Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Midday Madness

Midday Madness

Have been waiting for the tides to come good before hitting the gutter that produced most of the fish in Greenbackathon. I've been staying away from it so as to not spook the fish from coming into it once the tides improved. I reckoned that the turn of the tide today after an 11.37am low would be the time to hit it and I wasn't disappointed.
    They started off fairly slow with a decent chopper every 3 casts or so, but the intensity picked up as the tide started to fill the gutter. By 12.30, it was a fish each cast and of a better size - around 2kg. Am guessing that I would have beached around 25 - 30 fish before deciding the quality wasn't going to improve and pulled the pin. Beautiful conditions with a light easterly, blue sky and crystal clear water. Could see each fish as they hit the lure and changed direction with a flash of silver.
    All fish took very slow lures as they are full of roe and lazy. Kept one to give to Joe and Yvonne who manage the Wilderness Park Camping area at the 3rd cut. But if I'd known who their son is, then I might have suggested they chase Seaspirit for a big jack fillet. Very good fish that David.
    So rather than keep adding to Greenbackathon which was over a new moon phase, thought I'd start a new thread for this full moon and report daily catches or otherwise. Lunch time tomorrow will be the next sess and I'd be surprised if there isn't fish there again.

Lindsay

Re: Midday Madness

Sounds good.
    So generally you only keep enough for a fresh feed ? well done mate
    fell free to post some down to Brissy for me
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

thanks for your updates slider and indepth explanations you have been helpful to many on this site ,cheers.

Hey lindsay,
    Sounds like you had a good session again. Hopefully the tailor start to come down brissy way. Went out saturday night and only caught keeper 2 tailor, but was lucky to get a good feed of moses perch. We even caught 2 dart, which was a bit weird. Im hoping to head up your way next long weekend if the weathers good to take boats out.

Brad

Top stuff Lindsay,

I am headed North next week,
    When I get back I will give you a yell.

Quote Originally Posted by Slider View Post
    Have been waiting for the tides to come good before hitting the gutter that produced most of the fish in Greenbackathon. I've been staying away from it so as to not spook the fish from coming into it once the tides improved. I reckoned that the turn of the tide today after an 11.37am low would be the time to hit it and I wasn't disappointed.
    They started off fairly slow with a decent chopper every 3 casts or so, but the intensity picked up as the tide started to fill the gutter. By 12.30, it was a fish each cast and of a better size - around 2kg. Am guessing that I would have beached around 25 - 30 fish before deciding the quality wasn't going to improve and pulled the pin. Beautiful conditions with a light easterly, blue sky and crystal clear water. Could see each fish as they hit the lure and changed direction with a flash of silver.
    All fish took very slow lures as they are full of roe and lazy. Kept one to give to Joe and Yvonne who manage the Wilderness Park Camping area at the 3rd cut. But if I'd known who their son is, then I might have suggested they chase Seaspirit for a big jack fillet. Very good fish that David.
    So rather than keep adding to Greenbackathon which was over a new moon phase, thought I'd start a new thread for this full moon and report daily catches or otherwise. Lunch time tomorrow will be the next sess and I'd be surprised if there isn't fish there again.

Lindsay
    Hey Lindsay, where is Wilderness Park Camping Area, Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Great work (again) Linds - Kudos for sharing your techniques/knowledge also mate, I know a lot of Ausfish members appreciate it.

BTW - Hitting curtain/beacons early tomorow mate....going to be giving a few of your slugs a run

As always an excellent report!! Thanks Lindsay!

Now, if only I can "disappear" for a few hours tomorrow :-)

The Wilderness Camp Bar Up, is between the 2nd and 3rd beach access cuttings to Teewah Beach. Is very good beach front camping with a small shop, toilet/shower/laundry facilities and kangaroos everywhere. The stretch of beach in front of the camping area has numerous good gutters and is where I've caught more tailor than anywhere else. Joe and Yvonne can be contacted for enquiries on 54498811.
    No worries Pete, I'm sure you'll need to get some fishing in after being in the Whitsundays. Where are you staying this time?
    Brad, most of the tailor are still south of you and heading north so things may improve. Look forward to seeing you up here for queens birthday.
    I don't like to keep many fish DS and especially if they're roed up. Also, unless tailor are going straight into an ice slurry when caught in the middle of the day, then they get soft very quickly and the flesh turns to mush. I never carry a bag and with a walk of 150m through a waiste deep gutter to the vehicle for each fish - far easier and more fun to be had by releasing.
    Always happy to pass on info Childers - doesn't seem to affect my fishing too much.

Just to clarify the lure speed today - the tailor were taking slow lures as mentioned, but the retrieval I used was to crank fast for 10 metres after the lure lands for greenbacks, then virtually stop winding altogether for 1 - 2 seconds, then crank 4 or 5 quick turns, then virt stop, 4 or 5 turns, stop ...... and the tailor would always take it on the stop. ( or dropbacks as Chris aka GWH calls them)

Kingies at Curtain tomorrow then Mick?

Thanks Lindsay - I feel a drive up to Teewah coming on early next week
    Cheers Freeeedom

Kingies at Curtain tomorrow then Mick?
    Unfortunately not mate Got a nice Gold Spot Cod(~4kg), couple of tailer and 1 Mac T (25g slider did the damage )

I was thinking tuna when I rigged those 25s on mono for you Mick - they're a good little slug those hey? Small for their weight and cast a long way. Must have been a pretty good day to be out there?
    If you're heading up during the week Freeeedom, then let me know when and see if we can catch up on the beach - around low tide and half way between 3rd cut and Teewah seems like a good location atm.

Went down to above mentioned location on low today to find a mixed brew of locals with Sliders ready to go. Before the first slug was thrown, it started to rain and blow out of the north with small storm cells buzzing around - (the ten thousandth weather change I've seen come through on a tidal change) - which increased sweep and decreased casting distance. After about 20 casts each and no strikes, it was becoming apparent that the tailor were going to do what would be expected when they're expected and not turn up. A small chopper I threw in Joes' bag a half hour after low and 2 more average choppers shortly afterwards gave some optimism to the crew. But another 20 casts each with no result and conditions getting cool, it was time to concede defeat and adjourn to the esky.
    Beach traffic could be a factor today as there is a fair bit of it and conditions very calm. The sand has built up very quickly and created high banks on the high tide holes - lots of revs coming from each truck and bike going past this morning and this afternoon and just lots of traffic on low. Did see a good flathead caught and a golden from the 3rd cut gutter and guys fishing in front of the Wilderness Camp this morning had fun with a couple of choppers, a nice golden and a 20lb blue spot shovelly. Few choppers taken in front of Teewah on pilchards last night.

I was thinking tuna when I rigged those 25s on mono for you Mick - they're a good little slug those hey? Small for their weight and cast a long way. Must have been a pretty good day to be out there?
    Great slug mate - He certainly stayed hooked!! And yep...can cast them a mile!!

Yeah conditions were fantastic...pitty there were so many bloody divers @ Curtain!(Can't blame them with the unbelievable water atm....they must have 25m+ visibility down there!!)

btw - Lot of Dollies about today....but very hard to get near, and wouldn't touch anything I threw there way.
    Last edited by frankgrimes; 17-05-2008 at 06:41 PM.

Water vis in the surf gutters would be a bout 10 metres,so must be great out on the reefs atm. Pity you couldn't get amongst the dollies Mick - sliders should go well on them.

Couple of pics - 3rd cut early morning and at mid morning. Should be able to see the rock in the mid morn pic.