Thread: Baffle Creek

Smile Baffle Creek

G'day,am hoping to spend a week or ten days camping at Baffle creek during april,& having trouble deciding to stay at Camp stay or Bobs C'van park.I intend to fish from a 3.4 mtre tinny 15hp outboard & electric mtr.Fairly mobile but understand creek is rocky in places restricting speed til I get to know the place.Can anybody recommend which would be the best??

Re: Baffle Creek

I was up there just after christmass and stayed at Camp stay. I found this camp site to be the most beautiful well layed out camping grounds I have ever been to. The owners were top people to boot who gave us a mud map of the creek (they are on oyster creek witch runs into the baffle). We did have a drive through bob's site but it looked very basic with very little trees around. One other thing that I believe puts camp stay ahead of bob's is that they are like next door to the only pub up that way and convenience store!! (pub does lunch and dinners too) very handy thats for sure. anyways got soe pics if your interested i can post.

Brandon..

PS: you will get more replys for this if you post it within the saltwater chat area

mate i went there with brandon and i agree that baffle creek camp stay is the way to go there is a little side creek that you can leave your boat in right in the camp groun (near the powerd sites) there is also cooking and cleaning and laundy there . i got the map here somewhere ill have a look for it because it will help you heaps . oyster creek is a good size creek , probly a bit bigger than the pine .

[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]
    here's a few pics , we had a bit of trouble trying to get info on baffle creek here , so if i can help any more let me know . scoota and roz are from around the erea so they might be able to help you with whats getting caught up there at the moment .
    Attachment 24284
    This is the mud map the camp ground gives you (laminate a copy before you go it will help read it easyer in the boat ).
    Attachment 24285
    Here is a finger mark my son got up there (at horse shoe bend)
    Attachment 24287
    kitchen area has a gas stove , sink , plates , cutlery , fridges/freezers and a microwave .
    Attachment 24288
    this is the comunal fire pit were you can also cook and have a chat with other campers about what you did or didnt catch in the day over a few cold drinks . also you can see the little side creek in the back ground where you park your boat .

i think it was about 25 bucks a night to pitch a tent in a powerd site for me , brandon and my son , the non powerd sites are cheaper but they are further away (across the otherside of the creek) from the kitchen and stuff there are also cabins that i think are about 60 bucks a night , i will probly get a cabin next time i go there . Any way give gail and peter ( really nice owners) a call and they will tell you ever thing you want to know .

wife and i visited bobs place bob was spread on a lounge chair there was uncovered meat on a bench ,office etc was full of flies wife refused to even get out of car lol when back to other camp where the office shop is aircon screens on windows lovey helpful staff no contest lol

i posted on ur other thread mate

Totaly agree with Nico. The camp stay is the best camp ground set-up u are likely to come across. Its also on the best strech of the creek if ur keen on the jacks.

it is still fairly fresh/dirty at the camp stay. we found fishing from flat rock boat ramp towards the mouth better with jack, flatties and queenfish on the go. there were also same whiting round.

Gday mate, im a local to the bundy area and have been fished the Baffle twice in the last week. Ive never used the camping facilitys where you mentioned so i cant help you there. Chewy01's right, the salt is only just up past bottle creek towards the islands, but from there back to the mouth its starting to clear up. There are plenty of fish around the mouth good bream, cod and flathead all hiding in the snags. Pumping for yabbies last sunday notice 2 flathead lies from the high tide, one was about 70cm long, the other about 85cm. Anyway good luck with your mission.
    Bag em 'n' Tag em,
    Gumbo1

a lot of people there say surfice lures are the go on the jacks , but there wernt very active on the surface when we were there , we tried sp's hb's and had no luck most of the fish my son got were on live hearing except for a little jack he got on sp . A couple of other blokes there useing livies at the mouth of oyster creek (where it joins onto baffle) early morning and late afternoon/night fishing the rock s got about 9 40-55ish jack and 3 fingermarks and a 60ish cod over a week .