123cm Monduran Pony
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 123cm Monduran Pony

123cm Monduran Pony

This trip had been planned since early February , we had organised that my old fishing buddy Josh and I were going to hit Monduran on the ANZAC day weekend. After 100 posts or so on Ausfish and the building of excitement, and about $1000.oo later on upgraded Certate 3500, lures and line, Josh arrived Thursday arvo from Melbourne town and we hit the road at 1.00pm. Sheite we were keen.
    We had checked in and were on the dam in no time and I just had to stand back for a moment and take in the massive change that had taken place from all that water that had been injected into it.
    New ball game I thought, BRING IT ON!!!!!!
    We rounded the inside of the island [ first time I have done that for 2 years ] and made our way up to Bass Straight. I knew there were some islands I had marked from previous trips, and they were also surrounded by some underwater structure so we hit these first. A Stiffy in the green [ Thanks Steve and Jas ]was my weapon of choice and Josh used a black bills bug as the light was fading. Now I wasn’t 100% committed to the fishing , still getting the rust out from the underarms when the 4th cast was absolutely nailed and a silver streak was airborne, all on the new Certate, E Grell S 10 h and 30 lb braid. Yee Haa. Soon enough a lovely 97cm jobby slid into the net and the doughnut monkey was off my back. I was a happy little vegemite. No more action but the bait was aplenty, temps were 24-24.5 and some boofing was heard.
    We fished here for a couple more hours and caught up with the news, drank a few coldies, had some laughs and hit the sack early [11.00 pm]
    Bright and early [5.00am] we were mooching around the back of B Bay and we caught up with my old mate Eric Grell aka The BeaR. He had been fishing the previous week and had caught a couple so I got to pick his brain again which was again invaluable. He seriously knows his stuff!!!!
    We were looking at the points to fish and we discovered a very boring little outcrop to the eye, but the underwater formation was exactly what we were after. It had warm water on the shallow point, 1.5 meters gradually going out to a channel either side, to about 3 meters which led into the main channel. It also held heaps of bait. This was the spot we concentrated on for every morning session. 10th cast in Josh was on to a really solid fish but as line was peeling away the Gold B52 nearly pinged him in the head, and it was gorn!! 5 minutes later he is on to another beast but drops it on the first jump Both of those fish were meterys. This session was pretty hot, with another 2 hits and heaps of swirls behind lures to keep us interested. The sun came up and we headed up to J bat for a flick but no action there. Spoke to Brian [ BR 65 ] briefly at the ramp and said gday. Back by 12.00.
    Back on the water by 3.00 and back to the first session spot, and we didn’t even raise a scale so after dark it was back over to Bass straight and this time I accidentally went to a different spot to the previous night, but as luck would have it I got slammed 10th cast in and a 103cm was boated. There was bait everywhere again and some serious boofing but no more fish. In bed by 12.30am. Water temps 24.5 +
    We had organised to meet Jamie [ Over Nova ] and Stuart from Ausfish and they punctually met us at 5.00 am sharp and they followed us to B Bay through the sticks by spot light for a bit of fun. Same point was fished and the boys fished along side us on a similar point. I dropped a big fish at the boat which really annoyed me, and Josh also had a couple more hits and swirls but no action.
    We mooched around the back of B for nothing and then took a squiz at the recently drowned cattle yards. Talk about tiger country. Good luck landing any thing in there!!!!
    In bed for a snooze at 1.45pm and back on the water by 3.00 to meet the boys again for a night session with placcys etc. over the weed beds of Bass straight. Total was 1 fish landed on a gold Stiffy which I had double split ringed the back treble to give it more room which worked for Josh as his fish went 92cm and a new pb. He was stoked. Tonnes of boofing to keep Jamie and Stuart excited, and they got to try all the funky lures they had bought up. Jamie had one solid hit which is a good thing to go on.! Bed by about 1.30am
    We were back in to B bay our point by 5.00am and I landed a feisty little fella of 97 cm which liked to do braid knitting around any thing possible. Soon after young Josh is hooked up to a really solid fish, no jumps [ which is the first indicator of a big mumma ], so I am getting the sweaty palms trying to untie the rope and get the bow mount under way. By the time I was organised the beast had taken Josh under some unseen structure, but a little fancy work with the Minn Kota and he is back tight and still losing plenty of braid. The speed dial on the pedal is now on 10 and the fish is going left towards a big tree, Josh is calling RIGHT but I was wanting left to chase it, after a couple of stern words we are on the same page and I am going right and the fishes head is turned and we are now gaining line again. Several minutes of tooing and frowing and it still hasn’t jumped. Then it surfaced for the first time. Both our jaws dropped as she went around the boat a couple of times and slid perfectly into the net some what 75 meters from the origional spot. What a beast. I called if for 110 approx until I pulled the brag mat out and she went 123cm. Bloody awesome effort on 30 lb braid, 80 lb wind on. Zillion and an Egrell B8-5. This rod has performed for me time and time again and still amazes me on how it can get the wood over large fish. I f you are thinking about a barra stick that’s your weapon.
    Back to the fish, obviously fish survival is paramount, a couple of quick piccies and she is on her way to fight again. She swam off really solidly which was great. We were soooo stoked that a beer was cracked at 5.45 am and Josh had landed his dream fish. The smile says it all. Well done son.
    Another fish was landed in that session, didn’t really rate a mention after 123 but from memory it went 80.
    In Beddy bies by 10.00am then out for the last session at 5 where I landed a 92, foul hooked. And Josh landed another. Plenty of wind tonight, hard to find bait and Josh has one jumped off at the boat.
    Last session was interesting. We saw at least 4 barra swirl under the lures 1-2 meters away from the boat, which I had never witnessed, I hooked a small barra which gill raked 80 lb leader at the boat and also dropped a metery which stole my B 52 and then proceeded to show it to me by jumping all over the place trying to get rid of its new earring!!!!!!!!
    Home beckoned and we left the water by 9.50 am, home by 2.30pm
    Thanks go to Josh who has lifted the bar once again for our group, 123 is a massive Barra, and I was stoked to be apart of it. Gives us something to chase eh Paul, Nav Vin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thanks to Jamie and Stuart for giving us some laughs, you guys are as keen as beans, I reckon you guys are close to the mark, keep on persisting, I will give you a buzz next trip and see if we can organise something.
    Cheers also for the beers!!!!!
    Sorry about the length of this report!!!!

[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 25913

Attachment 25914

Attachment 25915

Attachment 25916

Attachment 25917

Attachment 25918
    Last edited by eotbmg; 29-04-2008 at 08:47 PM.

Re: 123cm Monduran Pony

Fantastic report Ben. Thanks for the detail and the great pics, congrats to your mate on that serious slab of a barra.

Ben ... Mate don't worry about the length of the report ....... Its a cracker!

Well done to both you & Josh You fished pretty hard & got the rewards

I reckon Josh would have had the "I just humped the cat" look on his face during the flight home

Top stuff

Nagg

Wow what a trip Ben well done mate and thanks for the great report and photo's.

123cm geesee thats a big Barra. It's great to see you guys had plenty of fun at Monduran, it's a nice place to fish & relax with a spot of camping.

All the best on future trips.
    Cheers Kel & Lyndon.

Great Read Ben,

Congratulations on a awesome weekend!

Matt C

Ben,

Being I was beside you for some of that trip I am supprised you managed to keep the report that short. Good fishing and great report. Thanks again to you and Josh you shared more information with me and Jamie(overnover) than we could have ever hoped for. Even though Jamie and I didnt land any you guys really made the trip enjoyable

And yes you are right Jamie and I are keen and its good to hear you say you think we are close to the mark. No one can say we didn't give it our all. Defintaly will keek persisting. Already planning next trip. Look forward to catching up next time. Thanks again for all your help.

And Josh you think you should take a photo of yourself next week and post it. I reckon the smile will still be as big as the photo with the fish.

Keep in touch
    Stuart

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

First class report Scrote....didn't know you could write that well

The pics are even better than the email you sent to me. Glad to see the wind-on workshop paid dividends Josh would be gettin' round like a dog with a tin d*ck. Congratulations guys...the bar has well and truly been raised.

Thanks every one for their words and replies.
    Lyndon and Kel
    I was going to give you guys a tingle if we went to Awoonga but as you could tell Mondy was the spot to be

Hi Ben...

Great post and what a sensational effort. Congrats to Josh, that's one hell of a fish. Conditions weren't exactly perfect, but good on you for working it out.

Eric&Deb...
    Fish Well-Fish Egrell

Ditto on what Stu said Ben & Josh, most memorable trip of my life thanx largely to you guys passing on your knowledge and introducing us to what Mondy has to offer. Josh that Barra is ridiculous, when you hear 123cm you think big but the photo makes you realise what a beast it really was, great effort, especially on 30lb in the sticks. No doubt see you again soon. Thanx again.

<- Looks like Josh!!!!!

Great report Ben and well done on the fish you got. You both nailed it! Your mate Josh sure looks happy with himself - that fish is a beauty and looks absolutly huge. Well done to you both.

Absolute cracker of a report Ben! Never worry about length or too much detail cause most of us just can't get enough.

Thanks for the info on your equipment as well. Just by chance I was talking to The BeaR yesterday about the S10H and that conversation, combined with your report, has convinced me that I must have an Egrell rod! You're right too - Eric is a great source of information.

Tell Josh he has set a huge benchmark for Monduran and many of us local Queenslanders will now strive harder to better it!

Once again great report.

Regs

Hi Ben, Josh,
    Your ability to write a good yarn hasn’t changed. I still get excited reading your post because I can actually visualize the action as it happens.
    A couple of lines do need a slight translation though:

I dropped a big fish at the boat which really annoyed me,” should read,
    I totally lost my cool and threatened to throw the bloody Egrell Combination overboard even if it is the best rod and reel in the world.”

“after a couple of stern words we are on the same page” should read,

“Josh! You stupid Bast%#@!!! Get it right!! Don’t tell me which way to go you Bloody Victorian Bum!!! I will tell you where to go so just concentrate and catch the fish.”

Ah yes, I remember well the slightly heated conversation we have had in the excitement of the moment. It always brings a smile to my face.
    Great work boys, You have given me a new target..
    Frank OO

Still not sure which is bigger, that fish or that smile .....well done boys !

Ben, great story , great fish and sounds like you had a ball. Looking forward to trying to better that one in October eh ?? Should be able to find them quicker in the ski boat fitted with rod holders that Rens getting !! I'm just jealous .........