Thread: Top to Bottom

Top to Bottom

There's not to many creeks or rivers around Mackay where you can fish from the fresh water reaches through to the estuary in 3.5-4m tinnys; usually rock bars, weirs, a narrow section choked with snags, or some other obstruction gets in the way.

After the recent summer rains gave the region’s waterways a long awaited flushing and with winter slowly starting to take grip some mates and I though it would be a good opportunity to see how one of our favorites faired before things start to slow down.

With six vehicles loaded the seven of us (yeh... we did our bit for earth hour) left Mackay at 5 am on sat and arrived at our camp just after dawn, a quick juggle of the trailers between the 4B's and we had the boats in the water. up river we headed, fishing the old faithful rock bars and freshly scoured banks we managed a dozen or so jacks between the boats and a few small barra. By mid morning we had reached the top of what is usually the upper most pool. Knowing that there is a substantial pool upstream and that the moderate flow coming down the river may provide passage past the barrier, we motored the boats up to the base of a small set of rapids. A quick inspection and a niceish sized jack later (courtesy of a little eddie and mellaluca tree) we pushed the boats up and continued on. We fished to the top of that pool and the next but only managed a couple of jacks and some more small barra. We worked our way back to camp catching some small jacks with Richard's boat picking up a nice flattie, but fishing was relatively slow.

After lunch and a few cold ones we got back to the business at hand, fishing the pool in front of camp and a short distance downstream we picked up another dozen or so jacks and one small barra. Night was creeping in and so were the midgies, back to camp for dinner and to discuss the game plan for the next day. After a few more it was decided that we fish our way downstream to the mouth knowing farewell that there is a number of rapids between here and there and low tide was at noon.

The next morning the boats headed off fishing downstream, several jacks were caught on surface lures early but again things were pretty slow. As the two smaller boats worked their way past the first rapid Matty and his quinny were still fishing in front of the camp. A good number of bream and some reasonable jacks were caught along the rockwall of this pool before we continued past the next rapid. At this stage of the tide the ride was easy going but we were not looking forward to the trip back. Unfortunately all the sand that was washed out of the top pools seemed to have been deposited in the estuary. We worked our way to the mouth with a few more jacks and bream but most of the holes had become quite shallow. working our way back we got another nice jack a few bream and a single barra, we managed to get back to the rapids at the perfect time (dead low) so we pushed the boats up the two smaller sets to find Matty and the quinny at the bottom of the big rapid. It was all hands on deck as we pushed the boats up one by one. Pretty buggered we headed back to camp, packed up and headed home.

All in all the fishing was relatively quite considering there was seven people, but we did get a few good ones and got to fish a new reach of the river, and that’s always a good experience.

The Score (about):
    50 jacks (to 40 cm)
    10 Barra (to 45 cm)
    Over 20 bream (to 35 cm)
    2 flatties (to 60 cm)
    And a handful of tarpon here and there

The Lures:
    Most jacks came on small poppers and stick baits (sure catch 40 and zipp n ziggy) early morn and late arvo, in between small minnows (rippin minnow, fat minnow, flatz rats and some others)
    Barra were caught on same minnows and one small one came on a wriggler
    Bream were on minnows and a couple on softies
    Flatties on softies

Thanks for reading,

Trent

Here’s some photos, Matty and Richard may add some more

Re: Top to Bottom

awsome report dude
    figjam :wink:

Great Stuff seems a few good days fishing there.

Great report - thanks for posting
    Cheers Freeeedom

Powert - welcome to Ausfish and thanks for posting a superb report.
    What a fantastic trip, something many of us dream about!
    Great to see a mob of blokes getting out and doing it, looks like all the effort involved was well worthwhile.

Unreal report mate!
    Good numbers of jacks by the sounds of it and a healthy system!
    What sort of distance is it between the upper limits of the fresh and the estuarys?

what a sensational fishing trip . great report and pics.

Great looking location and some great jack photos

As a bay boy from brissy i can only dream of a place like that with so many jacks and barra. I am still a jack and barra virgin but all these photos make me want to go. Damb i forgot my father has just gone on a 1 week trip up to the cape into one of those large rivers for those very fish. Oh well have to keep catchin snapper until i get my lucky break. Well done all of you lucky buggers.

Great report mate loved the detailed accont certainly caught my eye and what a great trip, hope to see more in the future looks like you had everything come together .......................matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Great report and a fantastic trip. congrads to you and your mates for makeing it happen. It doesn't get any better than that,Cheers

Thanks for the replies guys,

Quote Originally Posted by mattooty View Post
    Good numbers of jacks by the sounds of it and a healthy system!

It is one of the more productive waterways of the region, largely due to the reasonable fish passage throughout the system. It's a shame to see the affect of barriers in so many of our creeks and rivers, with reduced diversity in the freshwater reaches and in many cases a reduction in overall productivity.

There is however, a few diamonds among the rough... if you know where to look ...

Some more photos - there was certainly no shortage of jacks this trip...

You can also see it's very handy to have a few friends along to help you over the shallow sections...

Richard

and some more

the medium sized flattie managed to get down an unweighted 7" jerk shad. also the bigger bream weren't afraid to hit 9cm lures, mainly the gold coloured Rippn Minnow

As we came up to the rock wall in the picture, I said to Paul in the boat "this looks like jack territory". First cast at it had four little bugger come out at my lure before a much bigger model came out and bullied the others out of the way and grabbed it.

Great fishing !

Richard