Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Metereys at Tinaroo

Re: Metereys at Tinaroo

Great report Matt - nice fish mate!

Barrabundy - Mate, you make me laugh! Why? Because I could bet everything I own on where you fished that weekend and got all those meteries with Nev. One of mates use to do a hell of alot with Nev and they ONLY fished one particular point every single outing and without fail would get 2 or 3 solid fish. He is a dam good bloke, who loves his Reidys! Well done on all those fish that weekend, and may you hit up that Point again (F#*! he loves that Point!)

Theo
    TT

Theo, so it's the same Nev huh?? Little Lucifer with standard trebles??

Blacksheep i lived there all my life but just moved not long ago to nrtn nsw to help a mate out managing his shop.Miss my barra fishing but trying to figure out these murray cod.Caught a few in the rivers but none in the dams.Nev is the bloke who was catching 1m plus barra on those lucifers.Seen a few get caught,the hooks seem to dig in and not bend.I do know joe to,nice bloke.If you get a day when the weather is no good on the dam ask joe to take you sootie fishing around the creeks west of atherton[20minnn drive] fun on light tackle .

Theo-good spot heh,sorry to say but i didnt catch all those fish at that point when i was up late last year.It was the point opp pelican point.The one you drive around going back towards tinaburra.By the way, i well take what you own now.ha..ha. cheers cade.

HaHa! Well I was kinda right, wasn't I? I have seen him there many times, but when he and Joe use to go out, they would only visit one place... that Point! Nev should built a Shack of sorts there and make it his Holiday Home!

You know the point Im talking about though... was there this morning... managed a few Rats and got some good bites from much bigger fish (plenty of large Bait scurrying around too!). Always seems to hold large fish.

As for that one on the otherside of Pelican... it is looking prime right now... we had a very quick flick there this morning, but no luck. Have done pretty well there too.

Cheers mate

Theo
    TT

Thanks Barrabundy - Yip, Joe is a top bloke and loves his fishin. We has promised me a sooty trip when we up there. Joe and Nev fished a lot together when Joe first moved to Yungaburra. Nev certainly knows his stuff.

Where have you been chasing your Murrays?? Tenterfield way, Glenn Innes?? I may be able to put you on a few spots.

Blacksheep i have been chasing cod in the gorges around inverell.It would be helpfull to know a few spots but.I do the right thing when i fish on peoples places and repecet there rules.

Hey Navi, is that the bloke Joe that caught that mega sized Barra?
    The one you sent me the picture of?
    Jas

I reckon it's the same bloke Jas... I have seen the pics as well

Jas,

Its legit mate... I've got all the shots of it right infront of me... Brag mat and all. No two ways about it. Funnily enough... it was only about 10m away from where Dave Powell got his WR.

Theo
    TT

Jas, as the boys confirmed, that's Joe.

Barrabundy, Joe was the one that put us onto a lot of our cod spots. He was good mates with the likes of Peter Newell, Steve Morgan etc who fished the New England area as well as Grafton (Mann, Nymboida etc).

I'll try and send you a pm with some spots that you may/may not know of.

Quote Originally Posted by TinarooTriumph View Post
    Jas,
    Its legit mate... I've got all the shots of it right infront of me... Brag mat and all. No two ways about it. Funnily enough... it was only about 10m away from where Dave Powell got his WR.
    Theo
    No disputes from me Theo??? as I told Navi when he sent me the pics that is a mega fish
    I know big fish fakes when I see them, and ones that are made to look bigger than they are. Big fish are just that, big fish!
    That fish, along with barraboss's 127, and John Mitchells brother Tonys 130 are the standouts for the past couple of years, as well as a Monduran fish thats been floating around.
    Nothing like a keg to make you go and check your gear again!
    Jas
    Last edited by the_matrix; 10-04-2008 at 06:01 PM.

G'day Jas,

Just thought you might have been a little 50/50 on it... I know how much we all like to see Brag Mat pics to get the true length of the fish. You've probably seen enough of them to tell whats what!!!!!!!!!!!

Theo
    TT

Theo,
    Navi sent me the pic, not on a brag mat, but the guy just holding it.
    Fish like that, there is NO dispute over its size. Its dimensions were clear and it didnt need to lay on a brag mat to believe the size.
    They are standouts, and anyone thats see's them go whoa!
    As soon as I saw it, I emailed Navi and said faaarrrkk thats a mega fish.
    Fish like that, Mattys, TM's etc deserve enourmous amounts of respect.
    It just annoys me when people claim all sorts of things, esp when you can make a fish look far bigger than it actually is. The trained eye can pick it, and I know one when I see one.
    As I have said in the past, check this thing out if you reckon your last barra was 130cm (unless it was)
    Why lie hey.

Jas, do you think they will ever hold a abt barra comp at tinaroo in the near future . cheers Cade