Originally Posted by
BR65
Gday fishos, just back from a dash and splash trip up to Mondy, fished Thurs arvo and Friday, home this morning.
The dam has been a bit quiet after the inflow, at least for me, and after reading others reports, I wasnt expecting to much, but figured what the heck, theres no barra to be caught at Woody Point, get up there and "ave a go".
Thursday arvo was quite warm, with no breeze at all, makeing it perfect for sitting off a chosen piece of structure and really working it over. I poked my way up the dam, aiming for H section, temps were good and water colour is improveing, but fishing was quiet. A couple of catties told me at least there was some form of activity up that way, and eventually I pulled an 88 off a little clump of trees at the mouth of a small inlet. That fish was a perfect example of the old saying " if you think youve thrown enough casts in, throw another 10 just to make sure". I reckon I peppered that snag with 30 casts before that fish smacked the classic, wolfing it right down, all under the watchfull eye of a goanna sitting on a tree stump.
A nasty looking storm, with some decent lightning, curtailed the late arvo session, so I twisted the throttle on the 40 yammy to full noise and raced the rain back to the ramp.
Friday morning was an early start, pokeing thru the trees in a little bay before the sun rose.
I had marked this bay the previous arvo as holding some bait and fish, but the storm had stopped me fishing it, so in the pre-dawn gloom I began flicking classics around the trees.
Third cast in and Im smashed, with a good fish doing some noisy jumps in tight timber, just visable in the glow of the head lamp. That one bounced off, but at least I knew there were active fish in that bay, with the end result being an 82 and 84 finding the mat, with a couple of catties tossed in as well.
Sun up and the fish turned off, so I spent the rest of the day fishing the sticks, tieing off and working over fishy looking spots or drifting along with the faintest of breezes.
Weather was overcast, and water temps were down a couple of degrees, dont think that mattered to much though, I just couldnt find a barra.
I do know that slow rolling a Koolabung boney bream in silver thru standing timber is an absolute catty slayer, I retired that lure in disgrace after the count reached an even dozen of the whiskered fiends.
Another storm rolled in that arvo, a bit earlier than the previous day, so I ducked into an inlet and waited it out, than headed down to the mornings spot for the arvo session.
This turned out to be a good move, with the next hour being red hot Monduran at its best.
The rain was still drizzleing down, but the wind had dropped, when a turbo charged 115 kicked off proceedings, this one had me around, thru and into every piece of timber within sight, more by good luck than good management he eventually popped to the surface to be scooped up in the environet for a couple of quick snaps.
A little further on and the gold and red arafura is crunched right up in the shallows, a big head shake and that fish is gone. Bugger. Move along a bit, fire in another cast and smack, a 102 cant resist the twitch, twitch, pause retrieve. By now everything is wet in the persistant drizzle, so I dont bother with the camera, a quick release and that ones chewing on my thumb, ready to go.
I drop the next 2 fish, one horse that I see try to inhale the lure in about 18 inch's of water, and the other a smallish fish by the looks, maybe mid 80's, he scoots out of a drowned lantana bush, pushing a bow wave as he goes, crunchs the lure, goes straight to the air and spits the HB back at me. Bugger.
I end proceedings with a fat little 86, again pulled out of some lantana in the shallows, and with a wet bum and fadeing light, pull the pin for the day.
So cbrian