Thread: Stormy Monduran Barra

Re: Stormy Monduran Barra

Good work brian.

You have been the most consistant fisherman at Monduran this year without fail, and you have been getting alot of big fish too which is great.

cheers steve

What can i say, i look away for a couple of days and low and behold Brian is back up to Monduran, catching horse fish AGAIN!!!!!!!
    Great effort again mate.

Hi Brian does Debs go up with you,I know she used to like camping when we were younger.

Fantastic results again Brian......Monduran metreys are verging on becoming the rule rather than the exception.

Cheers and congrats.

Good Job Brian,
    By the way where did you get your brag matt mate.

Cheers Tod

good fish buddy

Cheers to all, it really is a great place to fish, can be such a bloody puzzle, then someone turns on the switch and its awesome. Hopefully my rambleing helps out with any one keen to have a go at a bit of impoundment barra fishing.

The truth mat was brought from fitzys sweetwater site, but I believe Foxie has them also???. Accuracey is a lot better, mine is only out 1/2 cm over the 140 cm length.

Major Defect, no Debs mate, she never got over the shock of us dropping that big shovel nosed shark outside the tent that nite over at Moreton, then calling her out lol
    Her idea of camping under the stars is booking a 5 star hotel now days, much to the detriment of my bank balance.
    Last edited by BR65; 02-04-2008 at 08:32 PM.

No worries Brian, as I said to Ben, keep an eye out for my little White 3.8m Edgetracker with the 9.9 Merc, I probably won't be in it as I'll be in stuart db's much more flasher rig, taking mine up for the some of the 'boatless' boys to borra, but if you see it at camp, I won't be far away. Look for the bloke who's 6'4", 20 odd kilos overweight with a Corona in his hand trying to look like he knows what he's doing!!!! Cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Gday fishos, just back from a dash and splash trip up to Mondy, fished Thurs arvo and Friday, home this morning.
    The dam has been a bit quiet after the inflow, at least for me, and after reading others reports, I wasnt expecting to much, but figured what the heck, theres no barra to be caught at Woody Point, get up there and "ave a go".
    Thursday arvo was quite warm, with no breeze at all, makeing it perfect for sitting off a chosen piece of structure and really working it over. I poked my way up the dam, aiming for H section, temps were good and water colour is improveing, but fishing was quiet. A couple of catties told me at least there was some form of activity up that way, and eventually I pulled an 88 off a little clump of trees at the mouth of a small inlet. That fish was a perfect example of the old saying " if you think youve thrown enough casts in, throw another 10 just to make sure". I reckon I peppered that snag with 30 casts before that fish smacked the classic, wolfing it right down, all under the watchfull eye of a goanna sitting on a tree stump.
    A nasty looking storm, with some decent lightning, curtailed the late arvo session, so I twisted the throttle on the 40 yammy to full noise and raced the rain back to the ramp.
    Friday morning was an early start, pokeing thru the trees in a little bay before the sun rose.
    I had marked this bay the previous arvo as holding some bait and fish, but the storm had stopped me fishing it, so in the pre-dawn gloom I began flicking classics around the trees.
    Third cast in and Im smashed, with a good fish doing some noisy jumps in tight timber, just visable in the glow of the head lamp. That one bounced off, but at least I knew there were active fish in that bay, with the end result being an 82 and 84 finding the mat, with a couple of catties tossed in as well.
    Sun up and the fish turned off, so I spent the rest of the day fishing the sticks, tieing off and working over fishy looking spots or drifting along with the faintest of breezes.
    Weather was overcast, and water temps were down a couple of degrees, dont think that mattered to much though, I just couldnt find a barra.
    I do know that slow rolling a Koolabung boney bream in silver thru standing timber is an absolute catty slayer, I retired that lure in disgrace after the count reached an even dozen of the whiskered fiends.
    Another storm rolled in that arvo, a bit earlier than the previous day, so I ducked into an inlet and waited it out, than headed down to the mornings spot for the arvo session.
    This turned out to be a good move, with the next hour being red hot Monduran at its best.
    The rain was still drizzleing down, but the wind had dropped, when a turbo charged 115 kicked off proceedings, this one had me around, thru and into every piece of timber within sight, more by good luck than good management he eventually popped to the surface to be scooped up in the environet for a couple of quick snaps.
    A little further on and the gold and red arafura is crunched right up in the shallows, a big head shake and that fish is gone. Bugger. Move along a bit, fire in another cast and smack, a 102 cant resist the twitch, twitch, pause retrieve. By now everything is wet in the persistant drizzle, so I dont bother with the camera, a quick release and that ones chewing on my thumb, ready to go.
    I drop the next 2 fish, one horse that I see try to inhale the lure in about 18 inch's of water, and the other a smallish fish by the looks, maybe mid 80's, he scoots out of a drowned lantana bush, pushing a bow wave as he goes, crunchs the lure, goes straight to the air and spits the HB back at me. Bugger.
    I end proceedings with a fat little 86, again pulled out of some lantana in the shallows, and with a wet bum and fadeing light, pull the pin for the day.
    So cbrian
    onclusions, I tried damn hard but struggled for fish in the standing timber, but found red hot fishing in the drowned shore line vegetation, with a definate dawn and dusk bite period (dont need to be a rocket scientist to figure that out). Lures of choice were a gaddens classic in the early morn pre dawn and a lively lures arafura in gold and red in the arvo, one with a rattle, one without??
    All good fun, will give it another go soon

Well done fished hard....for not a bad result...

the mighty whiety

The truth mat was brought from fitzys sweetwater site, but I believe Foxie has them also.
    Yeah - Foxie has them for around $20.

Yet to christen mine with a barra (or any other fish!)

Regs

I think it was your original post on em Pete that got my spidey senses tingling lol

Are you headed up for a fish over the long week ends comeing up???
    brian

Well done Brian at mondo i am off to darwin on the 17th

shane

Are you headed up for a fish over the long week ends comeing up???
    brian
    Nah mate.

Just got back from Cairns (work) and am off to NZ in May to celebrate 20 years of wedded bliss! Won't get back to Monduran before late August.

I have booked trips for August, October & December! Spending a bit of time over the next few weekends chasing longtails in the bay.

No matter what you do as a distraction the barra fever still burns deep.

I will catch you on the water at some stage for sure!

Regs

Thanks for the update Brian. Great to see it pay off for all your hard work.
    Cheers Voda <:{{{{><