Thread: Gladstone area ... Estuaries

Question Gladstone area ... Estuaries

Hi Ausfishers

I'm currently planning our next road trip for Sept / Oct to Lake Awoonga & a couple of other impoundments ....... However , I need get my salt water fix along the way .
    With Awoonga being our primary destination .... I was thinking that the Gladstone area Estuary systems could be worth giving a go for a few days! ........ What are your opinions on this area + any advice on particular locations would be appreciated ......... its such a large system .

Lure casting ( HBs & SPs) would be our preferred method ( specially for barra , jacks & salmon).

Thanks in anticipation

Nagg

Re: Gladstone area ... Estuaries

Nagg,
    Following is a reply i penned a couple of months ago, probably still worth a go Sept-Oct, adapt the advice to suit, poppers are the go but try some plastics. The hot water outlet from the power station yields Salmon and Barra too so it may be worth a stop off for you.
    Hope it helps.

Chief 1,

Right here goes,

Look for the big incoming tides early morning in Winter. High about 7-8 am.
    Fish the mouth of the hot water outlet from first light till about 7-7.30am.
    I assume you can still access the bank there from that little track off the power station turn off, if boating beach your boat on the upstream side of the outlet and fish from there. (Just upstream from the main Calliope River ramp)
    Two ways to get em.
    Skipping poppers not the cup faced bloopers, skipping poppers. The brand i used to use were smilin jacks, about 8 bucks each from K-Mart Kin Kora. Any flat faced skipping popper will work. Cast out 3/4 of the way across the channel and retrieve flat out. You need to keep you rod tip high and wind like hell, i used to use a Penn 850 with 25lb mono but anything similar will be cool. You have to keep the popper skipping across the surface not diving under water, try it a few times and you'll get the hang of it.
    A couple of pointers. Keep at it. It works, the first smashing strike and 100m blistering run will leave you shaking at the knees. Now i lost my first couple of fish there cause as you may be aware the current runs out here all the time regardless of tide cause of the runout from the power station. The fish will take advantage of this and run your line out into the channel, then you are stuffed cause you'll be trying to fight them around the corner, won't work. As soon as you hook up start walking up towards the outflow from the power station, even if the fish is taking line keep walking backwards up there, reason being the fish will only run so far and if their arc brings them into the beach near the mouth then they'll turn around and fight fair out in the centre of the channel and the problem of them running around the corner is solved. Wow that's a heap of info so far and more to go.
    The second way is nowhere near as effective yet my PB was caught this way. Get some live mullet or Herring with the cast net around the foam at the HWO and throw them out with a light sinker, boring, but my 15.5kg fish ate a Mullet about 3" long so it works too. By the way that was towards the end of March so maybe have a try a bit earlier than Winter.
    Remember, let the fish run till it stops, constant pressure from then, and he'll have one or two more good runs yet, be patient. Oh the funny thing about hooking them on poppers, they have no idea what the f*** has happened and they'll sit on the surface stick their head down and tail out of the water and bash the surface with their tail, it's hilarious. After that little display they'll take off at a million miles an hour.
    Sigh, if you need any more info let me know and after my typing fingers have healed i'll reply.

nagg,

prob colloseum or the calliope.....the narrows would be worth a try as well..

cheers alex

Quote Originally Posted by sik008 View Post
    nagg,

prob colloseum or the calliope.....the narrows would be worth a try as well..

cheers alex
    Thanks Alex ...... Any particular areas ! ( I do like the look of the area behind Curtis Is )

Nagg

yer mate....aparently they get barra jack and all the otha sh*t at yellowpatch which is behind curtis....even places like sandfly crk and pancake down sth seem to fish alrite at the rite time ay...

cheers alex

Gday Nagg.plenty To Do In The Salt Around Gladstone.the Boyne River Is Worth A Look For Jacks.boyne River Mouth Is Good For Big Queenfish In Winter.poppers!get On Google Earth And Have A Look At Upper Pancake Creek Near Turkey Beach.rough Track In But Excellent Jack Fishing.wharfs In Harbour Are Good For All Sorts Of Big Things.(cod Barra Jew Salmon Fingermark)ditto For Islands In Harbour.have Fun!

Quote Originally Posted by SQUIDDA View Post
    Gday Nagg.plenty To Do In The Salt Around Gladstone.the Boyne River Is Worth A Look For Jacks.boyne River Mouth Is Good For Big Queenfish In Winter.poppers!get On Google Earth And Have A Look At Upper Pancake Creek Near Turkey Beach.rough Track In But Excellent Jack Fishing.wharfs In Harbour Are Good For All Sorts Of Big Things.(cod Barra Jew Salmon Fingermark)ditto For Islands In Harbour.have Fun!
    Sounds really good ...... love fishing new destinations & this area looks awesome!
    Yeh I haven't had a look yet on GE ...... just the Sat images on the Northern Fishfinder ........ It looks like its pretty wild country .. even though its so close to a big town like Gladstone

Nagg

did u want some spots???
    pm me if u want...

cheers alex

Nagg,

Some great country around the top of Curtis island too. Keppel rocks and some other rocky areas there, big black Jew, big Barra and heaps of Estuary Cod some horses too.

Keppel creek NE corner of Curtis Island, is also good, great whiting on the flats in the mouth and the usual suspects up the creek, Barra, Cod, Jacks and Fingermark, good Lizards too so you'll have a ball with the SP.

Quote Originally Posted by fivefishes View Post
    Nagg,

Some great country around the top of Curtis island too. Keppel rocks and some other rocky areas there, big black Jew, big Barra and heaps of Estuary Cod some horses too.

Keppel creek NE corner of Curtis Island, is also good, great whiting on the flats in the mouth and the usual suspects up the creek, Barra, Cod, Jacks and Fingermark, good Lizards too so you'll have a ball with the SP.

Thanks Matt ....... It all sounds good!
    We now will have to work out how much salt we need

Nagg

Sounds a like an orsum trip ahead chris !!!! It wouldn't suprise me if your next post was , Wheres the best place to settle in QLD

Quote Originally Posted by Mark-P View Post
    Sounds a like an orsum trip ahead chris !!!! It wouldn't suprise me if your next post was , Wheres the best place to settle in QLD

Hey Mark ..... I just love organising these trips , specially if they involve new destinations

......If you go back in the Test board archives you'll find " Where is the best place to live in Brisbane" ....... by ..... Moir!
    I actually plan to be in Brisbane around Christmas!

Nagg

Good 2 hear Chris ! Look forward 2 your forth coming reports !!

Gday Chris, we had a little dangle with livies in the salty Boyne first time we fished Awoonga, for something a bit differant, kicked in a few pots as well, minimal success, but there is some prime lookin jack country just cryin out for a big SP to be flicked thru.
    Problem is, after fishing the rust water, youll have to wash the boat mate
    brian

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Gday Chris, we had a little dangle with livies in the salty Boyne first time we fished Awoonga, for something a bit differant, kicked in a few pots as well, minimal success, but there is some prime lookin jack country just cryin out for a big SP to be flicked thru.
    Problem is, after fishing the rust water, youll have to wash the boat mate
    brian
    Mate .... we plan to alternate ... Military style Fresh , salt , fresh , salt , fresh!
    Hows this for a trip ?
    Awoonga , Gladstone Estuary , Monduran , Mary River or Baffle Ck ........ Then Jimargie ( Severn River .... on foot , Lure casting for Cod) ...... The thumbs starting to twitch all ready