-
Ausfish Gold Member
Beach fishing?
Greetings all!
Not after spot X or anything, but anyone interested in going for a spot of beach fishing over the next couple of weeks or even on and off on the long term?
As a Pommy I've found it hard to work out beach structure and water flow. In the UK I just used to go to the end of the longest breakwall and throw. I'm trying to get past the guessing stage in Oz.
Any fishing time is fun but if a little more knowledge could come my way as well....who knows?
Here's hoping.
Regards, Rob.
Ballina.
-
Re: Beach fishing?
Pommy, I go up seven mile beach a bit and also south ballina beach fishing by 4wd, next time i am planning a trip i will give you a pm and let you know.
There is some great formations on south ballina beach at the moment, especialy down towards the coffee rock. Will let ya know.
I live in byron but can pick you up or meet you somewhere?
Jewie (matt)
-
Hey lads,
I will be keen for sure, All my mates arent interested in the cold water and since my pop past on i havent had someone whos really keen to go with.
I was actually going to do this same thing in the coming weeks, i fish that area often and have a Landcruiser for the beach. I am form brisbane but i usually stay at a spot down there, so im keen.
-
No worries mate, sounds like fun. Went up seven mile beach on saturday, beach was quite flat, no gutters realy, and no fish so i decided to go up south ballina on the sunday. Some great beach formations as is said in the above post, plenty of mullett in the gutters so their def will be tailor around and jewies chasing the mullett. We will have to organiise an early start or late arvo. Can even do an overnighter if keen enough.
Jewie
-
Ausfish Gold Member
g,day pom i will be keen to hook up in future ,maybe have a go at the jew at ballina when the mullet run ,i dont know much about it really but down your way they throw big lures at them from the rock walls ,sounds like they get a fair few like that hey rabbi !heard about one bloke a friend of a friend he had 4 on one night but lost em all said something about no one on the gaff to help him even so it sounds like he got them quite reguarly ,pm me your phone no if you want to touch base nothing like the blind leading the blind hey ,cheers.
-
Ausfish Addict
G'day Jewienewie,
I drive a few times down to seven mile beach from Brisbane (don't have a 4WD) but like to do some beach fishing to catch some tailor and dart or nice pelagics.
I'm thinking about coming down on last day in April or after 16th May.
If you know of some good spots or team up for a day let me know. Peter
-
Sounds like we could all organise something, more knowledge the better.
-
Sounds like this is going to end up in a meet and greet.lol.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Post poaching buggers! lol
At this rate we'll need a Bandwagon or some similar vehicle to transport us all along the beach!
Regards, Rob.
-
Ausfish Addict
G'day Rob, sounds like it lol
-
few tailor starting
cant wait
love the surf fishin
pete
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
G'Day Rob,
Mate I'm flat out at work at the moment but as soon as I get a chance to draw breath I'll give you a hoy and see what we can organise.
Cheers Mark
-
Look out South Ballina beach, keep us posted as to when people have time. I have a troopy so can fit in a few but only have two rocket launches for the rods.
Jewie
-
I will be heading down in the coming weeks, i will be keeping an eye on the seabreeze and go from there.