North Ballina - Beach Lizzards

Thread: North Ballina - Beach Lizzards

North Ballina - Beach Lizzards

Not long read Goatboys report on South Ballina Beach so thought I'd post up some of the Lizzards I managed off the beaches just north of Ballina this week. All on S.P. Work has finally died down a bit so Ive managed 3 trips this week. The surf was a little big earlier in the week but I still managed 1 bream at about 35cm and a monumental wipe out on what I expect was a bigger bream. Tuesday I fished high tide with a dropping sea. I found some rock in a gutter close to shore. It took a little while before I located the fish in the gutter but after that they were thick. I managed 9 lizzards in 40-45 minutes the biggest going 60-62cm with the majority at 45ish cm. Managed a hat trick at one stage the second fish taking the placcie before it hit the bottom.

Managed another quick trip yesterday arv to the same rocks and scored another 5 lizzards plus a small bream. Paid the price for being to casual on the biggest flattie for the session...that finished proceedings!

Initially fish caught on a 4" swimming mullet in pumpkinseed with a 3/8oz jighead combination, my favourite off the beach. Changed to a watermelon pearl 4" minnow on the same jig head and its quickly establishing itself as a new favourite off the beach....phenominal imitation of a white pillie in the water!

Pictures are poor from the fone but hey everyones seem pics of flatties and well ...the one of my hand.... thats the best I could do with the phone and the swearing coming out of my mouth

Re: North Ballina - Beach Lizzards

Flathead but a fat hand........Ouch.
    Jewie

Ausfish Gold Member

Nice looking flatties! Must say your hand looks painfull. What size line and leader do you use in the surf?

Cheers, Mick.

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

how did that happen, oooooooo that looks nasty. nice flattys too
    figjam :wink:

G'Day Nugg...might have had something to do with the bikini walking up the beach ...I was only lookin for a sec I promise

Mick 3 kg fireline with 10lb FC Rock...pulls most of em up no dramas. Only been dusted the once...so far

OOhhh!!! That's ugly - I bet that hurt. The lizard stab wounds tend to ache for quite a while. Nice fish though!
    Cheers Freeeedom

nice fish stonecold .... bet that hand bled like a b^&% but...cheers bdowdy..brett

Yeah but my wound will heal in a week or so...I can safely say that the flatties wont!
    Last edited by stonecold; 15-05-2008 at 04:22 PM.

Hey Mate,

Nice Beach flathead, they fight hard in the surf!!! what rod and reel set up do you use for SP's on the beach? I have been trying to find a nice 3-6kg 9 foot rod for the same purpose.

G'Day Ben,

Im using a 7ft 2-4 Kg live Fibre nicknamed "black death" put a 2500 Stradic on it and from the beach its landed everything from 3kg choppers through, bigger lizzards and bream. I regularly fish it outside and have knocked over some respectable kings and tuna on that outfit.
    I really dont think you need to go any longer than 7ft, Ive looked at a few 8ft'ers but keep coming back to ole faithful. In reality the fish are normally within 20-25m of shore and more often than not within 15m. Dont need a long rod for that sort of work.
    If the gutter looks good a little further out I'll wade out on the sand spit and cast back in towards the beach working the deeper water.

Cheers Mark

Ausfish Gold Member

Great post Mark!

Learned a lot from that and your pm. Have a 6'8'' Raider with a 2500 Eclipse and 8lb Platypus braid. Will give it a go! I fished the same gutter the day before at first light, low tide with prawns and salted pillies and only scored 1 bream and a few bits. Well done!

What length leader do you use?

Thanks for the last pm.

Regards, rob.
    Last edited by pommy; 15-05-2008 at 09:29 PM.

Rob in the surf I get away with a metre or so of leader, the fish seem much less gun shy in the surf. I have been down to 15cm of leader at times...just lazy.
    I check the leader after most fish and if its damaged I'll retie te jig head. After a dozen or so flatties it dosent take long for a metre or so of trace to be reduced to near nothing.

My backup outfit is a Raider with a 1500 Semetrye so yours will do fine

I fished the Northern side of Flat Rock yesterday arv for another 6 lizzards and 1 bream, smaller fish but still fun....kini traffic better tho

Ausfish Gold Member

G'day mate!

Hope all's well.

I've been out of touch for a while....laid low with tonsilitis.

Would be keen for a weekend fish any time over the next few weeks.

Regards, Rob.
    Ballina

No worries Rob...I'm tied up for the next couple of weekends but when I get clear I'll drop you a line. The hole that Ive been fishin on the southside has all but dissapeared...might just be enough water there at high tide however theres a neat little gutter right up against the rocks on the south side of flat rock that I pulled half a dozen lizzards and 3 bream out of at low tide this arv. Again all on S.P.

Ausfish Gold Member

Wow!

Just a question about the jig heads. Are they ball or shaped 3/8th ounce? What size the hooks? 1/0? Are the bream taking plastics on large 1/0 and 2/0 hooks?

Looking forward to meeting up.

Regards, Rob.