• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • TimiBoy
    Ausfish Premium Member

• Oct 2007

Re: clasic fishing phrases

Took a guy out a few weeks back, his first time fishing in a boat.

He was the first to hook up, and yelled "get the net, GET THE NET"

It was a 25cm cod, on 40lb braid. Ohhhh, big fight that one.

He yelled it again when he hooked up 5 minutes later, and I watched him fight with a snag for about 3 minutes before I cracked up laughing and told him the bad news!
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Comment

• BARRAkid
      Ausfish Gold Member

• Feb 2008

"GOT me another GS - I got another giant snag
      " Im on "
      "Give it a flog " - Flog ya lure in there even if you doute there will be a fish there
      "The esky was open" after we loose a good reef fish rite next to the boat
      and the most common latly when we drift off the reef "F#%KIN GRINNERS"

cheers BK

Comment

• ronnien

• Mar 2008

fright train= unstopable

come on come on take it= talking the fish into taking the bait

nothing= not telling anyone just been done

bricked= fish made it home
        reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Comment

• Reel Nauti
          • May 2005

Years ago when a mate and I used to use alvey reels almost exclusively he always called me Alvey Tangles - (from Albey Mangles)

Everytime my mate pee's over the side I ask him if the water is cold? Everytime the replies the same "Nah mate, but it's f###en deep!)

Comment

• dogsbody

• Oct 2006

Ah fark I've spilt me beer.

Or another f@#$en shark.

Avast ye matey!

Comment

• coucho
              Ausfish Gold Member

• Mar 2008

NAFA not a fishermans a@seh@ole

Comment

• revs57

• Aug 2005

"I've been blown off!" not some thing that happens in the Valley on a Sat'dy night!
                "Check the use by date", "Got any dates for the scones?" "It'll have maggots hangin' orf it" all for a fish that takes a while to get in
                "Ahhh its the Bot, Bot" for a snag
                "A stick fish", or "antler fish" for coral
                "give yaself a reach around!" self explainitory
                ><((((ร‚ยบ>.ร‚ยธ.โ€ข'ร‚ยดร‚ยฏ)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Comment

• Greg P
                  Ausfish Addict
                  • Aug 2001

Only one I like to hear ------ "Fish On"

Comment

• Twisted_Pair

• Sep 2007

"Come to Papa"

T_P

Comment

• onerabbit

• Nov 2005

Are we there yet....................when dropping baits on the shelf,
                      & everyone's favourite .........DAMNIT.......is multi purpose.

Comment

• Wahoo
                        • Apr 2006

can you see color yet

Comment

• disorderly
                          Ausfish Addict

• Sep 2006

Originally posted by Wahoo View Post
                          can you see color yet

lol Daz...reminds me of a bloke I used to fish with...after that he would add...."So is it a monster from the deep?"

Comment

• Guido
                            • Nov 2006

Sometimes actions speak louder than words out the reef...

After a short period of no fish and if i've finally hooked up...I like to be a bit sly and sneak the ripper trout or red over the side and let it go sick in the dump box. Just a sly grin to the other blokes on board. Sometimes it might follow with:

"you boys pulling your weight or what?"

Guido

Comment

• spelchek
                              Ausfish Gold Member

• Sep 2005

"Caught a piece of Australia" - snagged

"Nigee - eeeelllll ...... F*CKIN LEGEND!" - when the hook gets free from the snag (ALA Kevin Bloody WIlson)

"Edddiiiieeee what have you done for me latley EDDIEEE" - when spyng a good looking eddy to flick a bait into ( copyright: Eddie murphy)

"weeell Im the type of guy who likes to root around" (sung to the tune of 'The Wanderer') to give sh*t to our mate 'Rootaround' (who roots around when doing anything- type of guy wholl empty and repack a trailer 5 times before declaring it 'ready').

"Dirty mother-f*cker" (sung to the tune by 'Prince') when fish busted off or dropped.

Yes, me and my mates are probably certifiable - and we do tend to get a bit 'blue' in the language dept when fishing together.

Oh - and one more (mostly said to our mate 'Angry'): "Tinny time!!" when someone drops a fart (refers to the fact they are gonna be out the back in the tender if they keep it up).

Comment

• rob tranter
                                Ausfish Gold Member

• Sep 2006

I Forgot to mention "Shit I've been IDIOT Fishing again" refering to no bait on the hook

Comment

Working...
                                X