Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The perils of fishing alone at Monduran!!

The perils of fishing alone at Monduran!!

The things you do when you pre-fish for the M&G BY YOURSELF.!!! I had planned to go out and give Mondy a good hiding with Rob Woods from the Gin Gin hotel this arvo but he pulled out at the last minute. So the wife says 'take your family out in the boat lunch on the water....so I did!! after about an hour or so the kid had had enough. So I qiuckly dropped them back at the ramp and off i went for a relaxing fish on a beautiful day.

I pulled up in a relatively new spot for me and noticed it had all the right ingredients for a flick. I started with a gold 'stiiffy' boney bream, however I hadnt changed the front trebble, I just didnt feel confident. On goes the silver faithful boney bream...2 casts later...whack!!! The fish was going off in open country (silly fishy) after what seemed to be one of the longest and hardest fight I have experienced for some time, a solid 105cm was landed. I was stoked!!!! a couple of pics on my new truthmat and away she went.

After a bit of a leader and trebble check, away I went continuing to fish the same area. About 20 cast later the boney was INHALED and this fish went sideways half submerged. It honestly looked like a navy submarine surfacing at pace. It was heading straight to a big cluster of 'no return' trees, So I did what I normally preach not to.....I leant back on this monster and locked up the drag hard. The Egrell Bear 8-6 was absolutely in its element!!!! The drag was really burning and I thought something is going to give here soon!!!!....but the rod was just loving it....it had more to give IMHO. To cut it short, the fish was turned away from danger, then the cable on th foot pedal of the Minnkota snapped as I endeavoured to change directions...great now I have nothing. The fish went under and around the boat in open water for what seemed like an eternity. eventually I had drifted to the bank, where I got out and lip gripped the fish in shallow water, then put it in the boat.....took a couple of pics on the truth mat....now what...I have to get a pic with ME.

Now B arm us usually a busy busy place........was anyone within Kooeee...Nup. So I drove around for about 5 min with the fish in the livewell (yes the 160lt livewell Just fits a 125cm barra) until i found a boat. I slowly motored up.....it was a fellow Ausfisher Gordon Bryant...He had dropped in to see me at the ambulance the day before!! "I asked if he could take a couple of pics of a 125cm" his reply "your kidding me aren't you" (he hasn't been having much luck). So after a few pics, and a bit of swimming .....away she swam!!!

Basically, I fished for 1 hour, got 2 fish, met another great Ausfisher, broke my electric motor and came home.

I really must thank Gordon and his wife (sorry I didnt get your name) for taking the photos..We all know how difficult it is with someone elses camera...Thanks again Gordon..I will never forget it...I hope you got fish in that spot I showed you!!!

Cheers Steve

PS Ben, I haven't had a chance to read you post yet!! I am rushing to post this then do a night shift in bundaberg!!! congrats to you and Josh on the 123cm.....I am certainly not trying to steal your thunder
    Last edited by Steve B; 30-04-2008 at 07:31 PM.

Re: The perils of fishing alone at Monduran!!

Steve ..... I told you you've got your MOJO back

Thats a great capture on your own ..... Well done in deed

Top report!!!

PS ..... How did you manage to snap the cable ?

Holy Schmokes Steve. Holy bloody schmokes What can I say but holy schmokes. I think Ben's thunder has already been stolen What an animal. I hope the Truth Mat has a bigger brother in the pipelines And weren't you only talking a week ago about Navi's little record not lasting the distance

I want to see a pic of your livewell

Serious congratulations for a seriously serious fish (okay enough adjectives)

wwwoooaaahhhh thats one horse of a fish.even bigger on yo own..that stiffy in her gob looks about 50mm long....great effort..is that a lip gripper in your pocket or another bony bream...??????

No No No Steve u should be thanking the kids for getting board shi===less, then on the other hand u would have missed that Mother of a Barra, You Lucky Lucky B===tard what a Balltearer, who would have thought no boats in B just when u need them the most, Unbelievable, Cheers Whitto

Mate please dont apolagise, that is one awesome fish, and a f*&^%$g sensational effort landing it on your lone some.
    Congratulations mate i am seriously stoked for you!!
    Funny about B Bay, murphys law eh! Ship loads of boats flew by us on the weekend, and just when you wanted one for a piccy, no one to be seen.
    Are you " right up the back " still like our pm, or are you closer to the ramp???
    Awesome stuff, seems like the big girls are just getting bigger.

I know exactly where that was! Im betting it will stay quiet too.........at least I hope it will
    The Stiffy Boney Bream is proving itself to be a big fish taker, one that is great fun to use too.
    Well done Steve, Im bloody wrapt for you.
    Jas

bloody hell mate, that is a cracker, the bar is getting higher and higher.
    Even better from a solo effort, doing the 2 step round the boat, no kota, no one to net, huge effert and well desreved, plus a well written report to boot.
    Dry spell, what dry spell, reckon youve well and truly laid that one to rest
    brian

just had a look at Bens report, then re-read yours, mate, my casting arm is twitchin, bring on the week end
    brian

Great read Steve and well done landing a fish anyone would be proud of.
    Nice to hear a fellow ausfisho could help you out on the water!!!!

Will be up your way so we will call in and say hi if you are around this wknd.

Cheers Lyndon & kel

A fantastic fish mate ,well done

Richo

Thanks for all the replies!!!

I am still buzzing, Its a PB for me at any dam,and up by 11cm on Monduran PB.

Its amazing, that the only other boat in all of B arm was a fellow Ausfisher, and a top bloke too!! I owe Gordon a beer!! I had to travel a fair way back down to the main section of B to meet him.......thats the only clue as to my whereabouts. And that it was land before the rain!! So Ben....yes!

Paul, Poor Navi, that was a great fish, still is!! I cant believe the sizes in the last month or more so the last week.. I have heard of plenty around 120cm. The livewell is big and long. Had a towel under her in the livewell to lift her out!!

Lyndon,kel, Brian ect I will be at M and G, probably fishing Sat arvo. in Foxies boat, mine is out of action with the electric!!

I dont reckon you need to fish late. all the action seems to be during the warmer part of the day.

Whitto, you got my number, give me a buzz when you want to go Fri. I have Woodsy from the pub organised....this time he wont pull out..its his boat!!

cheers steve

Congratulations on the BIG MUMMA Steve, thats one hell of an effort by yourself it's a bloody ripper mate.

Next trip it might be a 130? hope so.

Was it a #1 or a #1/0 that you are putting on the front of the Boney?

Well done again, might see you soon on the water.

John.

nice big boofer, well done. go the stiffy
    figjam :wink:

Cracker of a fish Steve, and a great report. You can just chill out at the M&G with a beer, and give everyone the, "You shoulda been here last week"....type spiel.