As a pre-emptive strike on Scott's report, here's mine.....
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My mate came up from Sydney. We went fishing with Scott. It was really good. We caught fish.
As a pre-emptive strike on Scott's report, here's mine.....
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My mate came up from Sydney. We went fishing with Scott. It was really good. We caught fish.
Nice grunter and top table on meal...
Guess you were fishing at middle reef right?
Thanks for pic's and it reminds me good old days in Tvs...
We were off the north end of Maggie Island Silent.
My mate in the picture hooked the biggest catfish I've ever seen (Around the metre mark) and a big Remora as well... he he he
thats a thumper grunter
figjam :wink:
Gees Dan all that flowery prose it sure does make Scott's reports look like a school text book I LMAO straight to the point
IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT
Hahaaa, that's gold Dan.
Good grunter too.
Brian.
nice fish there, was it saturday or sunday? got up at 4am sunday & the wind was bad so went back to bed,we have 2 get together & have a fish i reckon!
ron.
reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active
WOW, what a report, plenty of detail in that one.
For others, we were fishing near west point, and the smallest grunter went about 40cm from memory, and the largest at about 53-54cm. The tuskie went 35cm. All was fishing well until the tide stopped, and we moved spots then small cod were on the chew, with a baby nannygai for good measure
He he he he... It had to be done Scotty
As Scott has said, we were at North Maggie. Bit of current running through, and was the end of the run out. The fish came before the tide stopped, and the big catty came when the current was pretty much non existant.
We looked around at a few different places during the day, trolled a little, and tried a few different spots. The few others we fished would be good at high tide, so next time
I'm also thinking a night fish out there could be very very productive! A light and scoop net for squid could produce some good live bait & food. And live squid out there could easily become tasty fish
Ron - Always keen mate. I'm a fishing flousy...
It was Saturday we were out there. And not too early a start as the massive amount of beer from the night before was keeping us in bed a little later than planned...
Last edited by Fishin_Dan; 21-05-2008 at 03:36 PM.
that's the way boys, night fishing out there (i have that spot inprinted in the back of my brain) is great, i have caught some big fish at night using live squid & the last trip out there got a 4ft long catty. there is lots of better marks heading towards rattlesnake but not much further past burdken rock.
ron.
I would've loved to head out further to the likes of Burdekin rock or Rattlesnake, but unfortunately I don't have an epirb, its not a physical limitation, getting there will be fine, just the safety side of things. I keep putting the Epirb on the 'list of things to buy' but for some reason, it just keeps getting pushed lower and lower down the list. Hopefully with the next break in the weather it'll be right to go.
scott, u got a bigger boat than me, i got a 4.4mtr v-nose flat bottom & i get out there no probs. but u do need a epirb i need to get the new 1 as well.
ron.
Well Scotty, if you didn't have to get cabs under the alias of Mr Bunnings, you might be able to get your EPIRB...hahaha.. had to be said mate...lol
Well done fella's, now I can see why ya's were late on Sat Dan.
Yeah well you know... A good feed certainly helped with the amount of booze we drank that night Corey!!!