Thread: Raymarine c80

Raymarine c80

Can someone tell me what the raymarine c80 gps, sounder and radar combo is like, is it any good and relitivly easy to use?

cheers tassie JR

Re: Raymarine c80

G'day Tassie,
    i am currently using a c120 gps/sounder. i dont currently have radar but even as a sounder/ plotter combo it is brilliant. very easy to use with great results. i am only running a 600watt transducer and still reading the bottom with life being displayed in 150meters of water. good luck with it all.

Thanks for that hyjack its just the info i wanted.

cheers tassie JR

Mate I am running the C70 (same unit smaller screen) and it is awesome to use. I am yet to run it as a sounder but in the next 12 months I will get the "black box" for it but for now its just a plotter

The other thing is the service from Raymarine Australia has been out standing ... I am VERY happywith there support.

the raymarine c series is a good unit and raymarine are very helpful with any probelms . i have the c70 which has been good except for a couple of the soft keys not working which turned out to be corrosion starting to form on the micro switches . i would advise caution when cleaning the face and keep in mind where you are placing the unit in relation to it getting wet .

the use of importing / exporting waypoints between the pc and the raymarine can be a bit quirky at times but tends to work ok . the software is free from raymarine for that .

i havent hooked the raydome up yet and i would be interested in your feedback when you get it up and running .

mark

We are presently installing a C120 unit with a 1KW tranny at the moment. We will fit the Radar dome if the wind drops a little. Screen detail in sounder may not be quite as good as the Furuno 585 but its a great unit
    Last edited by Horse; 05-04-2008 at 08:32 AM.

I have a C80 and I am wrapped in its performance. I have the integrated radar which is very comforting when travelling around at night.

If I had my time over again I would have a separate sounder though, nothing wrong with the digital sounder in the C80 it too is magnificent, just a bit fiddly going from one screen to the other all the time. You can split the screen in many combinations but that gives you small screens again.

PM if you want to come and have a look.

- Darren

Well thanks fellas for the replies, we are currently looking at a boat with 1 installed in it. We took the boat for a run thursday and was rapped in the performance of the unit, the only drama was the previous owner had a man over board put in it somewhere and we couldnt find it and it beeped at us for the whole test and by the time we got back we still couldnt work out how to delete it. And we was rapped in the radar it will be real handy at night time.

hey horse let me know how the 1 kw tranny performs, this one on the has the standard 600w p66 tranny.

And thanks for the offer darren, if we end up getting the boat, we might have to get you to show us a few things about it.

cheers tassie JR
    Last edited by Tassie JR; 06-04-2008 at 08:15 PM.

Press and hold the MOB (man overboard) button to cancel the MOB alert.

- Darren

Quote Originally Posted by Tassie JR View Post
    Can someone tell me what the raymarine c80 gps, sounder and radar combo is like, is it any good and relitivly easy to use?

cheers tassie JR
    Three of the bigger tourist boats here were fitted with the e 120 units, and they pulled the complete system out only after a few months and went furuno, They had too many little things going wrong with there units, Of course everything had been fixed under warranty, but i suppose beacuase they are on the water everyday then any little fault is a real pain for them,

They have not had any problems with there furuno Gear

thanks mick and darren.

cheers tassie JR