Mud Island - Tue 22 Apr

Thread: Mud Island - Tue 22 Apr

Mud Island - Tue 22 Apr

G'day Ausfishers

Fished Mud Island today from about 10am to 2pm. Kept 3 squire - 38cm, 42cm and 45cm. Just enough for a couple of nice meals.

Lost 3 good fish that were far bigger than what I boated - boy I was getting annoyed. 1st one got off the hook after 30 seconds of good hard run, the 2nd rubbed the leader against the bottom, and the 3rd got off the hook again after only about 15 seconds. They hit like decent squire but I can't tell you why they didn't hook up properly. Anyway, I'll get them next time.

Brad
    Last edited by For Steve; 23-04-2008 at 09:04 AM. Reason: Pictures added
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Re: Mud Island - Tue 22 Apr

Nice Brad! At least you got a feed and in the middle of the day too! Did you fish SCALEM's spot?

Looked gorgeous on the water at 2ish - came down the top of the hill at Manly and it looked pristine - hope tomorrow is as nice!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Another good trip, well done mate! any pics?

Bait or plastics ?

Quote Originally Posted by T1 View Post
    Nice Brad! At least you got a feed and in the middle of the day too! Did you fish SCALEM's spot?

Looked gorgeous on the water at 2ish - came down the top of the hill at Manly and it looked pristine - hope tomorrow is as nice!

Take Care T
    Hi T

Most of the action was just west of Scalem's territory in about 25'.

The S/SE was in at about 12-16 knots according to the observations. It made it a bit choppy between Mud and St Helena on the way back to Manly. I just slowed down to around 25km/h and the ride was ok. It looked pretty smooth from the Manly esplanade too - maybe I'm getting soft?

Good luck tomorrow. Look forward to your report.

Quote Originally Posted by SummerTrance View Post
    Another good trip, well done mate! any pics?

Bait or plastics ?
    Thanks SummerTrance. Will post up some pics tomorrow.

All on plastics - mainly 4" powerbaits, any colour.

Thanks guys,
    Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

well done brad.

i know this may sound stupid but what does scalems territory mean? is it the name of a beacon?

we normally do pretty well S/E of mud using bait but now wana get into plastics.

Quote Originally Posted by phantomboy View Post
    i know this may sound stupid but what does scalems territory mean? is it the name of a beacon?

we normally do pretty well S/E of mud using bait but now wana get into plastics.
    G'day mate. Scalem is a mate of ours (and Ausfish member) who taught me how to catch bay squire on plastics. It's great fun, you've gotta give it a go. There's heaps of good tips on here.

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

I am keen to get amongst the action at Mud tomorow, I have fished there before "blind" (not drunk blind but blind in the fact that I went without knowing any spots etc) any tips would be very welcome even pm me if that works for you. even better it would be great if a meet n greet for some first hand advice one day
    thanks ( is it just me or does that sound to much like a dating ad in a seedy mag?)
    m not that way inclined!! just want to catch fish

That is a nice feed there, Mate.

Lovely pic with your lad also. That pic will become a favorite of yours.

Well done!

Quote Originally Posted by mamu View Post
    even better it would be great if a meet n greet for some first hand advice one day
    thanks ( is it just me or does that sound to much like a dating ad in a seedy mag?)
    :kiss:

your just digging a deeper hole for yourself Mamu

PM on the way.(about mud, not your secret fetishes!!)

Cheers Roo.

Quote Originally Posted by mamu View Post
    I am keen to get amongst the action at Mud tomorow, I have fished there before "blind" (not drunk blind but blind in the fact that I went without knowing any spots etc) any tips would be very welcome even pm me if that works for you. even better it would be great if a meet n greet for some first hand advice one day
    Yep, rightio.

It's alright mate - I know what you mean. I don't mind giving you some tips. Will you be fishing with plastics tomorrow?

Quote Originally Posted by charleville View Post
    That is a nice feed there, Mate.

Lovely pic with your lad also. That pic will become a favorite of yours.

Well done!
    Thanks Charlie. I was trying to find a way to make a picture of a squire a bit more interesting. My little man sure did a fantastic job.
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Nice feed there mate, I'd like to place a bet on what that young bloke will be doing in a few years. Hanging with the old man and pulling a few fish,Fantastic

Well done Brad. I headed out to Mud today and did quite well. Started off slowly but then found a patch of hungry fish and boated several between 34cm-39cm which were all released. For the table I kept a 45cm and a 35 cm sweetlip which will be my dinner tonight. The quality fish are far and few in between but there are some good healthy squire around.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Nice feed Brad.

Quote Originally Posted by chief View Post
    Nice feed there mate, I'd like to place a bet on what that young bloke will be doing in a few years. Hanging with the old man and pulling a few fish,Fantastic
    Thanks chief. I'm really looking forward to the day when I take the lad out fishing. I imagine it will need a far bit of patience and he'd get bored pretty quick but isn't that what Dad's are for. Need to plant the seed early I reckon.

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    Well done Brad. I headed out to Mud today and did quite well. Started off slowly but then found a patch of hungry fish and boated several between 34cm-39cm which were all released. For the table I kept a 45cm and a 35 cm sweetlip which will be my dinner tonight. The quality fish are far and few in between but there are some good healthy squire around.

Good on ya Poodroo. It sounds like we had similar trips. They seem to be schooling up in a few patches. How did Nauti~Gal go?

Squire and sweetlip for dinner mate - those grassies are delicious. Enjoy!
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Quote Originally Posted by For Steve View Post
    Thanks chief. I'm really looking forward to the day when I take the lad out fishing. I imagine it will need a far bit of patience and he'd get bored pretty quick but isn't that what Dad's are for. Need to plant the seed early I reckon.

Good on ya Poodroo. It sounds like we had similar trips. They seem to be schooling up in a few patches. How did Nauti~Gal go?

Squire and sweetlip for dinner mate - those grassies are delicious. Enjoy!
    Conditions sounded very similar and the fish caught were similar too. Nauti~Gal is going great. She's a very pleasant vessel to go fishing in.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.