Thread: Sat/Sun at Peel

Sat/Sun at Peel

Has an early morning start on Saturday after a late night umpiring AFL on Friday. Trolled from Wello to Peel for no hits and then threw plastics around the east side of Peel for a few small squire and flathead.

Caught a beautiful 32cm Maori Cod that fought well above its weight (pic attached). Drifted North in the SE breeze and picked up a few marbled whiting (bar-faced weavers) and a grinner. Then chased mac tuna schools for one hook-up and fish lost boatside by KH15.

Went out again Sunday arvo to chase tuna. Second school of mac tuna we chased KH15 hooks up to and lands his first feisty little mac tuna at 40cm (see pic).

We then followed some huge longtails but they were very skittish and we couldn't get into casting range. Headed back to Wello for a dusk drift and immediately got onto a small gold spot cod and a grinner. KH15 missed a couple of big bites that we were calling grassies.

All fish caught on soft plastics except the mac tuna that took a small 10 gram gold slug.

Regs
    Pete (& KH15)
    Last edited by Peter4; 14-04-2008 at 04:32 PM. Reason: added pic

Re: Sat/Sun at Peel

nice work pete. those longy's sure are skittish. we tried to get in front of them a few times but you needed to stay a fair way off to not put them down. and just when you've given up.....they bust up all around you!!
    cheers Roo.

G'day Roo

You must have been close by on Saturday morning.

Man those longtails were bloody huge though - no wonder they were skittish as there were heaps of boats around. We tried approaching from the side, drifting down from the front and motoring in gently from behind but nothing got us close. The mac tunas on the other hand were almost jumping into the boat!

Let me know when you're hitting the bay as I am out there most weekends.

This is my bay (& barra) rig at Horseshoe Bay.

Regs

Last edited by Peter4; 14-04-2008 at 04:30 PM.

What plastics were you using Pete?

Hey Pete,
    I kept a eye out for AF stickers but didn't come across any. Did meet marlin mike at the ramp though, that was a bonus. We decided late saturday to head up to the bay, will get more organized next time, it would be great to catch up. Kyle can teach me how to catch a tuna. My arm is killing me today, all for nothing.
    It was a beautiful day to be on the bay!!
    Cheers Kim.
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Stabin View Post
    What plastics were you using Pete?
    Mostly 5" Gulp jerk shads in Blue Neon Pepper colour with 1/4 jighead. We fished in around 10-12m with a strong tidal flow (hence the heavier jig heads).

Also had some 5" Powerbait jerkshads in a blue/silver colour (can't remember the name) and some 4" electric chickens (caught the Maori Cod on this)!

Tried to fish lighter but current was too strong!

Quote Originally Posted by themissus View Post
    Hey Pete,
    I kept a eye out for AF stickers but didn't come across any. Did meet marlin mike at the ramp though, that was a bonus. We decided late saturday to head up to the bay, will get more organized next time, it would be great to catch up. Kyle can teach me how to catch a tuna. My arm is killing me today, all for nothing.
    It was a beautiful day to be on the bay!!
    Cheers Kim.
    Marlin mike is always at the Cleveland ramp!

Would have loved to say g'day. Maybe next time.

Yep - Kyle has the touch and I, alas, do not!!

Regs