Isn't it just simpler to just take them home and scale, gut and fillet them?!
You would forever avoid all hassles like that.
Isn't it just simpler to just take them home and scale, gut and fillet them?!
You would forever avoid all hassles like that.
We are lucky to have top fisheries people in our area so very few people get harrased with out cause... If you look at it from their perspective how many people hit them with a story,.. true or false they read it as they see it... once in a while they get it wrong but that is human nature... they have a job to do and someone has to do it
SL
IFISHCQ2
a general question on this..at what point is it ok to break the rules and feel you have been hard done by if fined? a couple of fish a few cm undersize? a female crab? having fillets in the boat? one lifejacket short in the boat? the list could be endless.
As any judge will tell you ignorance is no excuse in the eyes of the law.
Not having internet access nor age either.
If you go fishing you need to know the rules.
you can get a gloosy giude to fishing and boating for free and it has all the information in there.....it take about a hour to read from cover to cover.
It is a common view ( particularly among older blokes) that I've been doing this or that for ages, or this or that is stupid, or they wont zipp you for this or that, or its just this or just that.
We all have to come to terms that rules change, and the consiquences of breaking them get greater and greater, and dont expect any sympathy from those in authority.
We have to consider covering our backsides as the primary priority in almost everything we do.
No only do we need to know the rules and abide by them, we ned to be able to easily show that is the case.
I know some people will think this is a pain, but thats how life is.
There are plenty of " evil doers" out there who are quite prepared to try it on at every oportunity......Most of the various official will here..... this sort of stuff every day.........I recon they would get very low on tolerance to it.
The attitude from most regulators these days is.....try it on & we'll fry your ar$@.
Get used to it, it wont get any softer.
Regardless of your views of fairness or justice, its just simpler to know the rules and " do the right thing".
As for towing the esky.......I'm sure they would declare the esky an improvised marine craft, & therefore a boat, you would be declared in charge of it and your ar$@ would be fried.
the issues here relate to having the stuff aboard the boat and transfering to & from the boat.
so cleaning fish at the boat ramp on land is no different than cleaning fish anywhere elso on land.....
until
you try to put them back on a boat.
another regulation that needs to be read carefully is regarding crabs.
it is illegal to have crab meat or crabs without the shell in your posession unless it is for immediate consumption.
so if you catch a heap of crabs........don't clean em until you wanty to eat em.
lots of people like to clean the crabs on the boat or the ramp before stuffing them in the esky, because they take up less space & they dont have to get rid of the waste at home
sorry not allowed
One of the issues i have with fisheries is the fact there is no phone number to ring for imformation on rules during the weekend but there is a number to report people who don't know the rules, they seem more concerned with booking people than teaching or helping them.
Even if you can get a hold of them for imformation in the field or in the office they don't know half the rules and some don't even know the rule changes also and its their job to know yet they won't get reprimanded for not knowing they will just take your imformation and either charge you later or give you the imformation when they find it as much as a year later in my experience.
Just another way for the goverment to get their hands in your pockets and stick it to you.
just curious, " i buy some snapper fillets from wooly's,jump on my luxury cruiser with the family with plans of a day o the water in the mooloolaba bay and some bbq snap fillets for lunch but am board'd by fisheries while out on the water and they find the fillets before lunch is cooked" what happens next??????
[quote=oldboot;837745]As any judge will tell you ignorance is no excuse in the eyes of the law.
Not having internet access nor age either.
If you go fishing you need to know the rules.
you can get a gloosy giude to fishing and boating for free and it has all the information in there.....it take about a hour to read from cover to cover.
It is a common view ( particularly among older blokes) that I've been doing this or that for ages, or this or that is stupid, or they wont zipp you for this or that, or its just this or just that.
We all have to come to terms that rules change, and the consiquences of breaking them get greater and greater, and dont expect any sympathy from those in authority.
mate i agree with you i know he does abide by the law in all respects but this is not a court it is a boat ramp and it is all about honesty and respect. if fisheries would take every situation on its merits instead of automatically thinking the worst then they would find that they would be more respected and this would make their job a hell of a lot easier. since this story i have heard msny more stupid situations at kawana and mooloolaba ramps that just puzzle me that they dont even listen to fishos. one guys was charged with an undersized snapper which he cut out of a 30 kg ambo at the kawana cutting boards. he tried to explain it must have been eaten but the very well educated officer didnt even understand what he was on about this alone proves that they dont want to educate people just penalise them. it is a lot easer to fine then to inform.
people out here are not dumb fisho's if you keep standing on peoples throats tehy will kick back i know the officers have a job and most of the time they are spot on but they got to be understanding i am in my job so they can be to i think.
Now here we go......you still havnt grasped the implications of my previous post
honesty and respect have absolutely nothing to do with it.
because the deliberate law breakers have none of that and there are plenty of them.
and because the boat ramp isn't a court room the inspectors can only act on evidence, not the probable made up ( and premeditated ) excuses that they would hear every day of the week.
you also draw another example of ignorance.
we have a suposed undersized fillet.
3 points...
if there is any posibility of a amberjack being mistaken for snapper, it obviously didn't have the skin still in it.
if you are going to portion a fish into smaller parts, you are obliged to present it in a manner such that it can be clearly seen to belong together and are correct size.
or alternativly
if a fish is choped in the water by a shark for instance...... you cant keep it because it is incomplete and can not be measured... and...it is an incomplete fish & therefore not a sporting catch.
we are only alowed to take complete fish.
Oh add a fourth point
was this fillet over 40cm long.
In all areas, not just fishing, we need to know what we are suposed to do and be able to show that we are doing it.......i don;t necessarily like it.... but thats the way it is.
If you think government inspectors are a bit rough....... just hope you dont get on the wrong side of an insurance company or other private litigant and cant prove you've been doing the right thing.
Last edited by oldboot; 10-06-2008 at 10:13 AM.
yeah but this was a whole squire and it had rake marks down the side of it where it was eaten by the ambo if that is not a clear indication of honesty then they dont know their fish and this is the problem they use guys that have not had fishing experience[ not all] i am just stating that they must use common sense not the book. this is only a way to raise money pure and simple. i hate people that flaunt the law it is just wrong but most true fishos i hope do the right thing and i am not perfect but i hope the day i forget to cut a fin off or find a squire in a big ambo that the officer has the experience in fishing to understand we all make a mistake or are telling the truth just not trying to break the law on purpose.
mate i support the laws just think they are aim at the wrong people guys that spend 1000s on boats and gear but not the asians with buckets of small bream and under size fish on most public jetties just my observations cheers for your veiw.
Mate ask your question toa fisheries today and the reply was unbelievable he said that it didnt matter about a reciept you would still be charged if the fillets were under 40cm. and even if you did take them on the boat you are in the same situation as my old mate , you took fiilets on to the water after they have been filleted and taken ashore so you would get fined under that way, this is getting out of hand and going way to far from common sense he told me there is no way under the present laws that you can take fillets from shore to your boat on the water that is legal. UNF......NG BELIEVABLE.![]()
its simple.... we can not take fish that arent whole.
the reason for this is that in the past, people have tail clippe or head choped undersized fish (often creativly) and claimed that they were legal size.
likewise, some smart ar$@$ will go to wollies and buy some fillets & put em in the freezer at home and take the recipt with them when they want to take undersize and fillet.
There are lots of parts of the law that seem silly untill you think what a low life would try on.
It IS simple. Why? Read all the posts! The poor bastards have heard every damn story there is, and from lots of blokes and ladies who look honest, like us Ausfishers!
Fact is, if they do apply the law "within reason", armchair lawyers will come out of the woodwork.
"Why did you let him get away with that squire? Did you SEE it get cut from the Amberjack's guts? Is there any (ANY) possibility he scarred the fish with some sort of tool?" (I do believe this one, but that IS NOT THE POINT!!!!)
Or
"Hey, everyone carries a few fish receipts, because they let you get away with that - you just cut every fillet to size, easy, they won't nab you..."
See? It's crap. they are fed to the back teeth with all the garbage coming from people who either don't know the Law, or can't be bothered obeying it. The Law is there for good reason, to protect the Fishery. It is quite simple. Obey it! Otherwise, if everyone keeps coming up with every Goddamn excuse under the Sun why they should be let off the hook, Fisheries will be so busy reasoning with everyone, that nothing will get done, the Govt. will get pissed with the whole thing, and let the bloody Greenies have their way, by closing the whole thing down.
Just obey the flippin' Law!!! How damned hard can it be?????????
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.