Monduran 11 to 13 April - Page 2

Thread: Monduran 11 to 13 April

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Re: Monduran 11 to 13 April

Hey, Brad

You obviously got home OK.

You forgot to mention the big DING in the side of the quintrex.....I found the little twig you hit.....still had paint on it!

Shame I couldn't get back out after the stocking that arvo, it took longer than expected. I will catch up with you soon, I am heading to toowoomba soon.

Peter, yeah..I think you do know that spot.!! doesnt look the same now, still fish there though

cheers steve

Yeah thanks for reminding me about the ding Steve. Bloody submerged logs. I gave it a bang out yesterday and resprayed. Repair job came up alright.

Brian, the BassPro is not until July. I will post a report on the outcome.

For those heading to Monduran soon would be keen to hear how you went.

Well done on the fish mate. Couldn't agree more about the 'confidence Lure'. I have 3 or 4 in my Lure box which I rely on heavily as I know I have the ability to turn the fish on... they have never let me down on any session.

I've heard alot about this 'Bay B'... might have to give it a floggin if Im ever down there

Theo
    TT

The more you cast a 'confidence lure' the closer you are to landing a fish on it which in turn keeps it up there in the 'confidence class'. You may land one or two fish on it during a tough day making the end result a 'successful outing', but there are many ways to measure success. During that day when things were tough it can be highly possible that hidden in your tackle box is a lure or a technique that might catch you 8 fish in that same 'tough session'! Your confidence lures often are the wrong choices for best success. By diversifying fishing methods we end up with '20 more confidence lures to call on', even they can be the wrong ones.
    In any given hour and with any collection of fishing variables there will often be a lure or two that shines above the rest. Two fish could become ten. I do not have a confidence lure as I realise the changing faces of fish and the fickle attitudes that come with. My diaries paint a far out picture.
    Johnny

Thumbs up Re: Monduran 11 to 13 April

Cheers Brad, heading up there over the Anzac weekend, got a couple of scorpions on board, looks like I'll be looking for the warmer bays, then giving them a floggin!!!! Did you have a go at the Bass whilst you were there???? Think between me and Stuart DB, we'll cover both bases and have a crack at both, sounds like the Barra are pretty shut down, has anyone targeted Bass and done alright????? Cheers, Jamie.

Hey Jamie

I threw a spinnerbait a couple of times at what I thought were bass (on the sounder) but to no avail. I mainly threw barra lures though.

I would be keen to know how you went if you targeted bass.

Look forward to a report on how you went.

No worries Brad,

Guess we'll just play it by ear. Will call in and see Foxie on the way up on Thursday, if he's home, to get the latest. Think between me and Stuart DB, one of us will have a go at the Bass with Spinnerbaits and Jackalls (I'm already stressin about all the timber!!!!) whilst the other one chucks larger lures for Barra, or if the Barra are only on in the early hours which is what I've been hearing we might both target bass in the arvo's, will let you know how we go, Cheers for the info, Regards Jamie.