well done thats a great snapper maybe i should try redcliffe next instead of the brisbane river.
regards,
keechie
Those of you that know me know that I like to challenge myself when it comes to fishing. The latest challenge was to get a goos snapper from a kayak. So I bought a dinged up Triyak( three man kayak), added a 40lb thrust electric motor (I am too lazy to paddle) and this morning the weather gods and the work gods shined. I should also add, the fishing gods did too.
So, hit the water at Redcliffe at 5.30am this morning, motored out to a patch of reef that I normally fish in the Haines, tied on a 8ld leader, a 1/16th 2/0 jig head and a 4" swimming mullet gulp in pumpkinseed. Cast out and within seconds all hell broke loose. (first cast, this is going to be a great day) ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ-ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ (all those z's are for T1) I was loosing line fast and had to give chase with the leccy. About 10 minutes passed before I saw the unmistakable bluey tinge of a good snapper. Took another run and I lost about 30metres of line. Got that back and a bit more and had what I reckon was over 8kgs and 90cms of redcliffe shallows snapper. The only problem was, he had a mate behind him. About 5 5 feet of a man in a grey suit. Not wanting to loose the fish to a shark, ( or me for that matter)I opened the spool and gave him his head. The fish quickly took off and all but emptied the spool. It stopped taking line, so I re-engaged the drag and started all over again. But alas, I lost him to the structure. That was better than such a majestic fish being taken by a shark. I would not have kept it anyway, but I would have loved a photo to share. Theres always tomorrow.
Anyway enough rambling. There was a good steady flow of fish for the next three hours, and most were well over legal. The average size this morning was about 46cms I reckon. I kept two for a feed, 48 and 52cms(pictured below) and the rest (about 20) were returned to the water. They were only feeding in a very small area, which I marked quickly with a float and weight once I found the main feeding zone. Water depth was about 18-20 feet.
What a great morning!!!!!!!!!!!!! And mission almost accomplished
Tight lines,
Foggy
well done thats a great snapper maybe i should try redcliffe next instead of the brisbane river.
regards,
keechie
Breaming is my LIFE!!!
After reading interesting challenge mission...
I gave my second though that I'll stick the boat not Kay cos of grey suit!
Thanks for a good report!
Foggy that would have been the best feeling sneaking around in the triyak and latching onto such a horse of a fish. I would have personally felt a little edgy knowing I was so close to the water with the grey suits around. I have to say you are a keen bloke for going out there. Nice to know that there are a lot of squire and snapper around still. Well done for trying something different and getting a feed for dinner. So when are we hunting Bass? Still keen to give it a go.
He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.
Foggy that's a great idea buying a Yack. If I lived closer to the water ...... Just think of it ...... Where others are spending a fortune going to fitness clubs, you could be paddling out for an early morning flick. Maybe your GP had something to do with the recent purchase?? Or your GP is my GP??
Good report and as always you get amoung them.
G'day foggy
Mate its cheating using a lecky motor.
I was the bloke in the Mango coloured swing (kayak) bobbing around. Now you know why so many of us around Redcliffe prefer the stealth of fishing from a yak.
Graham thats economy motoring at its best.
Nothing better than sneaking up on the elusive snapper.
bad luck with the big snap but i know you will be back to get revenge very soon.
Did you fish Mud early in the week?
Cheers Brent
ALLEGEDLY!!!!
Take Care
T
Well done mate
You never now Graham if you get a LT it might tow you around the bay.
Hey there foggy, good story. I have shifted my attention to Redcliffe & have been doing quite well with 2/3 fish per session. Sizes from 76cm down so far but only early in the season.
"We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
"Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"
Poodroo,
I will check out a few of my spots this week. If we can get through the long grass, maybe in the next few weeks. I will let you know.
Brent,
Briefly fished Mud Tuesday but no bait around and only 2 small keepers. Headed over to the Nelson and got another 3 around 50cm and heaps of smaller ones.
Ar-we-ther-yet,
I will be back. What a buzz
Scalem,
I think it was the SP not the GP
Bar Up,
I have fished Reddy every now and then with placcies over the last couple of years. Very under rated I will say and just leave it at that.
Foggy
It's a great spot for kayak fishing there off Redcliffe. There's alot of snapper around there, and quite a few Grassies as well. You also get schools of tailor & mackeral chopping around, and schools of big tarpon kicking around. Plenty of fun to be had there, and kayak is a great way to do it.
Paddling out there at 4:30am in the dark is a little spooky though... It's amazing how many things are jumping and hit the yak or your legs!
Foggy, your certainly getting into a few different aspects of fishing. top effort on hooking up on that fish and good quick thinking and worth the shot with letting him have his head.Unfortunate outcome but could have been an outstanding one . great stuff Cheers mate