Thread: Hastings 08/05

Talking Hastings 08/05

When down to Hastings point this morning for a flick, with the low tide at 4.30am I wasn't to hopeful for a jew and I was right ... just to much sand on the northern side. Come daylight I switched over for Tailor and got nothing. I was keeping an eye on the Southern side and saw that the water over there was looking better so off I trot. Cast cast cast for nothing, the time now was about 715 and the sun was well and truly in the sky and I was ready to give it away.Bugger it one more cast and I was on. In the next 30minutes I landed 5 tailor dropped 3 more and had one bite me off at the top swivel. By 745 they were gone so cleaned the fish and came home

Aussiefool

Re: Hastings 08/05

Nice feed for you there Andrew - Well done

Using slugs?

Yep knight raiders 40gm

well done Andrew, nice feed of yummy Tailor

Great session Andrew. It looked like a lovely morning to be out for spin.

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Andrew, I could not make it this week, but will be coming down the week after the 14th May weekend, Hope the weather will be good and tailor still around, would be nice to get silverjew also. Peter

Nice tailor caught, nice to have them smoked too

nice work Andrew
    Dylan

Nice tailor mate. Was up there the other week for uni and spun up a few on the plastics gear. Only little choppers though. Immediately thought of your past reports on the area and was good to check it out. Got a 4kg GT at the bridge at pottsvile which was quite a fight!

Gotta love the fresh tailor for breaksfast...
    Great work Andrew!

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    Andrew, I could not make it this week, but will be coming down the week after the 14th May weekend, Hope the weather will be good and tailor still around, would be nice to get silverjew also. Peter

Nice tailor caught, nice to have them smoked too
    Give me a call when you get down here and I'll see about putting you onto a jew. The tides should be good

Quote Originally Posted by aussiefool View Post
    Give me a call when you get down here and I'll see about putting you onto a jew. The tides should be good

No worries Andrew, I'll be looking forward to it, send me a pm as best time for me to call you on. I don't have a mobile phone on me so I hope the old dodgey phone booths are not vandalised.

Nice work Andy, can't beat fresh tailor hey? (better freeze a few chopper heads for that big knobby mission this winter)

Bit more swell about today?

Mick.
    Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

aussiefool, how do u fish your raiders? Let them sink or retrieve once it's hit the water? Also how fast do u retrieve them?

My dad and I have thought about fishing there a few times, but it really looks like snag city, but obviously it can't be too bad if ur fishing there right?

Quote Originally Posted by Sharkie View Post
    aussiefool, how do u fish your raiders? Let them sink or retrieve once it's hit the water? Also how fast do u retrieve them?

My dad and I have thought about fishing there a few times, but it really looks like snag city, but obviously it can't be too bad if ur fishing there right?
    G'day Sharkie,

Your right about snag city but you have to fish the bommies to get the fish.I fish there in the dark with diving lures and have found the hard way where the bommies are. All I can say to anyone that want to fish there is to have a good look in daylight to get idea where the rocks are, sure you will still lose gear,but that's fishin'.
    As for the retrieve I wind as soon as it hits the water and as for speed,well that depends on the fish and what mood they are in. Sometimes flat out skipping across the water sometimes slow just under the surface.Yesterday it was just under the surface.

Aussiefool

Cool, thanks mate