Thread: Late April fools day at Tinaroo

Late April fools day at Tinaroo

Well, did the weekly trek up to Tinaroo on Saturday morning for a couple of hours fishing/relaxation before a rather big weekend of catching up with friends and my old mate "liquid truth". Hit the dam about the usual time of 8.30 and saw Dan5 up in a likely looking haunt in the Barron Arm. When arriving I raised one fish almost immediately on a Boney Bream whilst the sun was gleaming full beam on my erradic lure, however I did not get a very strong vibe on my location. The wind was blowing across this area which is normally quite still and the water temp had dropped by a few degrees than previous visits.

I continued to flog the water for awhile before moving off to have a look around the dam for some different water, and see who else was around. I was surprised to note that I did not see any other fishing boats other than Dan5 and two punters fishing roughly the same region where we where. One of them managed to motor quite loudly and closely past me in an area that I had drifted into with wind assistance to maintain quietness (no electric even), and to be honest really annoyed me. I did not stay long there as stealth is the key to this particular spot.

I came back to original spot to see if I could hook the fish, or one similiar before having to leave and meet my wife at the boat ramp, and did not manage to get a scale into the boat. Unfortunately though I did notice that bait activity had finally started to stir shortly before leaving which annoyed me as the water had also gained in temp in this particular shallow region. Normally this area produces when this happens, especially when turtles are noted as well.

Ah well wasn't meant to be, and no pics for my wall of fame, but has given me something to think about before next weekend, and a different game plan to produce. Will have to wait and see what conditions the dam throws at me, and will make it up on the day.

Cheers Matt

Re: Late April fools day at Tinaroo

I've been dying to say 'nah nah ni nah nah..'
    All in jest of course!!

Simmo,

You must of organised the Aprils fools day hoax for me about fish being in Tinaroo... Just arrived late

G'day Matt, i see it was only 22deg in Atherton today and same forcast for tommorow so you'll have drag out the beenie!

I don't think i'll make it up this weekend to poach your spot's ,good luck if you get up there.

Dan...
    Last edited by Dan5; 08-04-2008 at 10:54 PM.

Phew! It's good to see you're still one of us Matt - that you can do the right things and still come home with nada!

Makes the next visit to Tinaroo even more challenging!

I was up in Cairns last week and was gobsmacked by the changes since my last visit (in 1987!). You truly live in God's country if he/she is a fisherman/woman!.

Regs

spose I could say "any time on the water is good time" or "its not all about catching fish", but we both know thats BS, sounds like a tuff day Matt, falling temps up your way as well, theres been a little nip in the air down here this week.
    brian

Yeah, I really don't mind catching nothing as I obviously did not do something "right" which therefore makes me think of different approaches, especially when my mate came to me yesterday (at work) and showed me his first meterey at 115 (plus a 118 75 and 68 in 3 hour period between two fishos) in a spot that we went on his first trip up there.

Just goes to show that being in the right place at the right time presenting the right lure pays off.

Still, time on the water is better than time on the lounge thinking about it.....I know where I would rather be

yeah thats it matt better then being a lounge slob , if i were you and had a day of no fish there i would just go home and and stroke the pic of that 130 you got awhile ago Craig

Matt,

I brained em yesterday!!!!!!!!!!! Got 10 over a metre.... pause... NOTTTTTTTT!

7am to 6pm spent on the water... fish going off at P/Flats all day long, but were so thick in weed. 4hrs spent throwing a variety of W/less SP's... got frustrated and pissed off to Mazlin and action a plenty up there. Dropped 2 nice fish in succession on Wildeye's at that bank you and I have done well at. Tore around to Barron and also spotted feeding fish and hit them up with the result being 2 soliddd bites but they felt the metal so they didn't come back. Went back to P/Flats and had another crack at em'.... still going off at 3pm... spent another 2hrs hammering the shit out of em' but nothing. So I pissed on them (litterally!) and met Joe up at Mazzie. 12hrs for 2 dropped fish, 2 solid bites and a bit of sunburn (ontop of the Flu!)... will be back out on Friday!!!

Theo

(BR65 - That avatar of yours can't be real... you must be good at that 'Paper Mache' shit Haha! Well done bloody solid fish!
    TT

real deal Theo, fattest fish Ive ever seen, let alone caught

brian