Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bar Crossing

Bar Crossing

for you guys down south, i know this clip has been put up before, but how often do you come across this bar crossing? would it get any worse, i know the guy stalled the motor, are most bar crossing like this, never had to come across one up here, and dont think i would like too, how deep is the water? would you ever hit the bar? just asking these Q's as i never had crossed one, and know nuthing about them
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=123122

Last edited by Wahoo; 17-04-2008 at 11:29 AM.

Re: Bar Crossing

g'day Daz,
    I am from the gold coast and every time i wish to fish my morning always starts with a bar crossing. i personaly have never taken on woolie though my main bars i cross are currumbin,tweed,tally and southport. i would have to say that the depth normally varies as currumbin is the worst with depth where we run across less then 2ft of water.

you do get confidence with bar crossings, in saying that i still always have a good look before jumping out of the hole. In most role overs on bars,i have seen 2 now myself and in both cases they tried to turn around in the middle of the bar because they miss timed it. That's a no no, and in both cases they lost everything except their lives .

Yes the bars we cross down here are like that video,but honestly its no that bad crossing bars, you just have to be awake and ready for anything. I have hit some really big waves before, where in one case where i miss timed it i was nearly vertical. you just have to stay calm,hit whats coming. It could bepossible to hit the rock walls if your boat does cut out i just hope that never happens to anyone, but it is unlikely to hit the wall otherwise. I hope this answered your question. Just remember if you are going to cross a bar do your research first if possible.

Matty

Wahoo, i just saw your avtar! That is a classic photo. I dont know my fish species all that well but is that fish a "Sargent Bather"!!
    I have had a shit day and that shot just cracked me up!!
    Thanks mate.
    Jewie

the South Coast of NSW has some real "doozey" bars, Narooma being one (been over that a thousand times) and another that can be a bit tricky is Port Macquarrie (used that one as well a bit) some are really good like the Entrance to the Shoalhaven River is usually a breeze (usually) all can get a bit gnarly if conditions are not to flash, lucky for me, my Local (Shellharbour) is a pussy and is practicaly never bad, if it is bad, it is time to stay home anyway.

So when caught in a bad situation, its better to push on, rather than turn around? Is that the theory?

Being a surfer, Ive always had a good feel for bars. I just sit and count the sets and the time in between. If you take 5-10 mins to watch the sets, it will help a lot.

I always reckon being a Surfer or an ex Surfer is a great asset for Boating, most confident Surfers will know if a wave is about to break, or likely to break, only breaking in one place and lots of stuff, I always thank my lucky stars for having been a surfie dude for many years!

Being a surfer is a big advantage when bar crossing but can also be a disadvantage. In the way of "oh shit, this is gonna be interesting"
    Nothing like paddling out in really big surf, being in the impact zone, cant go in cant get out in time and you just know your gonna cop it on the head.
    Jewie

It will be good if boats can duck dive under the waves like surfies can hey???

For sure mate, i have had that thought many times when i have a bit of bad timing crossing bars!
    Jewie

Attempted a variant on the duck dive on my last go-out timddo, boat fared well but I didn't! Taught me a good lesson tho', lol.
    Great piece of footage, glad they all got out ok, me I would have fished the river that day, after a few waves, that is!
    Good size boats, the last wave the first boat took was interesting!

It just goes to show that timing is so important in that situation. That first boat stalled on the second wave and copped every breaking wave after it. Lucky the boat was big enough and seaworthy enough to handle it. Probably the worst thing you could do in that situation is get side-on, He handled it perfectly. Great footage and great thread!

Cheers Benny

typical of some people

thanks for the replies for those that posted, i would say the first few times it would be a bit hairy been looking at a few more on you-tube, some of the beach launching is a bit up there for me also, one glass boat getting knocked about on his trailer, not good

How big do you think those waves are.. Too me they look 4ft, 5ft max.... That 1.2m to 1.6m

Really, that is not a big day. But that's about as big as I would go when crossing a breaking bar...

Yeah Jabba, good call on the size I'd reckon, certainly not that big for a surfer, but I'd give it a miss in my boat and try and find a wave instead. Looked like a couple ok lefthanders!
    Oh yeah, Wahoo that is a very nice avatar...........
    Last edited by nigelr; 17-04-2008 at 08:22 PM.