what engine do you prefer to have on your boat? - Page 5

View Poll Results: what engine do you prefer on your boat???

Voters
308. You may not vote on this poll
  • 2 stroke

98 31.82%
  • 4 stroke

181 58.77%
  • I don't Care

29 9.42%
Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

Thread: what engine do you prefer to have on your boat?

Re: what engine do you prefer to have on your boat?

Had an old 74 johnno, reliable, (prob still going) now a 91 yamaha built mariner 40 , runs perfect, for my next engine i think I'll go with a mazda 13 b rotary , sort of a 3 stroke

I'm sure some whacko stuck a Rolls Royce Merlin in a boat. Anyone know? Have pics? They have to be the sexiest engine ever. A four stroke, by the way
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Johnson 140 OMC V4. ......Supposedly bulletproof..............still alive
    Don.
    "Magpie Navy." VHF 73.

It was a Woman who drove me to Drink......
    ....and I never gave her money for the Petrol......

One that can go like stink if I want it too ...
    Gets a million kilometres to the litre ... that hopefully someone else is paying for ....
    Is as quite as a church mouse .....
    Can troll all day ...
    Be reliable as all hell ..
    Cheap to service ...
    Costs next to nothing for the initial purchase ...
    That lasts forever and does all of the above with extreme safety !

Hmmm ... that "almost" sounds like a 260 HP Yanmar Turbo Diesel!

Yep ... there had to be one D*ck Head didn't there ... might as well be me this time !!! ... well I did say "almost"

Last edited by Fatenhappy; 24-05-2008 at 01:52 PM.

Smile Re: what engine do you prefer to have on your boat?

15hp. Jono. on a 12 ft. tinny,

Not because its 2 or 4 stroke but because of years of history in the estuary fishing scene. Moderatly light, moderatly cheap to run and moderatly cheap to service. How many of the old low profile Jono's and Evenrudes do you still see on the Burram, the northern rivers, and others. Cant kill them with a stick.

But i'm not right as such. But it is right for my requirements. Same with you guys, you selected a motor to suit your requirements not sombody elses.

Horses for courses.
    Chappy

Quote Originally Posted by Donny Boy View Post
    Johnson 140 OMC V4. ......Supposedly bulletproof..............still alive
    A good mate of mine just blew his up and both he and I are having our boats repowered with Suzi 225's today. I am taking off a 225 Yammy 2 stroke 2000 model with 472 hrs has been a great motor but thirsty. I have also had a 2003 Merc 115 was ok but didn't have the easy of start the EFI yammy , merc carbies continually needed adjustment.

Can't wait to see how the Suzi 4 stroke performs compared to the 2 stroke. Might lose a bit of hole shot but should lose a lot of the fuel bill.

Might be a topic for another thread but I would be interested to hear peoples thoughts on the different brands of four stroke and the experience they have had with them, good and bad.

I have a Optimax 90 hp and have been happy with it so far... but I can't compare it to anything else as it is my first boat.

an etec , cause i can

Suck, sqeeze, bang, blow. Four stroke is the way i go.

Mick.

Just an ordinary 4 stroke yamaha

never had a 4s only 2s and my latest is a 115 yammie salwater and its a corker. idles great heaps of grunt. Fuel not sure really because all of my runs are generally short.. I would stick to yammie if I had to get another one. But my last one was an Evinrude and it nevr played up at all either..

For me it's a

EVINRUDE E-TEC 250hp

4 stroke yamaha for me. Glad wayne and the boys at stones steered me that way a few years ago

I for one, prefer a 2 smoke for its power to get though a hairy bar crossing ! \

for the crazy bars you need a 2 stroke to get you safely through it all quick,

I'd like a 4 st, for bay, estury, long off shore,,..... I've got 4st quad bike, diesel ute, 2st w/snippers 4st lawn mower, I dont mind the wot noise of 2st at all,

but dont want to be bogged goin out in any way, " my Preferance"

Exclamation Re: what engine do you prefer to have on your boat?

I've got a 15hp Evinrude on my tinny. I'd rather be known for having a little Evinrude than having a little Johnson!!!