Thread: A quiet arvo

A quiet arvo

After hearing reports of a lack of Bass being caught in Hinze I decided to have a look for myself Friday arvo.
    Not wrong at all.

I trolled all the way from the no turning circle ramp to beyond the southern dog leg. The further south I went the less fish I found. The most noticeable I found was the abundance of fish on the bottom in deep, deep water. At that point in time I should have started fishing deep techniques, BUT the need to see what was out of sight kept me going.

After only catching one fish on spinnerbaits down south I motored back toward the half way mark to fish deeper. Well that worked. Two fish busted off in 52 feet in two casts had me changing rods, needless to say this was a disaster, light line and ultra light leader was the only way these fish would feed.

It was getting late so I headed for the shallows to throw S------ around, that worked as well with a fish actually coming into the boat. In the partial darkness I couldn’t see the lure anywhere, without a torch it made it harder. The lure was eventually located way back in the Fish’s throat, not the ideal location for a treble in the dark.

Well that’s it, I’m heading up Sunday morning but not sure if its worth it.
    Mitch
    Attachment 25620

Re: A quiet arvo

Hopefully you get a better day another time and hopefully the bass catchings increase
    Dylan

wow thats a good looking lure well done better luck next time.

regards,
    keechie
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

why would u hide the lure.......?
    geez its getting petty in here

You did well to get some hits and a couple of fish Mitch. I find it even harder at Hinze when the barometer is around 1010 and northly winds. Went out yesterday in the seaway for something different but didnt get one hit. So your special lure is still doing it yeh? Is it a surface lure, diver or crankbait? You have to start giving us some clues.

Quote Originally Posted by rc@hinze View Post
    You did well to get some hits and a couple of fish Mitch. I find it even harder at Hinze when the barometer is around 1010 and northly winds. Went out yesterday in the seaway for something different but didnt get one hit. So your special lure is still doing it yeh? Is it a surface lure, diver or crankbait? You have to start giving us some clues.
    I have some of each.
    Mitch

If I make in out on on Sunday arvo i will make sure I close my eyes as I go past your boat.

Three Bass thismorning. 1 on surface lure, 1 on a 1- and 1 on a 5- hard bodied.
    Attachment 25755

Out between 10 and 12 for a leisurly cruise around the dam on a beautiful morning with some of the family. No fish as we trolled along. The schools were gone from last time and any fish showing were sitting at 10-12m.
    Nice meeting Dodge 41.
    -Richard-

me thinks that lure is a now discontinued Mega Bass cicada thing called a Piglett?

I dont think the cicada is his secret lure

Hey Greeny, be careful Mitch is very protectiive of his lures. He been going to alot of trouble to keep them secret.

Looks like slim pickins all round Mitch...I went out four three hours Saturday morning at North Pine for one bass in the first ten minutes and thats it. Not another bite all morning. Don't like mornings like that at all.
    Threw every thing at em. Elusive little mongrels.

Quote Originally Posted by rc@hinze View Post
    Nice meeting Dodge 41.
    -Richard-
    Richard same here mate, if you see me on the water in the kayak say g'day [always in a blue hat], but after my last 3 trips am useless for advice, having a series of donut results

Richo

Quote Originally Posted by BARRAkid View Post
    I dont think the cicada is his secret lure
    Is it just another cicada lure? I doubt it very much. Besides thats not my secret lure.
    Mitch