The Long and Winding Road to Koombooloomba

Thread: The Long and Winding Road to Koombooloomba

The Long and Winding Road to Koombooloomba

After dropping in to check out Koombooloomba Dam some months ago during a road trip, and reading reports here, Nic and I were keen to give it a go. One deterent was the hike from Townsville as all we had was a weekend, but thought we'd go anyway.

I thought there was only one way in and out from TVL, but my Navman F20 told me to turn left between Cardwell and Tully. This 'short cut' brought us out in the Tully Gorge, involved one dodgy creek crossing due to a bridge having been washed away and ended up at a locked gate at the Misty Mountains! It added two hours to the trip, and saw us back tracking to the Bruce Hwy. On a positive note, I stopped on a bridge along the way and spotted stacks of JPs in a pristine stream. Will definitely go back and explore that.

We arrived at Koombie at 7pm after leaving TVL at midday. Set up camp, had a feed then crashed.

Next morning we rose with the sun. We had no idea of where to head and decided on a nice looking arm with good snags along the bank, still shaded from the morning sun.

Here we got our first sooty on a C'ultiva surface lure. We persisted for a while then moved further up the arm where Nic got a 39cm specimen on a Jackall Mask Vibe. Further up this arm we found a great spot with a creek in-flow. No fish but a beautiful spot.

We tried numerous other likely looking spots with nil return so we found a spot out of the wind (it was cool, something I'm not used to in NQ) and had lunch.

I was keen to find where the Tully enters the dam, so we set off on a search. We didn't find it, but we did find another 11 sooties in a great part of the dam with fallen timber bank side and steep cut away banks that provided the perfect sooty hang out.

Nic was still using the Jackall and I had tied on a spinnerbait. First cast with the spinnerbait, the lure was bumped and nudged several times. Next cast it was slammed and a 39cm sooty was soon boatside. Nic soon followed with a 39cm sooty too. We went on to catch another nine sooties ranging from 20cm to the 39cm mark. We didn't find any barra, though with our limited time there didn't really target them either.

With the dam littered with timber at waterline, we headed back to camp at a slow pace arriving at 4pm. By 5pm the camp was packed and we were back on the road. The run home, going the right way was 360km and took us five hours. We were both stuffed when we got home, but the trip was worth it.

Next time we'll go for a couple of nights and explore this great waterway more thoroughly. Hope you enjoy the pics.

Re: The Long and Winding Road to Koombooloomba

Couple more pics...
    Last edited by Alchemy; 07-04-2008 at 07:53 PM.

another excellent report dave and some ripper photos thanks for showing, cheers bdowdy..brett

good stuff mate,looks like a great spot to fish, based on the scenery alone, then toss in some hard pulling, lure munchin sooties, gotta be happy with that
    brian

With spots like this ..... No wonder they call OZ "The lucky country"

Thanks for the report & pics Dave

Nagg

Great report, and awesome pics as well. Love the one with the sooty just about at the surface, with the spinnerbait in it's mouth.

Quote Originally Posted by tiges View Post
    Great report, and awesome pics as well. Love the one with the sooty just about at the surface, with the spinnerbait in it's mouth.
    Thanks –- our philosophy is, take enough pics and you're bound to end up with some OK ones! It's a great waterway but by god, it's one hell of a drive from T'ville! Next trip might have to be a long weekender.

It's a pretty place alright, didn't know there were so many fish to chase. My wife and I have been thinking about heading down without the boat for an overnight camp to introduce out daughter to the idea but were worried the water has came up so much we wouldn't be able to set up camp within cooee of the dam and be forced to setup in the regulated hoons playground up above.

Worth a trip down for us in your experience?

thanks fnq

It's great to see another Koombaloomba fan. those are some fantastic photos and fish! It's a shame you couldn't find the Tully, but it didn't stop you catching fish. It's a great spot and we hope to see you on the dam sometime.

Regards Cameron

Dave,

My son Kyle typed the above and forgot that I was logged on, he is the Koomba Kid and me just the driver.

It would have been a bit of a haul from Townsville, especially with the detour, did you end up going up the Palmerston through Milla Milla?

The Tully River inflow can be a little hard to find especially with the water level as high as it is, much easier with a lower level as you can follow the treeline most of the way. We had the same problem the first time we went by ourselves, totally lost however met up with a camper without a boat who new the dam very well and took us for a run to the Tully, funnily enough we had almost stumbled across it earlier in the day and only needed another 5 minutes however decided to turn around in despair. A track in the GPS helps especially with the changing water levels.

It is such a large expanse of water that you can spend days just exploring and it seems the fish are pretty well scattered across the place which helps.

Give yourself a few days to explore, the barra are there however dislike me with a Passion. but the sooties make the day for us.

Regards Cameron.

How nice was that ??? Well done

great report again guys, NQ definitely has some pictures fishing spots...

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Beaut report Dave and Nic.......matched equally by the class of photos....a cut above the rest. What camera are you running?

Cheers and well done.

Thanks for the replies.

FNQ, you would have to be a lot closer than us, so definitely give it a go. Particularly if you have access to a tinnie. We camped up the top, and found it a good spot to be under the trees. Only two or three other camps there. Next time I'll have a look for a more out of the way spot along the dam though.

Kyle/Cameron, yes we are Koombie converts. Really is a top spot. After our diversion we got back onto the Bruce at Tully then up the Palmerston at Innisfail and via Milla Milla. I read somewhere on here about a back track. Do you have any info on that? Next time we'll go with more time and find the Tully. I wasn't that well prepared for this trip as I'd been out of town for work the week prior. After we got home I googled the dam and found what I suspect to be the Tully in-flow. I'll let you know next time we're going and if you happen to be there we'll say g'day.

F4L and LGM, if you get the chance go and have a look.

Big Ren. The camera is a Canon G9 (12.1mp), with a Canon underwater housing. I have an extra fast 8GB SD card, which greatly assists with taking pics underwater with the camera set on continuous shoot mode. I get about two shots per second. To get one good underwater shot we probably take 20 others. Basically lean over the side of the boat, point and hold the button down. Have a look at the results and try again if necessary. We ended up with 250 odd pics from that trip alone!

Thanks for posting such good quality photos that are a pleasure to view. I always thought that very high resolution cameras where not a great advantage when just viewing over the internet. What resolution do you take them at and what do you bring them back to for posting Dave? - Richard