Big Brissie River Threadie
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Big Brissie River Threadie

Talking Big Brissie River Threadie

Hi all in fishing land,

Recieved a call from my mate Sam early this morning to say he has found a new fishing spot I should try

After Buying tiles for the verandah, shopping for groceries, painting the bathroom and getting puked on by the baby I managed to clock up enough brownie points to go for a fish for a few hours. Well as it turns out, 5minutes after arriving at spot xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (it was caught between the Ampol wharf at the river mouth and colleges crossing), cast number 4 produced my PB Threadie which nailed a 4inch atomic prong! The photos aren't very good as we wanted to release it as quickly as possible. Suffice to say the fish measured 125cm and weighed approximately 14kg

Richo

PS Thanks Sam

Re: Big Brissie River Threadie

Very nice

Great effort. Your beanie says it all. SNORTA or should that say STONKA!!!!! Photos look the goods as well. Gee those browny points are hard to come by these days, good on you for using them to your best advantage!!!!!!!

gr8 fish mate would love to catch one of those well done

Here are a few photos and my daughter Kate after I showed her the photos

Great fish mate, good on ya.

Ripper! fish mate, congrats. Somthing i dream of.

Thats a great fish Richo
    Did he play up much?

That's an absolute ripper of a fish, and congrats for releasing it. Hopefully, there will be plenty more Threadies in the Brissie River for years to come.

James

Great Catch Richo, all the sweeter when you've had to work so hard to get the brownie points up.

I've got a Katie too, 2yrs old now.

The brownie points are still tough to earn.

Good on you for releasing it. I was told by a tackle shop owner that a Asian guy came by with over limit on squire and lying in the bottom of boat was a large number of goldens from the river mouth. With that attitude future generations will only have photos to look at. .

It fought really well on 30lb braid and fight lasted about 20minutes. Probably could have given it more stick however was too scared of losing it. Such a nice fish couldn't bring myself to keep it! As soon as it came aboard we knew we just had to get it back in the water. I don't mind a good feed of fish either, but this one was just too big! Still blows me away that fish this good are soo close to home! Hope it stays like that and gets even better!

Great fish mate. In what sort of depth are you hooking the fish? The 130cm I got the other day went crazy. Fight lasted a good 15mins on 20lb braid. Like you I was scared on pulling the hooks so I backed the drag down from about 4kg to 2kg after the first screaming run when I saw the massive chrome gold flash and huge boil as it turned. I want another! I wonder how they will perform over winter?

Troy

Great fish Richo. Well done
    Cheers Freeeedom

Ausfish Gold Member

thanks for the report mate, fish looks to be in superb condition too.. great to see!