4 and 5 " Zoom Superflukes in Baby Bass, Watermelon Red
4 and 5" Berkley Gulps in Camo, Nuc Chook
1/8th Jig heads
Research the topic
g'day going to peel on friday to fish for snapper and need some advice on what plastics to use, colour, size and type. cheers stessco
4 and 5 " Zoom Superflukes in Baby Bass, Watermelon Red
4 and 5" Berkley Gulps in Camo, Nuc Chook
1/8th Jig heads
Research the topic
I think most use Berkley, 4" is probably a good size for inside the bay.
As far as colour goes, pumpkinseed was all the go a couple of years ago, but now nuclear chicken and lime tiger seem to be more popular.
The two most successful colours that I use are the Berkley Gulp 4" Nuclear Chicken and the 4 " Lime Tiger jerk shads. If the snapper are biting well they will take Pumkin Seed grubs, and most plastics you throw at them but I find the best success is on the first two I mentioned using 1/8 or even 1/16 jigheads depending on depth and current.
He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.
Ive had most luck on 5" Nuc chooks and blue pepper neon. But im no expert.
Type snapper on plastics into the seach area on this site, and there's a goldmine of info.
thanks guys heaps thats heaps of help cheers stessco
I forgot to mention that the hook size is very relevent according to depth of water. Obviously in 8-10 metres of water you do not need to be using 1 oz jigheads which are more suitable for 30-40 metres. Most 1/8 to 1/16 jigheads don't usually come with hook sizes much bigger than 2.0-3.0 hooks so it would be pointless to throw a 5 inch plastic on a hook of this size for the simple fact the fish will still bite it but if the hook is not far enough down the bait then 9 times out of 10 the fish will bite off the tails and miss the hook. I use a home made Dater jighead with Gamaghatsu Finese hooks which are the strongest hooks and will not straighten like the mustad hooks tend to do with a good snapper on the end. For the 3.0 hook the 4" jerk shads are about the perfect size. If I fish deeper in up to 60 metres in offshore situations I use 1-2 ounce jighead with 5"-7" jerk shads.
He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.
Have a look at Nugget's fishing round up from last Friday (2/5). Duncan from Fishhead (Viccy Point) does a good section on the vid on catching bay snaps and what plastics to use. Buy some from him and I am sure he will give you some more tips, he is a very helpful guy.
http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/
Last edited by Outsider1; 08-05-2008 at 09:59 AM.
Good luck with the snapper on plastics i can not catch one to save my life. I have enough plastics to start my own tackle shop. i just hope maybe one day the fishing gods will let me land one.
Zoom 4" super flues in baby bass.
Snapbacks and assasin shads.
richie