Top stuff richard. Ya coming to fish the barra bounty in rocky later this year? You'll be an expert by then. Nailed any salmon amongst those barras yet?
Howdy all,
Well, its well and truly dry season with cooler temps and 20knot SE winds daily.
The barra have been on a decline recently with some tough work put in by myself locating fish.
It's at this time that I try to get out of the wind in protected spots and fish the dropping tide as it retreats from the flats and mangrove edges.
We had a good set of Springs recently with about 6m of movement and I decided to get right up into the sticks at the mouth of one of my favourite creeks and see if I couldn't sight cast a few. Plenty of bait around as I cruised up onto 3ft of retreating water on the flats, being very careful not to get stuck. it'd be high and dry in about an hr tops.
Didn't take long to see a solid fish cruise along the edgses but he was down deep and my cast angle made it diffucult as all I could do was watch him cruise of lethargically.
Water clarity was superb, almost too clear but I found a colour change pushing into a little drain. 3rd cast and the classic was chased into clear water and inhaled. Short tussle and a 58cm chromey is in the net. Geez they go hard in the shallows near the sticks.
Next half hr was fruitless so decided to hit a sneaky creek I havn't pushed up before, only being about 5m wide.
Saw plenty of drains and little colour changes which saw me pick up a little rat and another 64cm salty that went hard in the skinny water. Some great snags to investigate next time as well.
The wind died a little and I decided to drift the main channel and work the gutters on the glass off. Water temp rose to 28.9 and with it so did the activity. The bad part was I ended up dropping the next five fish in a row along with a few missed strikes.
I noticed alot of fish hard up against the bank in less than 10cm of water either hunting or just sitiing stationary and socialising. Didn't take much to put a cast past there noses and roll my lure on the surface and see them strike aggressively at anything withing 10cm of there gob.
Half of my missed fish came from that scenario and the fish would swim off into the deeper sections of the discoloured drains before I could sight em again.
So, I guess I'll just be waiting for warmer days and hunt the fish in the shallows out of the wind looking for warmer water now. the billabongs and lagoons are starting to fish well and being just after the wet (locals call it the "green water" season) there should be a few salties still amongst em.
Pics attached folks. Cheers,
Richie
Top stuff richard. Ya coming to fish the barra bounty in rocky later this year? You'll be an expert by then. Nailed any salmon amongst those barras yet?
Just nailed the one salmon mate. Only went 60 something (small by brissie standards). They are about, not like they were in the build up but they were all over the jellies and hard to tempt.
They are picking a few up in the bigger rivers and on the western side of the harbour but weather has restricted me close to home. I'll be chasing the barra until they shut right down and then hit the fresh for em.
Depends what the dates are in Rocky. Wouldn't mind it.
rich
Onya Rich, where's all the Jacks mate???
Have you been getting any at all up there???
I suppose it'd be pretty hard to pull yourself away from the silver fish, hey?
Jeff