Thread: Bluefin or Top ender

Re: Bluefin or Top ender

Great to hear Grant, I have read a few of your posts about all the Jacks. I really miss the boat but am glad that it is serving you well. I love having the bigger boat but when the wind is blowing it is not exactly the type of boat that you can fish up the creeks with.

I am thinking of either a Haines Hunter Pro Strike (the hoon in me coming out) or a slightly smaller Top Ender than yours that I can really get into the creeks with. Will see what the wife votes for.

Sorry to hijack the thread..... My vote stays with the Top Ender!

Quote Originally Posted by Finnatical View Post
    Great to hear Grant, I have read a few of your posts about all the Jacks. I really miss the boat but am glad that it is serving you well. I love having the bigger boat but when the wind is blowing it is not exactly the type of boat that you can fish up the creeks with.

I am thinking of either a Haines Hunter Pro Strike (the hoon in me coming out) or a slightly smaller Top Ender than yours that I can really get into the creeks with. Will see what the wife votes for.

Sorry to hijack the thread..... My vote stays with the Top Ender!
    Sins you hijack the thread can you tell me if this is a good deal A QUINTREX 455 TOPENDER 60HP EFI MERCURY 4/STK with 78.1HRS COMPLETELY DECKED OUT WITH TWO FOLD DOWN SKIPPER SEATS, LOWRANCE FISH FINDER, 27 MEG RADIO, UNDERFLOOR FUEL TANK, PLUMBED LIVE BAIT TANK AT REAR TRANSOM, EXTRUDED SIDE DECKS, RAIL MOUNT ROD HOLDERS, BIMINI TOP, RT55 MINN KOTA ELECTRIC MOTOR, QUICK RELEASE BRACKET, DEEP CYCLE BATTERY, ANCHORWELL, CASTING PLATFORM UNDERFLOOR STORAGE HATCHS, SIDE CONSOLE, MECHANICAL STEERING, NAVIGATION LIGHTS, STERN LIGHT, BILGE PUMP, BATTERY SWITCH, TACHO, SPEEDO, HR & FUEL GAUGES for $17900 is it to old for the price. Thanks Mark

Sounds spot on to me Mark, I will PM U.

I agree with Didley, looks like a fair price with all the extras mentioned.

Boat got sold today oh well bad luck for me any one wont to sell me a top ender

Mate i'd have to agree on the top ender, had a good look at the start of the year ...... The finish on the quinny is very good , where as the bluefins i looked at weren't the best !! The casting platform on the blue fin all seemed to warp up on the edges creating a hazard IMO ...... Nothing wrong with the Merc's either , happy hunting .......

blue fin all seemed to warp up on the edges Never ever herd that frankly i don't even no what you mean

[quote=Mark-P;804326]Mate i'd have to agree on the top ender, had a good look at the start of the year ...... The finish on the quinny is very good , where as the bluefins i looked at weren't the best !! The casting platform on the blue fin all seemed to warp up on the edges creating a hazard IMO ...... Nothing wrong with the Merc's either , happy hunting .......

Mark[/quot

Yeah i have had a bluefin predator for 4 yrs and have seen many others and not seen this supposed problem ,in my opinion the fins are a great boat and are finished to a great standard and are way better value for money than the quintrex also the predator doesn't lose any space at the back due to the pod setup which you can also get with a fin in another model called the barracuda. If you want to compare and you live in brissy you can come and have a look at a fin that has been used regularly for 4 yrs and has 500 hrs on it witout any major problems . The money you save buying a fin can go towards a sounder upgrade and a bowmount and probably a new fishing outfit aswell so compare the quality first hand and the price i think you will be surprised ......matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Quote Originally Posted by skinss View Post
    blue fin all seemed to warp up on the edges Never ever herd that frankly i don't even no what you mean
    Skinns,

I haven't had any issues with casting deck warp?? I think some of the warp occurs after boats have been left out in all conditions in dealers yard.

Don't be put off the Bluefins, you will always hear people talk about someone they know having 'dramas' with any brand.

How many horror stories have been told around the campfire about Quintrex yet they still probably outsell all others, even with their higher price tags.

Make your own decision and I am sure whatever boat you decide on whether Quintrex or Bluefin will bring you years of happiness.

Cameron.
    Last edited by Poseidon; 18-04-2008 at 07:07 PM.

I have a couple of mates that are welders and they recone that quintrex have shit welds and the can't see how they sell a producted at such a high mark up price.

Then the other day a lad that was selling a top ender that work for haines hunter told me top enders are by far the best tinny on the market for ride and quality. so which way do i go.

. so which way do i go.
    You need to do the 'Pepsi Challenge'....get into both models and take a ride.

Have a look at the finish, however no guarantees as the welder may have had a barney with his missus the night before and his mind is not on the job...can happen with any brand.

For me, I did my research, asked a heap of questions then threw caution to the wind and went with my gut feeling, which turned out great and couldn't be happier.

That all said I reckon that I would have been as equally over the moon with a TopEnder if it was delivered the same way.

Regards Cameron.

Any one drove or no anything about the Blue Fin Cobia

Back in January i looked at Topenders , nomads, cobias, frenzys,wildcats & profish all great boats & Each of them had there pro's & cons ..... The bluefins in this purticular yard had warped casting platforms ie ( there edges turn up ) i was told that it was a bad batch of glue Anyway i decided in the end the sideconsole didn't suit me & bought a centreconsloe in steed !!! At the end of the day what ever you buy , make sure it's what suits you & your dollar & accept only the best finish possible......

When you ask for an opinion you'll get it, good or bad ! But its up to you what you choose to do with it.........

I just sold a prowler 520 centre.Need to down size make it easy to launch it on the beaches.

Thinking what you said about what suits me. The wildcat has no leg room and when you turn the seat around its hard to turn as its to butted up against the gunnel might have a look at the Top ender thanks for you help.Mark