Monduran to Awoonga

Thread: Monduran to Awoonga

Monduran to Awoonga

Hi all just a quick report for a good mate who just got back from monduran and awoonga , Not much to report about but i know i like reading all the reports not just the ones where they cought 100 barra hope it helps ,

days 1-3 spent at monduran , the boys fished hard every night till 10pm and every day light session for just a hand full of monduran trout , mark said they fished all the way to the back of the dam af far as they could get up it didn't help still nothing even after a few anoying calls to me asking for some secert spot x's hahah p.s i told them to go spend lots of money at foxeys in gin gin and ask him witch they did and still couldn't raise a scale , so they cracked the shits and pack there bags off to awoonga. On a possitive at monduran they reported a heap of bait and the water look as if its getting better and the far uper reaches of the dam appeared to have less signs of life,
    day 4-6 , they hit the water around 3 pm fished through till 9ish just having a good look around they called me that night and i was of no help i donbt know awoonga well ive only fished it a handfull of times maybe only 5 or so .They then fished every morning and arvo as they had done on monduran for the same results 0 .On a possitive note for awoonga the boys said it looked a million dollors and every where looked fishey !!

So end result was 6 days bugger all sleep and no fish they still had fun and i still wish i was there even though they got nothing !!
    These guys use to fish callied and after the barra kill there they have not done any good so there branching out , my advice to them was to stick to bream fishing hhaha
    Cheers Craig

Re: Monduran to Awoonga

Craig .... Sorry to hear about your mates ( 6 days without turning a reel would be disheartening)
    Out of curiosity .... do you regard your mate as a good general fishoe? ( I'm assuming ..they cast if they managed to get up the back of Monduran)

I'm no expert ..... & I still consider myself as a "P" Plater at best ...... but aside from the variables in conditions etc ...... I've found success comes from being flexible with your tactics & tackle ...... + subtle & drastic variations in presentation ... can mean the difference!
    Try to get a little more info on what they tried , structure fished , the lures used & how they fished them .... & post it .

This is the type of thread that can be really useful for a lot of us!

Nagg

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Craig,

bit of a shame lucking out at both dams. I'm supprised they didnt get fish where they found the bait. These things happen though. 6 days, even now, is along time without a scale, poor buggers. tell them not to give up! come back in spring. After 6 days with the same effort, they should have heaps to brag about!!!!

cheers steve

Hi Chris , Steve yeah i was a good friend to , when they got home i went over to show him my "brag book " all the barra i have cought in the last year or so !!! talk about salt in there wouns. haha , Chris i would regard them as fair fishos they have cought good barra at callied befor (ive seen the pics) and i think he has cought a couple at monduran befor but only done one 5 day trip. im not a fan of his fav lures the viper (as we chatted about late last year ) but has the "usual" assortment of classics f18 etc etc he trolled 1,000 laps of bird bay and the basin and needs danker rub for his shoulder they had that many cast !! i think there down fall was probley not will to think out side the square,
    I chatted to him today and said" he thinks he had maybe one barra bump but not sure" and i think if it was a barra you dont think you KNOW haha
    All in all its not a bad thing as he is a good bloke and practice C&R but his bogen red neck mates probley dont so just a nother southener to spread the word thats its not so easy up there,
    Cheers Craig

Quote Originally Posted by crab man View Post
    Hi Chris , Steve yeah i was a good friend to , when they got home i went over to show him my "brag book " all the barra i have cought in the last year or so !!! talk about salt in there wouns. haha , Chris i would regard them as fair fishos they have cought good barra at callied befor (ive seen the pics) and i think he has cought a couple at monduran befor but only done one 5 day trip. im not a fan of his fav lures the viper (as we chatted about late last year ) but has the "usual" assortment of classics f18 etc etc he trolled 1,000 laps of bird bay and the basin and needs danker rub for his shoulder they had that many cast !! i think there down fall was probley not will to think out side the square,
    I chatted to him today and said" he thinks he had maybe one barra bump but not sure" and i think if it was a barra you dont think you KNOW haha
    All in all its not a bad thing as he is a good bloke and practice C&R but his bogen red neck mates probley dont so just a nother southener to spread the word thats its not so easy up there,
    Cheers Craig
    Vipers ..... Eeeeeck ( as you know! ) .... See he may not have been getting in close enough to the shallow water ? .... .... I dont know Monduran that well & we struggled last month ...... buy we still managed fish ( but they were caught right on the waters edge..... using more obscure HB lures) ...... Awoonga ( soft plastics) ..... did the job!
    This time of year ...... I reckon the trollers will struggle!
    Gee .... you gotta love this barra fishing

Nagg

bloody vipers!!!! we actually got 3 good fish in 10 mins on them in november the gold sand viper casting 4ft of water in bay b over a fav weed bed i chucked gold bombers ,slickies and the usual fav shallow runners then i seen the viper in a spear box covered in dust and gave it a talking to told it to pull it weight or im chucking it over board etc etc and it killed it 94cm and two 95's, geoff (the guy i was fishing with ) took the trebs off it and hung it over his rer vision miror for the 6 hour drive home !! has not cought a barra on it since then hahahaha, got a good mondy bass on it in feb this year 54cm

sorry double post
    Last edited by eotbmg; 30-04-2008 at 06:23 AM. Reason: fat fingers

Just returned from Mondy, found alll fish were up in the shallows, as all fish were caught on B52 or Stiffys. Did they fish during sun up and sun down?? This is the prime time, as you guys know!

Quote Originally Posted by eotbmg View Post
    sorry double post

Barra will do that to you