Thread: Bundaberg-On the "Not To Return List"

Re: Bundaberg-On the "Not To Return List"

Hi Nigel, Navi,

We had a great trip and look forward to our next adventure in 1770.

You never know we might just come back to Bundaberg when the fish are on the bite

Frank OO

I'm so pleased to hear you blokes are not catching any fish. I'm out of action for a while and really missing my fishing, but it seems I'm not missing much

hey franko went to bundy on 3rd of may fished the 4th as decky come guest of the skipper on a charter boat called prime mover between 10 people, mate it was the best fishing i have experienced in australia various people caught reds 20kgs +++ the bigest lipper i have ever seen at 7 to 8kg i myself managed 6 to 7 kg red for the day and some good cod nailed heaps of slateys & grinners
    cheers seanAttachment 27220

Someone told me once that he believed if we are in a drought on the land that there is a drought in the water? Not sure. Bad luck that weekend Frank - thats fishin. I'm sure though if you did the same techniques etc next month, you'd have a completly different result maybe? Cheers mate, Darren

Hi Sean,

We actually heard Prime Mover on the radio as he was heading out to a spot near Breaksea Spit. I know that there are plenty of of fish in the area and the ones you have just told me about is proof.

I think I may just have to go over to the dark side and someone to teach me how to use bait again.

Not sure if Eric Grell will approve of bait and a snapper lead on the S10 though.

Thanks Sean Great Photo.

I loved the photos on your report Fishbait.

Frank OO

Frank OO

Quote Originally Posted by Frank OO View Post
    Hi Nigel, Navi,

We had a great trip and look forward to our next adventure in 1770.

You never know we might just come back to Bundaberg when the fish are on the bite

Frank OO
    Hey Frank OO

We're thinking of a trip later this year/next year on Liberty II to Lady Musgrave - by sea - running from Bribie up inside of Fraser to 1770 and out to the island. If you're interested we could join up somewhere ...

Nigel
    Last edited by Liberty; 20-05-2008 at 08:10 AM.

Havent fished up that way however I have been fishing swains for the past 8 years and have found occassions where the fish just stop chewing for two days when there is a specific change in conditions etc.

It is quite amazing to see and experience and we usually have to move a long distance to search for unaffected reefs.

Just my 2 cents worth.

MATEEEEEEEEEE
    Have the Yeppoon Coast Guard competetion in August i would love to get to that area but after that comp i'm re living my honemoon Apparently So the wife tells me when we revive our honeymoon 3 years anniversary And if you know what women are like my Genitails would be online if i missed that
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Hey frank, shame about the fish but atleast yous got some great weather, and im sure yous still had a great time out on the water, anyway least some of us not so good fisherman might have a chance to catch a fish now, your always catching them on us.

cheers Dan

Hey Frank....welcome home mate. We struck out on the Barwons on Saturday ourselves. The fishing has been terrible from what I've seen lately. We managed a feed of 6kg Amberjack which we nailed on top of the reef which was ok so all wasn't lost.

Sucks Bundy didn't fire for you but hey that's life isn't it? When are you heading out again? Let me know mate. I'd be keen to go have a play as well.

Ash

Hi Frank,

Geeze mate I feel real bad now that you went all that way and they didn't play the game. I've never had a shocker out there. I've always been able to come home with at least a feed or a healthy esky.
    Like I said though we used to do overnighters out there and fish at least 2 tide changes. Seemed to fish better at dawn and dusk like anywhere I guess. Office hours was a little quiet out there. Did you anchor up or drift?

Send me an email sometime and let me know which marks you went to.

Craig.

Frank
    cmon mate u had good time any how ;good weather . good company, good food .
    only fish did not play but as you know they don't play game every time
    i bet you if you just went back to same spot day after u will clean them

cheers MyWay

ps: last time when i was out i heard you on radio going back in from w.cal. whit fool esky
    i was out on mud's
    Last edited by MyWay; 25-05-2008 at 08:55 PM.

HI Craig, My Way,

We had a great time. I really wanted to fish with plastics so we drifted along slowly with the current.

Plenty of fish showing bot no takers. It appears that a lot of places are a bit slow at the moment.

My Way, Mud Island is great especially when you catch a good fish in the shallows but you will have to come out again. I think you have forgotton how to stretch your arms in deep water.

Frankl OO

We had a pearler of a weekend up here in Cairns a couple of weeks back (weatherwise). It was a glass out right to the reef and the usual 30 million boats headed out .

I took my boat (fresh from a service) for a test run around high island to the sth of Cairns and put the marine radio. Several people had discussion about how they had caught nothing including the overnighters.

I think there was so much food flushed out of the river systems and onto the reef this year that it must be a contributor to poor fishing. The entire east coast river system went into flood (qld).