Aerial display in Noosa River

Thread: Aerial display in Noosa River

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Aerial display in Noosa River

Went for an afternoon fish today with GT's the target.
    Started off trolling a tiny Smith Lil' mate and it got smashed, wrapped around a pylon.............lure gone! They look the goods these tiny fellas, gotta get myself more of those babies!
    Started throwing the placcy, got a couple of hits but things were quiet, so a change of venue was in order.
    Got to another of my haunts, first cast, I was on! After a solid little fight a GT of 50cm hits the deck! Slice the throat, into the kill tank. I love eating GT's!

Pulled a few small bigeye and another smaller GT, then something else decided it wanted to eat my plastic! This fight was different, then the line arced up to the surface and this thing jumped everywhere!!!! Queenie, and not a bad one for the river, the thing wouldn't stop jumping, it was great!! I just hoped it didn't throw the hook. After a solid fight it hit the net, at 60cm, I was happy with that.

All fish caught on 4lb braid, 12lb leader, all fish released bar 1 GT for tucker.

Cheers Jeff.

Re: Aerial display in Noosa River

jeez, nice one! thats some good fishing in the Noosa River mate. Youve been doing well lately. Top effort!

some nice fish once again and thats a nice set-up on your boat. how do GT's taste my dad caught one the other night and he asked me howt hey tasted and i sid bad so he threw it back so how does it taste?.

regards,
    keechie
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

Nice one Jeff,

Always good getting a Queenie after all the trevs.

Ausfish Platinum Member geoff72's Avatar

mate thats a great queenie,specially on light gear,the trev would have given you nice run, got any pics of the lure you lost,sounds like the goods.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

nice work mate. I reckon trevally are quite underated as an eating fish, especially when fresh. That size is perfect as well. Cheers and keep it up.

good fish jeff. u wanna be carful that left nacker doesnt pop out in those down low photos. cheers nick

Quote Originally Posted by abbot_86 View Post
    good fish jeff. u wanna be carful that left nacker doesnt pop out in those down low photos. cheers nick
    .....Yes there could be a hairy bean bag on the boat shortly.

Ha Ha Ha....

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

you bugger, i wish i was there
    figjam :wink:

I'm only new to the area and have bagged heaps of bream in the river over the last few months. Aside from getting spooled by a fast moving submarine last friday, I haven't been able to catch anything else. I obviously need to start throwing a few lures around. Seeing fish like you're holding makes me very happy I've made the move north. Well done.

Nice work jeff. Good little queenie and right on time after we were just talkin bout them. The lil mates can be a bit tough to find. I normally just get em from brads shop at currumbin when I'm down there. Might be able to order them in though. Cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by abbot_86 View Post
    Then he'd have to change his name to 'Nuclear Pants'...suffers from fallout.

Hey there Jeff, top session & a good read, Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

niceeee fish jeff good to see the river is finally fishing well after all that rain.
    are u heading out thursday ,i think ill be on the water in the arvo.
    cheers chris

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Thanks guys,
    Keechie, GT's = Great Tucker! Best eating trevally of them all.
    geoff72, sorry mate no pic of lure, as Creek Vermin said they are very hard to find.
    abbott - well what can I say????? 'Ol one hang low lefty has a mind of his own, he likes to see daylight now and then
    Keith, I'm gonna track some down, I like 'em!
    Chris, Yeah probably see you thurs mate.

Thanks guys, Jeff.