tah guys some graet info regarding these fish will make sure the kids stay clear of them.
Do they only have 3 spikes?
purcho
The variety views on catties is interesting.
My northern bro'inlaw is a confirmed cattie walloper.
On bloke I met used to throw catties back till he braught one home for cat food, seeing how keen his cat was on the flesh, he cooked some up for him self. Now if there is a cattie on offer he wont come home without a feed.
A mate of mine fishes out of a perception minow ( 12 foot kayak), he hooked up something big in wyvenhoe one afternoon.....it draged him round for half an hour before he got it along side...... it was over 3 feet long.
Some poms and most asians think catfish is lip smackin' good.
I told the wife I landed a decent cattie one night & she was disapointed I didnt bring it home.
I gota say the answer to a lot of problems is a harge pair of long nosed pliers
tah guys some graet info regarding these fish will make sure the kids stay clear of them.
Do they only have 3 spikes?
purcho
Local Council supplies traps for all Moggies, catch one make sure you feed it , have drinking water inthe trap till appropriate people come pick it up..
Daresay same might apply with Catties !!??..
Okay Just Joshin..
I pulled up my boat on the ramp in sydney harbour pitch dark my cousins mate jumped off the side bow landed straight on a catfish barb pointing up
We drove to apetrol station he went in put cold water on his foot said he was still in pain told him go put hot water on it
He came back out said helped heaps he drove home to campbelltown and had to goto the ER got a shot ofmorpine in the ass said he could barely drive home
Hot water for fish stings - barely tolerable temperature
Yeah that can help with cattie stings but doesnt do a thing with Bullrout/Stonefish stings...even Morphine doesnt much help with those...unless you take enough to knock yourself out....cattie stings can hurt like a bugga but stepping on a bullrout was by far the most excruiating pain I have ever felt....I even charged my son with hunting down and capturing the culprit, then dried it it and kept it on my bookshelf for about 10 years till it disintegrated...
My daughter stepped on a bullrout when she was younger - she had to endure a long boat ride & drive to the local ambo (poor kid) ........ The Paramedic went straight for the hot water & that eased the pain considerably ......... The paramedic then explained that this Hot water emersion neutralises the toxins & that's how it works .
It's what is recommended by St John Ambulance Fact sheets_bites and stings.pdf
Yeah I know its whats reccomended but from personal experince it did very little....I wouldnt wish it upon a kid ..its serious pain which went right up my leg and into the glands in the groin.
When the hot water wasnt working I had my boy run half a Km up the road to a neighbors place who had recently had heart surgery and get some opioids off him...Those combined with sculling a few alcoholic beverages knocked me out for about 15 hrs and I was like new again as if it hadnt even happened..But the pain still persisted until the point that I knocked myself out..its bloody intense...
I know what you mean, been in a few situations and hot water does help in quite a few cases but I suspect with bullrout it might be a case of the brain thinks the pain is reduced due to the difference between the heat applied and the pain from the source. We had a guy who was slashed on the ankle by what we suspect was a stingray crossing a small creek at dusk at Bathurst Bay. We tried hot water but really didn't do anything, We had an offshore first-aid kit stocked with opioids and he was given them and as Scott you've indicated also didn't really do much. I had a bottle of scotch for the trip as we had a birthday coming up for one of the guys.
I made an executive decision and opened it, took a swig handed him the bottle and hold him to have as much as he liked.
Half an hour later we heard no moaning from his tent, looked in, half a bottle gone and he was sound asleep. We finished the bottle and in the morning he woke and was good as gold. I'd found out later that opioids had very little effect on many such marine stings, the hospitals have very specific pain relief medications for it. I was told the combination of opioids and alcohol while not recommended basically put the patient into a catatonic state. He was gratefull in the morning though.
Bathurst bay is such a long way from anywhere Sam..not a good place for that to happen but exactly like you say..the combination of a quick ingestion of alcohol and opoids basically knocked me out cold as well..I didnt even have a hangover or any residual pain the next day because it wasnt a large amount of alcohol but just like sculling down a 6 pack in about half and hour in conjunction with the pills...
I dont have any experience with hard drugs but I suppose the trick is to dose yourself with enough to knock you out but not enough to Overdose and cause potential death....worked out good for me then though...seriously the pain was close to unbearable...
I also wonder if the level of poisoning is also determined by the location and nature of the sting or some protection provided by footwear..
In my case I stood square on top of the litte bugga barefoot and had a row of puncture wounds right in the middle of the bottom of my foot..and afterwards it seemed he unloaded a good amount of venom into me..
I also was fishing at a local rivermouth once with a japanese fella that was staying with us when he came up and said a fish had "bit him"...trying to get to the bottom of it we looked around the are where it happened and I found a Stonefish in a rocky weedy area in the shallows which he had obviously stepped on..there was just a tiny nick in the side of his toe but I set sail back to the ramp and on to the hospital where he just waited around the nursing station for an hour ..they didnt really know anything about it at Tully Hospital but asked him if he wanted some morphine but he declined...said it wasnt all that painfull...
So all I can assume is that it was just a superficial sting where the spines didnt really penetrate or inject a decent dose of venom or else the situation could have been a lot worse.....