Thread: burrum heads

burrum heads

hey guys,
    i have just spent 3.5 weeks at burrum heads finally i had a trip where the weather was good the fishing was great I think I caught about 30 different species of legal fish from whiting flathead and bream right through to a couple of 15kg spaniards most of the fishing was done in the river but i ran out to the gutters a few times.The golden trevally were thick before the new moon we caught about 20 over a couple of days they werent big at about 2-3kg but top fun on light gear the mackerel were also thick in the river the whole time most were undersize but every day we caught a handfull of good ones there were also queenfish and tailor mixed in with them most days we were catching 4 different species of mackerel(school,spottie,grey and spanish) there were also some cobia in the river with the best i saw caught about 12kg i didn't get a look at one unfortunately i also managed one barra up at buxton about 70cm a bloke next to me got one the same time that was a bit over a metre and probably 15kg or more the trips out to the gutters were a little slow had to work for the fish but we got a decent feed each time with sweetlip,squire,nannygai,hussar and mackerel being the bulk of the catch. oh I also caught a flathead over a metre on a 5" nuke chook off the boat ramp probably 90% of the fish were caught on lures both hardbodies and soft plastics i tried plastics out at the gutters but couldn't get one past the turrum some were 10kg plus good fun but a pain when your trying to catch reefies also caught big chinaman fish on a 7" nuke chook.
    I havent got many photos but i will post some when i get them so this is all allegedly

Cheers Lochie

Re: burrum heads

Sounds like a good trip mate,
    There's only one photo I want to see and that's of the "flathead over a metre".

Cheers Jeff.

You bet it's alleged! What a top couple of weeks but huh! From the reports down here, you haven't missed much...

Look forward to pics!

Take Care T

PS: how's that little 'gulper' going?
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

hey jeff thats one photo i do have but its on a mates camera soon as i can get it off him i'll post it.

T1; yeah it was a great couple of weeks as i said i dont have to many pics cause i was to busy fishin a mate was up for a few days and he took quite a few so when i get them off him i'll post some. the little ' gulper' was pretty hungry when i got home but hes had a good feed now.

Hey Lochie, Great post, good to see there are a good load of Fish up the Burrum Way. The wife and I are headding to Toogoom for 2 weeks after the May Long Weekend, and chance of a few GPS points. We have never been there before and aer excited when we read posts like yours.

Regards, Mark

Thats a great report, I had no idea those species were available in the river. Im moving up that way soon, so Im very impressed.

Great read there Lochie, you had a ball.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

great report, have been up at burrum over the last 2 xmas, have a few months of work so i'd like to try to head back up that way.

cant wait to see the pics

good to see go you got amoghts them mate. callum said you were cleaning up there when i caught up with him the other day... anyways mate we have to hook up for a fish

Dyl

Sounds like a good trip Lochie. I had a trip to Rocky a couple of weeks ago and planned to stop in Burrum on the way back to check it out...but as road trips go this didn't happen.

Sounds like a gem of a place. Macs, reefies and barra!

I assume you were fishing out of a boat. What size? Were the reefs far from the river mouth? I fished the reef a few miles out off Coonarr before, but that was from Elliot R. Any info would be much appreciated.

That's a great report and I'm green with envy! 3.5 weeks of that would be bloody hard to take!

hey custaro,

yeah we were fishing out of a boat we took 2 up actually most of the fishing was done in the river and just outside this was done in a seajay 3.75mtr with a 15hp yammie. there is some reefs about 10ks from the river mouth but they get fished pretty hard they fish well for macks and xos goldens I had 2 good sessions there with the macks heaps of schoolies and got 1 15kg spaniard on a livie but the reefies are few and far between for reefies we go to the southern gutters which is about 50ks from the river mouth theres nothing really in between.

cheers Lochie

Hey Lochie,

Sounds like you had a great time up there. Looking forward to seeing the photos. How many times did you end up getting out wide?

Craig.

hey craig,
    we got out wide 4 times it was still relatively lumpy at the gutters but like a mill pond in close its a funny place i think it is because you are so exposed.we are starting to work out how to catch fish there your marks were a great help thanks again. I will have to take you for a fish down this way this winter to get some snaps.

cheers Lochie

Hey thats a great result, i was up there about a month ago i have a house i holiday let on the water side of burrum street. My missus hooked up on something very large near the boat ramp but due to her inexperienced she lost it as it broke her off. I can still see her rod bent over nearly 180 degrees. beautiful place up there, cant wait to get back there, Deano.