st

Gday all!
    Well tonight was a bit ordinary. Maybe the ol'batch of Woolies Banana prawns were a bit old?
    Anyway we kicked off at 7.15pm. Got two small Bream and chucked em back in.

Here is one that you can help us with. We seemed like we kept getting bites. There would be a tap, tap, tap...sometimes a big yank and run, almost like wave action. Every time the bait is gone! We thought maybe crabs???

Anyway, it was happening over and over. We fished through until 10 after high tide. Anyway I got sick up the tap tap tapping so I decided to try to snap whatever was having a go at me. Well I felt a dead weight not really much fight at all. Wound it in a this is what I got. I am not certain what sort of fish but it seemed loaded with roe so I took a photo and let it go.

I am convinced that these small mouthed buggers were nibbling away at the trusty ol' Banana prawns all night. Is it a Parrotfish or Morwong or neither?
    Last edited by Scotth; 21-05-2008 at 11:37 PM.

Re: Happy Valley Caloundra 21st

Looks like a happy moment to me if is is be carefull they sting really good

greg

Ausfish Platinum Member mattooty's Avatar

Probably a blackfish, aka luderick. Hard to tell though as it doesnt have the vertical bars they're reknowned for and the colour is a bit to light. Did it have any vertical bars on it?

very hard to tell from the bad lighting in the pictures, but Blackfish, AKA Luderick AKA Niggers, or Girella Tricuspedata, is what it looks like, all Blackfish caught at night are very pale and lack the coloured bars, as they do in daytime captures.

Ausfish Platinum Member Outsider1's Avatar

Agree with Matt,

the shape does look like a Luderick, though the colour(s) does not appear right as Matt said, but I have seen them all shades. That little bump on the nose in front of the eyes is unusual though?? Not a Drummer, not deep enough in the body?. Might be a hybrid, apparently they do cross breed at times?

The way it took the bait also sounds like a Luderick.

Last edited by Outsider1; 22-05-2008 at 04:24 PM.

Looks like a silver sweep ??

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

I posted in your other thread mate, but I agree with Mark def a Sweep of some kind.. there is a few different sorts of them and they are usually caught south of the border I believe.

Brandon...

not a sweep, positively, caught millions of them.

i reckn drummer for sure

It was silvery, fat a small mouth. This was definately not a happy moment as I have caught one before and it looked nasty. When I researched it later I confirmed that I was right to leave it alone.
    This fish was very beautiful with a lovely sheen. It had a small mouth. I was holding up the dorsal fins to show it better. I looked up the fisheries ID site. It wasn't a silver bream or boney bream and it did make a grunt sound when I was holding it. Would it be a Parrotfish or Morwong? It was caught at night and really didnt fight, more a dead weight and was heavy on the line.
    Last edited by Scotth; 22-05-2008 at 05:20 PM.

Hey there Scotth, a bit of a long shot but could be a Tilapia ?? . Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

u can rule out parrot and the mowie 4 sure i reckon drummer also but then again they put up a decent fight... so ill say luderick