4WD Suspension Kits - Hilux - UPDATE!

Thread: 4WD Suspension Kits - Hilux - UPDATE!

4WD Suspension Kits - Hilux - UPDATE!

I am looking to upgrade the suspension in my 2000 model Hilux Xtra cab.
    Not looking for anything xtreme, I think I have a couple of stuffed shockies and the leaf springs at the rear are dead flat until you put something in the tray and then they go inverted , so I was thinking a kit might be the go.
    I found this EFS kit at
    http://www.4wddirect.com.au/scart/html/493.html

Has anyone here looked into this recently, know of a better kit or a place to get the same one cheaper.
    Any suggestions or comments welcome.

Re: 4WD Suspension Kits - Hilux

Quote Originally Posted by SeaHunt View Post
    I am looking to upgrade the suspension in my 2000 model Hilux Xtra cab.
    Not looking for anything xtreme, I think I have a couple of stuffed shockies and the leaf springs at the rear are dead flat until you put something in the tray and then they go inverted , so I was thinking a kit might be the go.
    I found this EFS kit at
    http://www.4wddirect.com.au/scart/html/493.html

Has anyone here looked into this recently, know of a better kit or a place to get the same one cheaper.
    Any suggestions or comments welcome.
    have a look at this site, there is some pretty full on 4x4 users here.
    http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/forum/
    or here
    http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/
    you might find what you are after with a search, or better still join & ask them they seem pretty helpful.
    Last edited by DR; 13-05-2008 at 05:14 PM.

I have EFS springs and shocks on my 04 Rodeo, they have been a really good all round set up (towing,4x4ing etc...). I got mine from EFS at Brendale.

Dude,
    Do you mean Direct Suspension at Brendale?
    I don't think EFS sell direct to the public do they?

Thats the one, at the time that was all they were selling. I think i paid around $1000 for the 4 shocks and 2 rear springs (leaves). That was a fitted price as well.

SeaHunt, I have an end of 2001 twin cab that had the same problem. I did all the research on a number of different systems and couldn't fault the old man emu from ARB. They asked all the right questions including what you carry around during the day etc including any other mods you have done. I have a 80amp deep cycle under one side and a 60 litre water tank whick makes a difference. Other places didn't seem to worry, including EFS dealer.

All up it cost about $2000 but that was for full replacement of everything, including rubbers, shocks, greasable shacles, torsion bars (IFS), rear leaf springs etc. That was the fitted price.

What really sold me was the two stage rear leaf springs. Frequently I tow a glass boat and the tray/canopy on the back is full of camping gear at the same time=heavy down load on the rear.

The idea behind the two stage springs is that when the ute is basically unloaded you have a soft ride around town however when you load it up the springs compress till the second stage comes in and holds the bum up in the air.

A lot of cash but in my opinion it's been money well spent, I plan to keep the car for another few years.

Remember value for money not just cost, and no I'm not on commission.

Best of luck mate

I have an 02 single cab Hilux, some times she is empty other times I cazrry a bloody heavy load. I ended up putting in air bag's just increase or decrease the pressure with your compressor or at a servo to suite your load. Paid $850 installed. Just get the ones that will take 100psi.

Thanks Craig and bungie.
    I am still doing my homework so it's all helpful info.
    I had a pretty good look at suspension components at the 4wd tackle and tinnie show a few weeks ago, the air bags looked impressive but my leaf springs are shot and would need replacing also I believe.
    I emailed Carrols and Direct suspension, Carrols replied, the other mob havn't which seems pretty common if they are going to have a website with contact info they should at least support it.
    I am not overly cashed up at the moment so I will probably do it myself and not worry about replacing torsion bars.
    New shocks, springs, greaseable shackles and bushes should do it, hopefully for under a grand.

Well there you go, you learn something new every day.
    Carrolls and EFS are one and the same.

Today is the day I finally parted with my money.
    Looking at the date I first posted this it has been two months, well nothing happens very fast when I'm involved.
    I went with EFS in the end, as I said earlier Carrolls make the EFS stuff so I figured that if I went out there I should be able to sweet talk them into the best price, and sure enough thats what happened.
    The place at Brendale just quoted me RRP so that didn't impress, but I didn't push them.
    ARB have Old Man Emu and it is probably better gear but not for me at almost $500 extra for basically the same setup.

I got 2 new heavy duty leaf springs, 4 new shocks 2 shock boot cover things. Neoprene bushes, greasy shackles and 4 U Bolts, for better than the 4WDdirect web price.
    The guy there said the Toyota torsion bars are good gear and unless I have stuffed them leave them alone. I didn't want to change them anyway.

I feel like a kid in a candy shop, just got to bolt it all on this weekend and run over a few bumps.

Re: 4WD Suspension Kits - Hilux - UPDATE!

have you got a pic of the shock boot covers?

Quote Originally Posted by shano View Post
    have you got a pic of the shock boot covers?
    Er..... no mate , might take some while I am fitting them.
    They are just a soft rubber corregated dust cover for the shockie, one end gets held on by a cable tie to the body of the shock and the other end just pushes up against the end where they bolt on. RRP is about $13 but I didn't pay anything like that for them.

wondering if i should talk my dad into a lift kit on his 02 dual cab hilux and when youve got it done would you be able to post some pics

Quote Originally Posted by SeaHunt View Post
    Er..... no mate , might take some while I am fitting them.
    They are just a soft rubber corregated dust cover for the shockie, one end gets held on by a cable tie to the body of the shock and the other end just pushes up against the end where they bolt on. RRP is about $13 but I didn't pay anything like that for them.
    is that $13 each?

i've just ordered some for mine! was a bit worried about pitting the shafts!