Thread: One for the Tarp Guru's

One for the Tarp Guru's

Gents, (oops and ladies ) i was hoping to glean some info in regards to setting up camp tarps. I have a 20 x 24 tarp which is used to shelter our tent as well as give some living space and keep things dry when it rains and to provide shade. I currently use a pole every second hole (will be using one every hole next trip) and also have two ridge poles for support. My question is - how do you set yours up? What I mean is do you start at one end and work your way down or start in the middle and work out or what? I have been using the ridge pole as a starting point in the middle of the tarp and then working out from there but was wondering what others do and if there is a better (or quicker) way. We have two people to set up the tarp so bear that in mind as the 2 and four year olds arent much help yet I look forward to hearing from other tarp pitchers and sharing some ideas.

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

Re: One for the Tarp Guru's

G'day mate!
    I start at the back two corners, then the front two corners, then put the middle ones up with a spanning pole across the middle. I then put a pole in every other hole in the tarp. I use double ropes on all corners, and the middle poles. Those spring things that you can put on your pegs to allow some movement are the best things ever made.
    Hope this helps!
    Lunatic

Gday Scott there's a setting up tarp thread on page 2 mate.

Avast ye matey!

I peg out diagnally opposite corners first, once you have two up the tarp will support itself.

I have a 30' x 36' tarp that we used to call the tarp mahal. I would start at the corners and then put up all the poles around the sides. Then I had a heap tof poles joined together to form a ridge through the middle. Once I had the ridge up I would then go around and tighten all the side poles up. Used to take a while with a lot of swearing and cursing, but once it was up it was like a brick dunny.

Kezza

Lunatic, thanks for that I was thinking along those lines, yeah the double ropes are the go for sure on the corners. You look pretty comfy in that pic too mate!

Dave - Ive read the other thread but just had a couple of extra q's thanks though!

Andy Im not sure I can do it that way with the size of my tarp but will have a look thanks for the idea.

Kezza, Im starting to think that your way might be the way to go with the bigger tarp, another question though, do you put your poles up to full height first or just sort of work your way up as you go. I have two 24ft ridge poles which go accross the middle of the tarp and I had been using these as the start point but man are they heavy and awkward to set up. I think the start at the end way might be a goer though.

Thanks for all the replies so far guys!

Cheers and beers

Yeah spot on, just get the poles standing up first then when everythings right start lifting them all

Kezza

Hey Scott
    This is a quick run down on how i set my tarp up.
    First i lay the tarp out then slide the ridge pole under tarp.
    Next i knock all the pegs in about 5 ft out from the tarp then place all the poles where they are going to go.Grab the better half to help with putting the centre poles up then she can be off looking after the kids while you finish setting the tarp up.I then put the corner poles in then work from the centre out then once everything is in place it is just a matter of some adjustments totighten everything up.
    Make sure the esky is at a level where the kids can gain access to supply you with refreshments whilst all this hard work is going on.

Cheers Dazza

Hey Daz I know what you mean about the esky! Only problem is my little bloke likes beer almost as much as i do and he gets all stroppy when i try to take MY beer off him!!
    I have been doing much as you describe insofar as sliding the ridge poles under and starting in the middle but its a really big tarp and its bloody heavy and awkward to lift in the centre first.
    I like the idea of pre knocking in the pegs though, will give that a burl for sure.

Cheers and Beers

Quote Originally Posted by lunatic View Post
    G'day mate!
    I start at the back two corners, then the front two corners, then put the middle ones up with a spanning pole across the middle. I then put a pole in every other hole in the tarp. I use double ropes on all corners, and the middle poles. Those spring things that you can put on your pegs to allow some movement are the best things ever made.
    Hope this helps!
    Lunatic
    You should whack those pegs all the way in ya Lunatic

Saves breaking a toe on one in the dark, holds better in the sand the still come out easy.

Lay your tarp out.
    Start at one corner, and drive your pegs home.
    Slide the pole into the D ring and the guy rope.
    Lean the pole in towards the centre of the trap, this will now support it self.
    Move to the next corner and repeat.
    Then the last two corners, each time leaning the pole into the centre of the tarp.
    Tension the guy ropes to pull the poles up.
    Fit in the other guy ropes and poles.
    Tension the whole lot.
    Drink beer (this one could be anywhere in the ordered list J )

where do you get the center pole from? and also the long ridge /spreader poles? cheers shano!

All good camping stores should have em Shano

Bungie great info there mate thanks heaps! ( i will pay particular attention to the drink beer instruction )
    Shano, I dont use a centre pole just the two 24ft ridge poles. Got them from Anaconda but most camping places will have them.

Cheers and Beers

Smile Re: One for the Tarp Guru's

Quote Originally Posted by Argle View Post
    Gents, (oops and ladies ) i was hoping to glean some info in regards to setting up camp tarps. I have a 20 x 24 tarp which is used to shelter our tent as well as give some living space and keep things dry when it rains and to provide shade. I currently use a pole every second hole (will be using one every hole next trip) and also have two ridge poles for support. My question is - how do you set yours up? What I mean is do you start at one end and work your way down or start in the middle and work out or what? I have been using the ridge pole as a starting point in the middle of the tarp and then working out from there but was wondering what others do and if there is a better (or quicker) way. We have two people to set up the tarp so bear that in mind as the 2 and four year olds arent much help yet I look forward to hearing from other tarp pitchers and sharing some ideas.

Cheers and Beers
    Scott,
    there are 2 ways i set up a tarp. firstly, poles are good but tripping over all those ropes in the middle of the night after a good session can be an embarrasing talking point for the rest of the trip. so if you are around trees, i use a long ass rope to go from one tree to another, as high up as you can.
    the let the loop hang down onto the ground and lay your tarp over it, preferably with an eye at each of the tarp on the rope. thread a small piece of rope through one of the eyes, and and tie it to the large rope. thread another piece of rope to the other eye. this one should be long enough to reach a tree to adjust the tension.
    now...pull on the big ass rope, and your tarp will be hoisted up. use a truckies knot to secure the big ass rope. now with the other peice of rope coming from the eye, run it over to the tree and pull on it to adjust your tension.
    you know have what looks like a cutain. now, you have a choice depending on how many trees are around to run small ropes through every other eye and adjust the tension to trees.
    mate 9 times out of ten this is the way i do it. it sounds like a lot of work, but it really isn't. once you have the 'curtain' up, the rest is just adjusting between beers! this method saves tripping over guy ropes, and yelling at the kids to stop swinging off the ropes!