Thread: Where should i mount GPS/Sounder?

Where should i mount GPS/Sounder?

Gidday,
    I have a seajay 4.75 open tinnie, Tiller steer,

It has 2 seats and a 120L eskie mounted in the middle of the floor, and i'm Getting a cubbyhouse built upfront too hide the safty gear and too mount the GME sing sing radio and vhf,

But I think the sounder and gps would be too far too see from the back of the boat,

The sounder was mounted on the back seat, was a bit hard too read and got a bit too wet for my liking on the weekend (got choppy when we were 12mile out)

My bum is still red raw! so ive got a trimmer making me up some padded seats so mounting it back on the seat is out of the question!

Does anyone have any photos? or idea's where too mount them? Out of the way but functional!

Thanks!! Any input would be great
    Ian,

Re: Where should i mount GPS/Sounder?

Ian I always mounted them on the side pockets of the boat approximately close to my right knee . it was sheltered there and easy to read because it is close to the driving position . the only problem I found here was if other people wanted to see the sounder it was hard for them to see
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

Here is a pic too show my drama!! Sorry its so grubby

I wish it did hav a pocket! maybe i could get my mate too fold me one up and weld it on? I'm worryed about it getting kicked or steped on?
    Some of my mates are rough!

I allso need a bait board, I'd love one over the outboard like on a center console, but it might be a bit hard too reach over the seat!! Dam!!! wish i just got a center console!!!

Hi Ian, what about a swivel type bracket ( TV Type ) mounted on the side of the boat ? Then get some covers made from clear plastic !!! Just an idea i toyed with when i had my tinny......

mate when i had my tinnie i had the sounder and gps mounted off the side about the hieght of my knee worked great. and as for the bait board get an old chopping board and some sticky back velcro and stick it on your esky with a bucket hanging off the side to put everything in when your on the move. that way you can take the board off when you just want the esky.
    cheers shayne.

G'day mate,
    I have mine mounted on a ram mount and its the ducks guts, you can move it to anywhere or angle that is convenient at the time. Ram mounts are the best thing in the world and so easy to adapt to most situations. Why were they not around 20 years ago??

[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 24123

Attachment 24124

Attachment 24125

i had this made for my seajay had it made up from a carboard template i made up

the arm fold back under the gunnel and it now has a smoke colored perspex cover on the back for some protection from the sun and water

the white box is water proof and has my bus bar and all the wires

works well and is out of the way

i also have a plate of alloy that sits over the lot and i can lock it on just to keep unwanted hands away

Wow! nice setups! Espsh you scottygc!!
    I'll see what my fab mate thinks about making me up something like that!,
    I'm also toying with a little console infront of the eskie, Very thin, but high enough too see the gps and keep it out of kick zones!,

Will the little navman gps's work under a thin 2mm? bit of ally?
    too keep a bit of sun off it?

some nice ideas there I have mine mounted on the back seat does get very wet though, but it has been there for 5 years and still running (its even been drowned twice when the boat got swampped) a friend of mine has a alloy box welded to the seat and side of the hull makes it a lot healthier environment for the sounder. just open the box when you want to use it.

Quote Originally Posted by Paradoxx View Post
    Wow! nice setups! Espsh you scottygc!!
    I'll see what my fab mate thinks about making me up something like that!,
    I'm also toying with a little console infront of the eskie, Very thin, but high enough too see the gps and keep it out of kick zones!,

Will the little navman gps's work under a thin 2mm? bit of ally?
    too keep a bit of sun off it?
    I could be wrong but I don't think your gps will work under the metal.

I also have mine mounted on RAM mounts like tunaticer, and by FAR the best idea.

Had a vertical piece of 25mm tube welded from gunnel to inside chine, and then ram mounts to that

Thanks guys

I had a quick chat with my fab mate but left it upto him!, He builds flash plate boats so i'm sure he will make a nice cubby house for my tinnie !!!
    Thanks again, Some top settups!!!