That's AWESOME guys! When both the Skip & the Deckie both nail a good fish, it makes it that little bit more enjoyable!!
Well done to both of you!!!
Take Care T
PS: I think i'm well overdue for a sesh in the river...
Well it feels like a thousand years since I've done a report. All i can say is what a way to come back.
Got a call from Custaro bout 12 today seeing if i was keen for a fish. Ah that would be yes so grabbed a rod or two and I find myself at his place within half an hour.
A bit of tinkering with his boat and we were off,had a quick stop at Bias to get a new battery as the old one was showing it's age. Hit the water about 2.30 and proceed to the mouth of the Brizze River where Clay threw the cast net for a few livies. Scored a couple of Whiting and some Silver Biddies. Motored a few meters and dropped the pick.
While I was rigging up Clay lets one of the whiting go over the side. Within the space of 3 mins BANG( I want to hit the Z key but I'll refrain) and a short fight ensues. We didn't know what it was but it looked like something good, and good it was a meter Threadie,, over the side it came. You beauty.
I finally got my rig set up and put over a livie, quietly thinking ok my turn, not to be,, Clay's on again to something good so i wind in to help out, again, only to have the hook pull. Bummer mate.
Tide has turned and i was thinking this is it my last throw of the dice. Over went a Silver Biddie had to wait about 20mins till something got interested in my offering,,, BANG rod goes off and takes some line, crank the drag a little and after a few runs up pops another meter Threadie, my first. What a great feeling to catch such a beast.
All up a short session but very productive. Till next time. Thanks Clay,,, I'm a good deckie just ask me I'll tell ya.
That's AWESOME guys! When both the Skip & the Deckie both nail a good fish, it makes it that little bit more enjoyable!!
Well done to both of you!!!
Take Care T
PS: I think i'm well overdue for a sesh in the river...
looks like boggy is still producing, shame to see 2 dead salmon tho!
Great report and pics. One of the first blokes to post a thready pic without photoshopping the background. A pleasure to see.
Richie
Some cracker fish there fellas....Top effort.
Well done guys. Thats a couple of good fish there.
A couple of nice size fish there guys. Sounds like some good fish getting around the mouth of the Brissie river, just a matter of putting in the time.
Gazza
Nice work, good sized fish too! Can't wait to get one a 1m+
Nice fish Dave. What are the eating qualities of threadfin?
Good report Dave! Hope you managed to get the blade down the side of it ok.
You are a tops deckie Dave. Like I said, I wouldn't have been there if you had other plans for the arvo. Just remember how to tie your own bimini next time! You weren't throwing back any JimBeams for the tuition, so no excuse.
Raddish, they are up there with the tastiest! Very unique also.
Well done guys, nice fish. Might just have to have a shot at a Brisie River Threadie as i have only caught them up North.
John.
Nice fish fellas. The threadies are being caught as far upstream as the Indooroopilly Bridge. Large herring are their favourite food.
Barry
not a bad return for a lazy arvo sesh guys. nice thread, threadie, thread, threadie.
c'mon, take the bait....
Mat hows a bloke to get a feed? If you let them go thats good, but you won't get me saying to you "mate you should have kept em". So please afford me the same courtesy. Thanks.
Richieboy I'm a non believer in photoshop what you see is what you get.
T1 I think it's time you started using some of those Tings for bait.
Custaro Yeah i managed to fillet it ok. But i think some bastard threw a heap of golf balls in there.
Thanks for the comments fellas.
Great fish mate and well done .they yeild a dam fine fillet,Cheers