Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Whats your anchor caught?

Whats your anchor caught?

Was fishing with a mate of mine today around the the bay, after a pretty good little session we decided to pull the anchor collect the crabs pots and head back to the ramp home.

So me being a good skipper I get my mate to lift the anchor, as he is doing this i am on the motor ready to get going, so he had pulled the rope in and now at the chain pulls it in and then gets to the end of the chain to pull in the anchor, and what should come up is an old rusty rectangle crab pot that had no name, no float or rope and no crabs in it either, so after a bit of untangling brings it into the boat, so rather then drop it back where is came from to pollute the floor or entrap an innocent sea creature. We took it with us and left it in a waste bin.

So have you ever been outdone my your anchor? what has your anchor caught?

Cheers Callum

Re: Whats your anchor caught?

An abandoned heavy fishing net.

Not something I want to repeat, quite scary actually!. I was a real struggle to get the anchor up, but there was enough "give" to stop the anchor rope breaking. When we realised what it was the concern was not to get the boat tangled in it. It was in quite sloppy conditions, an afternoon NE had kicked in and we were heading in.

We came close to cutting the anchor rope a few times but managed to finally free the anchor. We would have like to have taken the net in with us for disposal but it was just too dangerous.

As I said, not something I would like to repeat.

As a young 'un was fishing on Coffin Bay (SA) with Dad and his Mate, and a ruddy great, very pi##ed off bright red octopus came up with the pick!

Mate had a hatchet on the boat, and the occy was gone! Scared the crap out of me, all I could think of was the Kraken!!!

I don't carry a hatchet on my boat...
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Down the pin oneday, and as I retrieved my anchor I also pulled in a mess of 3 other anchors with chain and a small amount of rope.

Was able to salvage 1 of these which was in vgc for my little boat.

HEAD DOWN BUM UP!

Out at tallabugera one morn we dropped the anchor near the hwy bridge, then I noticed the boat was taking water, once again...... shite !! the damed bung ! turned on the bilge pump and told my mate to pull anchor up, he was going on saying its stuck ! so motored off to free it but ended dragging something 10 m, so stuck a rag in the bung hole to help lift the anchor, Wow, this is really heavy ! couldn't lift it into the boat so tied it off, it looked like a big rock with heaps of barnicals , got back to the ramp and turned out to be about a 30 hp tiller outboard, asked this guy at the ramp that was getting fishtank water if he has seen my bung, sorry mate , dont see any bong here, found my spare bung, but caught nothing else.

Not talking exactly about anchors, but crab pots though............ my wife and I were fishing from a jetty and she got 'snagged" on something, but she was determined to reel it in, till the line broke,she is fairly small so after 5 mins of fighting this "snag" she landed on the jetty a complete crab pot.. no crabs though.

She gave it to a young kid who was fishing next to us......................................

Twenty odd years ago as very young & inexperienced boaters me & my mate took a day of work & fished Tiger Mullet channel At the Pin in his ski boat which sat very low in the water.
    To cut a long story short he had just got a new anchor & rope, must of been about 200m of rope I reckon,the whole lot was out.
    We had no chance trying to pull the anchor in against the current, so started the motor & motored forward. With that much rope out it ended up wrapped around the prop. The boat was now anchored by the motor.
    As I leant over the back to untangle the rope, waves were coming in & filling the boat fast.
    Quickly got the knife to cut the rope but as I leaned over the back the boat capsized & we were swimming to shore.
    So I guess you could say the anchor caught an outboard..............

Was fishing the southport seaway one night on an outgoing tide in a 12ft tinney. We tried to lift the pick but it seemed stuck. After a quick scratch of our heads we tried again and found we were able to sloowly pull in the rope - but it was a real struggle.. something heavy was atached to it obviously. We kept slowly pulling it in - all the while speculating on what it was... Finally got it to surface.. was a huge mess of 6 anchors and chain all tangled together with our anchor (so 7 in all).

Finally got em all in the boat (whos gonna throw away 6 free anchors) and we both look up for the first time since we started the 'struggle'... imagin our shock when we see we have drifted WAAY out of the seaway with the outgoing tide. We had 2 full big plastic live tanks (we were attempting to catch some stripies for my mates honours project) , 2 big fellas, an esky and now all these anchors. Thankfully even tho a big swell was running, there was no chop as we didnt exaclty have much hull above the waterline

Scared the shite outta us actually - land looked a loong way away .. we motored in very sedately. Ancored back up in the seaway... had a beer and had a 5 minute collective 'phew - break'.

Then started fishing again and found we had a school of giant herring just out the back of the boat - a seriously fun session ensued
    Last edited by spelchek; 26-04-2008 at 10:33 AM.

Thanks for the storeys guys, glad to see its not just me who has pulled up an unexpected friends from the floor.

Keep them coming if you have got them.

Cheers Callum
    Last edited by cbruh1; 26-04-2008 at 04:47 PM. Reason: spelling mistake

When I Was Young And Fishing With My Grandad In His Boat We Through The Anchor Over . When It Was Time To Leave We Pulled The Sand Anchor Up As You Do And Their Was A Sand Crad Stabbed In The Middle Of The Shell By The Anchor . This Was About 20 Years Ago Now Up Near The Red Bouy In Deception Bay.

Apart from two lost pots, the best thing I have brought up with the anchor was a Snyderglas Mag-Jig rod and a TLD15 with about 150m of line left on it. My guess is it was underwater for less than a week as the gold chrome was just beginning to corrode off and the reel still had grease looking grease in the gears. Could not find a previous owners address or name on anything tho.......

I dont suppose that was in Darwin Harbour was it Tunaticer.. I was up there about a year ago on a charter and a boat near us pulled up a rod and overhead - Im sure it was a TLD.

i scored a fold up camping chair on the end of the anchor up the pine river,it looked like it had been there a while but .

It wasnt me , but there was another thread or post on here, About 2 guys that were fishing and there boat just started moving and drifted them out for a couple of k's without them realising, after an hour or so they decided to pull the anchor up and it was really heavy, and found out that it was a mantaray that had its wing caught on the rope or something.

mabye the real story teller might shed some more info on the subject.??

The only thing i have pulled in was on my rod and it was another rod, lol

Cammo
    Last edited by Cammy; 26-04-2008 at 11:12 PM.
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Quote Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
    it wasnt me , but tehre was another thread or post on here, About 2 guys that were fishing and there boat just started moving and drifted them out for a couple of k's without them realising, after an hour or so they decided to pull the anchor up and it was really heavy, and found out that it was a mantaray that had its wing caught on the rope or something.

mabye the real story teller might shed some more info on the subject.??

Cammo

holey cow. a mantaray, that would have been interesting. Would like to know how you manage to drift a couple of kms and not notice, maybe if your out offshore and can no longer see land i spose you can't really tell what one patch of water looks like to another patch of water. More info would be good for this one if they have got it.

Cheers Callum