Thread: We would nearly go Hungry

We would nearly go Hungry

Poodroo and I had an early morning flick of the plastics 1st thing around Mud, but the final tally was nothing to write home about let alone a post on Ausfish. The only fish that was worth taking a photo was a 47cm Snap caught by deckie of the day. So if it wasn't for Poodroos' camera skills and one photo to put up, I wouldn't have bothered to do a report. What's happened to the fishing around these parts? Usually we get a bit of a session at some stage of the tide, but it was hard work getting 2 Grassies, 3 Flounder and the forementioned snap. We drifted into one school which the Snap came from, and for a short time we had a double hookup, but I think Poo dropped his. That was rather convenient, he may have been too preoccupied getting the net ready. As quick as we got into some action, they dissappeared again.

It wasn't too bad a day to be on the water, no sense complaining when you could be stuck at home mowing the grass!!

Re: We would nearly go Hungry

Isn't your boat fixed yet and good to see you back bay again...

Noticed flounders are everywhere at the moment, I have caught/seen it on 4 trips staright!

Thanks for the company today Scalem. It was a pleasurable trip, just could have used a few more fish but what I ended up with was just the perfect amount for dinner. The new boat sure is clocking up the hours but that is better than letting it sit in the yard as an expensive ornament. You're welcome in Nauti~Gal any time. It is always good having a deckie who knows the routine and things go like clockwork. Just don't make a habit of outfishing me all the time.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Well Done Boys!

I know what I would rather be doing - housework/mowing the lawns (or in my case 70 sqm of tiling and interior house painting in the last fortnight - even while those couple of lovely fishing days ) or out on the water!

The question does not even have to be asked!

Hope to catch up with you soon!

Janine

Quote Originally Posted by Silent View Post
    Isn't your boat fixed yet and good to see you back bay again...

Noticed flounders are everywhere at the moment, I have caught/seen it on 4 trips staright!
    Boats/ Cars/ expenses are all happening at the same time Silent, so unfortunately the boat repair is on hold temporarily until all the beans are counted.

So you noticed a few flounder around too? They're not bad on the table, but it's a waste trying to fillet them when they are only as thick as a small fillet.

Poodroo, you know there's a trend that seems to be a self initiated hoodoo - around the time you run the challenge between the Nuke Chook and the Lime Tigers the tables start to turn. Only this time you ran out of chooks and I started using my own stash. Go figure..:undecided:

Good to see the good ship nauti-gal getting some use ,your right they make a terrible garden ornament any time on the water is better than mowing the lawn we are on our way out right now hopefully we will have something to post this arvo ,nice pan size snap as well guys ......matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Quote Originally Posted by Herm View Post
    Well Done Boys!

I know what I would rather be doing - housework/mowing the lawns (or in my case 70 sqm of tiling and interior house painting in the last fortnight - even while those couple of lovely fishing days ) or out on the water!

The question does not even have to be asked!

Hope to catch up with you soon!

Janine
    Hi Janine,

At the very least I think we will be catching up at the R2M, just make sure all the work you are doing goes on hold for that. Who knows, by then you might have your own boat license, and GW can stay home and keep the home fires burning. I'll deckie for you any day

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    So you noticed a few flounder around too? They're not bad on the table, but it's a waste trying to fillet them when they are only as thick as a small fillet.
    I would not fillet and just simple cut head & clean gut then put butter on flounder.
    Cook it on electrical frypan & give some lemon pepper to make bad taste away

At least you got out there for a crack at em.

As for whats happening around Mud, don;t know perhaps start to keep a dairy when you go and take note of tide,moon phase,barometer,wind/current,etc. That way it may help future trips.

Avast ye matey!

A diary for Mud now is exactly what you need, I to have found that area touchy at different times of the year. Took me about 3 years to find out where and when for mud. But then again, you think you have it down and occasionally you come back empty handed.

Quote Originally Posted by dogsbody View Post
    At least you got out there for a crack at em.

As for whats happening around Mud, don;t know perhaps start to keep a dairy when you go and take note of tide,moon phase,barometer,wind/current,etc. That way it may help future trips.

Good advice Dave.

Between this year and last year, exactly the same time I think there is one BIG difference, apart from all the rain we've had........ No Jellyfish! This time last year the Snaps were throwing up jellyfish tentacles when they came into the boat. Now theres none around at all.

All theories, back to the drawing board....

Hi Bian, Poodroo,

Flounder are best cooked whole. It may make you feel a bit better to find out that the fish were not biting offshore either.

Frank OO

Thanks Brian for putting up your report. I think it's helpful regardless of whether the fishing was good or bad. It's nice being out on the water and a 47cm specimen makes a tasty meal.

Hopefully some more fish will show up soon with the cooler water. Catch you later mate.
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

We went around our usual haunts and struggled mate, so it wasnt just you. Did hook up to what I thought was a great fish, only to boat a 53cm Morwong!!! DOH!!!