Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Fisheries Gone Mad

Re: Fisheries Gone Mad

You will note and as I understand the regulations provided in the above post,

CRFF are a no fillet fish ( less than 40cms ) and the " other than CRFF " are able to be filleted, but skin left on and NOT returned to boat.

The rules are clear and have been around for some time.

for all the species listed, follow the link attached.:-

http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/dp...2_ENA_HTML.htm

Yeah have to agree bloody pricks they are, they have the power of descretion its one of their laws in the rules when they learn to become officers but they choose not to use it. I've had plenty of run ins with these idiots they don't care about the fishery none even fish, one time i had 400kg of fish on a commercial trip and every fish was pulled out in the sun for two hours and treated like footballs thrown all over the floor everywhere descaled,bruised and ice all melted the end result was i nearly could not sell my product and had to reduce the price and lost a lot of money.
    But to rub salt into the wounds my mate put one moses perch in the esky that was right at the bottom that was caught during the night unnoticed but should have been fin clipped as my mate caught it he was fined $150 and i was also for being in charge of the vessel that made it $300 in total for one 200gram fish that if sold would have brought $1.
    So i was down $300 on that fish plus $800 i lost on the other fish all for one moses which i have a leagle quota for anyway and can take 4 tonne a year leagly if the correct proceedures are followed.
    The reason for these new coral fin fish laws are to prevent the illegal sale of fish by amatures but even if you do the right thing and have a massive quota if you don't dot your i's and cross your t's you get flogged also its beurocracy gone mad and its got nothing to do with government, fisheries make and break the rules their the ones responsible.

supa29, I suggest you tell your mate to have his day in court.

A Magistrate can be compassionate towards these types of situations.

He must explain the fact that there is NO fish cleaning facilities at the southern ramp.

The Office done the right thing, the Angler will now be more aware and hopefully a good result will emerge.

The Officer, on the day must produce detailed evidence.

size and length of fillets, species of each fillet, number of fillets, exact time and date, exact location etc etc... he has to dot the ' i's ' and cross his 'T's ", unlike the old fella who will have to tell his story, truthfully.

Hope this helps

A couple of letters to local pollies (Council and State Government) about the "unfortunate" situation and lack of facilities, plus copies and perhaps a 'phone call to the local media won't hurt either. Watch them duck for cover!.

Last edited by Outsider1; 29-04-2008 at 08:15 AM.

Most elderly folk don't have 360 dollars spare .............especially for a fine. That money is probably spent on his day out for fun / petrol etc............... If you can organise it, I will throw in 20 bucks to help towards the fine, or even to let him know that there are some who want to look after elderly folk, god knows they live on a thread

Jeffo (Phil) , I couldnt agree more !!!

Trent

Guys the vast majority of us (99.9%) are law abiding citizens, but unfortunatley there are a minority of ar@# holes out there that wreak it for the rest of us, these rules are there to catch the minority (0.01%), the rest of us have to suffer in silence, such is life...........

Your mate should have rewarded the officer for pointing out his sins with a few fillets to take home(via the hub caps).

samson- you know every DPI officer in QLd personally do you>? I take much offence to your post. I know quite a few blokes from the fisheries. All great blokes, and keener fishermen you will not meet.

The rules are there to be read and followed. Do the wrong thing...no matter if its by accident or on purpose, you risk being caught out.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    supa29, I suggest you tell your mate to have his day in court.

A Magistrate can be compassionate towards these types of situations.

He must explain the fact that there is NO fish cleaning facilities at the southern ramp.

The Office done the right thing, the Angler will now be more aware and hopefully a good result will emerge.

The Officer, on the day must produce detailed evidence.

size and length of fillets, species of each fillet, number of fillets, exact time and date, exact location etc etc... he has to dot the ' i's ' and cross his 'T's ", unlike the old fella who will have to tell his story, truthfully.

Hope this helps

I understand the facts as i am a keen offshore fisherman, i regularly down load the latest limits and regs so to keep up with things. My beef is these officers are paid to enforce the law but what they dont realise that most if not all the old salties out there are pre internet, and have not ever seen a computer and have been fishing there little patch off water for years. Now with all of us internet experts always up to date when would a 70 yr old fisher get the latest info [that changes every time you look around], never see fisheries give out info at ramps to help these old boys and i know the fisheries officers have the option of a warning. if he had under size or over bag limit i would have not felt for him but to fine a guy for travelling 500 m to put his boat on is absolutely stupid.

Jeffo if you take offence thats not my problem, i fish from gladstone to coffs region and everywhere in between and know plenty of officers and there is plenty of grey areas in the law from office to office where one things legle it isn't elsewhere, yeah a few may fish sure i know a few that spearfish myself but it doesn't matter whether police, dpi or what you have idiots that let powers go to their heads. The way i've been treated in the past is discraceful and if happened all the time would be driven out of busness what they have done to me before is no different to walking in to your place of work and destroying everything that you have worked hard for if you think thats fair and offends you stiff.
    How would you like it if every time you went out and caught marlin after hours of trolling and a officer came up and killed or damaged your fish before you could release it that is no different than the way i get treated.

Quote Originally Posted by jeffo View Post
    samson- you know every DPI officer in QLd personally do you>? I take much offence to your post. I know quite a few blokes from the fisheries. All great blokes, and keener fishermen you will not meet.

The rules are there to be read and followed. Do the wrong thing...no matter if its by accident or on purpose, you risk being caught out.
    I have no problem with getting fined for doing the wrong thing but i dont see the fairness of fining for a thing like this when you can go to any jetty from tweed to cairns and there will be asians with a bucket of under size fish and never ever get fined. i would just like to see a little understanding on the side of the fisheries is stead of banging out the fine all the time. As to your comment about the fisheries officers, there is always good guys in every profession but as in life the few wankers wreck it for the good blokes.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    You will note and as I understand the regulations provided in the above post,

CRFF are a no fillet fish ( less than 40cms ) and the " other than CRFF " are able to be filleted, but skin left on and NOT returned to boat.

The rules are clear and have been around for some time.

for all the species listed, follow the link attached.:-

http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/dp...2_ENA_HTML.htm

Phill.

I take it form this and your previous post that the regs mean we can fillet non CRF fish and return them to the boat as long as we leave the skin on....

Katherine has left fisheries for Dep Transport, by the way...

regards.

Jono.

OK guys let me give my input.
    I have been fishing every year at Swains for the past 10 years on a charter for which they advise me the DPI are very reasonable, the skipper tells me if they see you put in an effort to abide by the law they will show discretion. Its all about intent, sometimes they get it right and sometimes they get it wrong, they are human.

My personal experience have been the last two trips out of Mooloobah, I have been pulled up twice and I have to say the second time the officer showed discretion due to a misunderstanding on one species of fish. I could have been fined however they understood my explanation and let me off with a warning.

Because I talked to them like human beings (fellow fishers) they understood my perspective. Lets face it there may be some bad apples in the bunch but dont tar them all with the same brush as I know for a fact at least some of them are very reasonable.

I think the DPI have hit the Mooloolabah ramp hard lately and I think a build of education prior to fining would of been a great idea (hand out fliers, talk to people etc) however you must remember the people doing the checks arent the ones who manage implementation at a shop floor level.

End of lecture

Supa29....How big were the fillets he was fined for? How many did he have? What type of fish were they? This information may have a bearing on the fine that was given.

Yolo