Thread: Chilli Mud Crab on the menu !!!!

Chilli Mud Crab on the menu !!!!

With our usual windy weather returning to again curtail Fishing, it was an opportune time to soak a few pots for a famous QLD Mud Crab !!

We headed out Friday night after work to set our 8 pots around my usual haunts in the area of the mouth of the Brisbane river. , "The Plane Boss the Plane"
    Saturday morning on the high tide was time to go back and check our succes (or failure).

First pot, it's loaded !!!! 3 keepers, all hard shells with rusty patches on underbelly, choka block full !! Gota love the sight of a "Skull & Cross Bones" on the underside of the crab, something to look for when selecting a good crab.
    We continue through the string of pots, dispatching more keepers and sending heaps of Fantails and undersize back for the future.
    7 great crabs for the first day ! leave pots again till sunday and score a couple more keepers.
    4 pots are left out for Sunday and finally collected Monday night for 4 more keepers.

Glad to see a few rusty bucks still about although I'm a bit crabbed out after 4 days playing in the mud .

Think there might be Crabs Natural & Chilli Mud Crab on the menu this week ????

Craigie.

Sorry Mike (Igutso), will line you up next time mate.

Re: Chilli Mud Crab on the menu !!!!

Gday craigie, i understand that the cross on the underbelly means that he has mated & the cross is a rub mark from the Ginny's back!!!. Well done & i'm gunna get me some of them crabs tomoz.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

some serious crab envy going on here craigie, top work. What sort of pots are you running?

RB
    searchin' for my lost shaker of salt

Great work there mate, just think there is over $200 sitting in that green tub. That along with the great feed you will get from them makes it worth while crawling around in the mud.

Nice stuff.

Cheers Callum

must be a few round everywhere,chucked 4 rect. collapsibles in this arv while having a fish for whiting and got 3 good ones. nice going...........

Well done Craigie, there's a few good chilli mud crab sittings in them!!!

Must try and catch up for a bream fish at some stage and I think youmay still have a shirt for me???

No worries mate, nice haul there, give me a yell if you need some chilli

mike
    Tangles KFC

hey craigie could i have your chilli crab recipe please. I would like to try something new

Quote Originally Posted by BayDog View Post
    hey craigie could i have your chilli crab recipe please. I would like to try something new

Have you had a look at the recipe section here?

Top haul and I'm envy with chilli face

What was bait?

Bar-up, Yes mate I have heard that about the rub marks, looks like some of this lot have been shagging themselves silly

Red-Bull,

Please see pics re pots I use. 3 types went out last weekend.
    The orange one (also comes in blue) is made by a local guy who lives around the corner. around $35. has built in bait bag which is a great feature, no need to handle dirty rotten bait when packing up to go home. H/duty trawl mesh, 800m Dia .

The blue one is an import, around $20 each, cheaper if you buy 4. These are not the Cheepy CHEEPY BBCCFF models, mesh is slightly stronger and rings are slightly heavier, so not bad value when you pay $50 -60 for 4 (will need to shop around for that kinda price).
    works well also but my least favoured of the 3 types I use, also 800m dia. I have tried them in 40 foot water in central Bay and they didn't float away with the tide.

Third pot, large purple mesh is the new Crabngear pot. 1m Diam. Looking at $55 each. 4 entrance, awesome pots !!! Caught about the same number of crabs as the first pot mentioned. Suspect this one will work a treat on the deepwater sandies. It's extra size and weight will be a bonus in stronger currents.

Yes Paul, Chilli Muddies will be the last 4 crabs yet to be cooked !!!
    We will have a Bream fish at the M&G, if not sooner if we can tee it up. I'll check the tides for mid to late May. So what Size shirt were you again, just in case the other one got snapped up by someone else ??? Looking foward to a few drinks together at the Touchy M&G.

Thanks Mike, I'll keep the Chilli in mind. Maybe I can target a few muddies prior to the M&g, so we have a couple to start us off at Jacob's well .

Now to look up that Chilli Crab Recipe

Craigie.

Thats one of the best hauls in the MB region that I have seen for quite

nice work mate!! can I ask what benefit there is in tying them up rather than putting them in an ice slurry?

just thought I would bump this back up to see if some1 could answer my question for me!

Az

Quote Originally Posted by Az View Post
    nice work mate!! can I ask what benefit there is in tying them up rather than putting them in an ice slurry?
    My understanding is that Muddies are trussed because they will survive out of the water for days. Putting them in an ice slurry will put them to sleep and kill them. Trussing them makes them easy to handle and stops them fighting etc.

Muddies taste best if kept alive until just before they are cooked. I put mine in the freezer for 30 minutes before they go into the cooking pot.