Barramundi with Finger Lime

Thread: Barramundi with Finger Lime

Barramundi with Finger Lime

I watched a nifty snippet on Australian Finger Limes on the weekend and then found this recipe..........it looks a ripper...........

Ingredients

4x180gram skinless
    barramundi fillets
    300g leeks (white only thinly sliced)
    cup chopped parsley
    cup chopped chives
    cup toasted macadamias finely chopped
    4 finger limes
    40g butter
    cup sweet sherry
    salt & pepper

The Sauce

Liqueur from leek and sherry mixture
    cup fish stock
    5g ground lemon myrtle
    5g grated parmesan cheese
    90g butter
    4 finger limes
    chives & dill to garnish

Method

Saute leek in butter until soft and slighly brown. Season to taste.

Add sherry and reduce slightly. Cool, then mix with chopped herbs and macadamias. Lay Barrumundi fillets out and cover with a double layer of cling wrap. Using a meat mallet, gently batten each fillet until approx. 2mm thick. Spread the contents of one finger lime out on each fillet and season. Then spread leek, herbs and macadamia mixture on top. Place each fillet on a piece of cling wrap twice the size of fillet. Roll it up tightly to form a bonbon shape. Tie a knot tightly at each end and place in simmering water and poach for 7-10 minutes, until they are firm to touch. Once firm take out and let to rest.

Meanwhile, prepare sauce by heating leek and sherry liqueur along with the fish stock, slightly reduce. Add lemon myrtle, parmesan, and monte with the butter and season. Do not boil. Add contents of finger limes to sauce just prior to serving.

Place fillets of Barramundi cut in half on a plate. Pour over sauce and garnish around fish with dill and chives.
    "This space is saved for my next special catch"
    "Rainy" Haines Hunter 540C Yamaha 130 HPDI
    28lb King Salmon
    18lb Steelhead (Rainbow) Trout
    12lb Brown Trout
    6.5lb Brook Trout
    12lb Murry Cod
    6'+ Bronze Whaler Shark

Re: Barramundi with Finger Lime

hmm nice mate
    sound nice

****yummy for my tummy****
    BreamBuster33

Ausfish Platinum Member 4x4frog's Avatar

Those finger limes are really something else and if you've ever tried them, the thought of them in that particular recipe is enough to make your mouth water.
    If anyone wants to try them go to the Mt Cootha botanical garden and do the bush foods tour, they have heaps of things to try and finger limes are one. I did a day out there last year with my daughters class and it was a nice walk topped off with the tastings.

i absolutly love barra