Hey nice catch...the red in the cod really stands out and looks awesome...
Geez I'm feeling crook tomorrow too, but the stupidist thing I EVER did was introduce my boss to Ausfish and now he's a member, so if I end up being "that crook" there's no way I'll be posting. Even then, too many AF members know my boat, so I'm screwed!!!!!
Nice Cod ....
LoL
I think you have inspired me, I may be very sick myself in a week or 2
You are right though, you have most of the water, ramp and spot x's to yourself during the week
If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?
I was at the scarborough boat ramp about 5 weeks ago, a boatie asked me what I had landed. Without me asking him, he proudly lifted a 5 and a half kilo coral trout from his esky. He was fishing in the bay. Hopefully we will see more of these critors around our neck of the woods.
I dont know for sure but is it a coronation trout??
that was what i first thought when i opened the page
Ahhhhh, To be young and Free
Definitely a coral cod, catch them all the time up here when I'm on the reef, very tasty too.
Cobia Kid, the coronation trout as you have pictured has a crescent tail, where as the cod has a convex tail. Also, you will notice that the cod has no yellow, its almost entirely that bright red, a very pretty looking fish.
Thanks scott your right the tail gave it away , there has been some unusual catches around the last couple of years maybe there are some bonuses for us with the global warming thing ,or is it just better styles of fishing such as the placcies . I have never caught such a wide variety of species since i turned to plastics ....matt
A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......
Hey there Matt, nothing wrong with a bit of fishing therapy to make us feel well. Should be more of it. Dont worry about getting the sack we might exercise a bit of "OUT THE GATE FOR 48" & see if that fixes things like we used to.
Last edited by BAR UP; 03-04-2008 at 08:14 PM.
"We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
"Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"
coral cod ,note the tail. cheers alex
I think it might be a gold spot cod. Caught one at flat rock just like it a few years back.
There is a lot of that sickness going around, it usually hits when there
is a 5-10 knot forcast for some unknow reason.
Yeah barup i am with you good to see the tide turning if you know what i mean e.b.as should be interesting this year mate not worried about the sack though as long as i keep taking the big fella his snapper heads and what are sickies for[cough ,cough]. Saltyd its definately not a gold spot ,caught a heap of those mate .....matt
A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......
Those fish love big live prawns.
I call them coaral trout.
Fish markets will call them that as well.
They have greeny blue bones that are a triangular shape.
I caught a 3.5kg version of the same fish under the cape. Very tasty in a weber.
Uhmm I do not know what the Trevally species is maybe a crossbred?
Cheers Tom