Thread: Fishing River Links - Coomera

Fishing River Links - Coomera

Hey,

My mate (Trying to get and ausfish account as we speak) lives in River Links, Coomera, and everytime i go over there we always see guys which we call the 'pros' casting lures under all the pontoons catchin fish, including bream and Jacks. I was wondering if there are any of these "pros" out there, or anyone who knows about this type of fishing that can share some secrets of what lures they use and how they use it.

Thankz!
    Last edited by Gold_Coast_Chaser; 29-03-2008 at 09:21 AM.
    "The two best times to fish is when it's rainin' and when it ain't."

Cheers, Dylan

PB's

Bream: 40cm - Whiting: 41cm - Flathead: 62cm

Re: Fishing River Links - Coomera

Try searching for a thread called "Lures for jacks" and other similar threads.

Coomera is supposed to be thick with Jacks though I've had no luck there. Just spend as much time on the water as you can, experiment for yourself with different lures. Practice your casting a lot. Stay quiet. Use different retrieves.

The Pro's you mention where probably in your boat not so long ago. Keep practicing, experimenting and read through as many old Ausfish threads as you can.

Good luck

Most of those guys are bream fishing there. Theyll be using mostly soft plastics like Gulps on light jigheads, and some hardbodies as well. Get the Berkley video on soft plastics from any good tackle shop and that will fast track you.

Wink Re: Fishing River Links - Coomera

Quote Originally Posted by the gecko View Post
    Most of those guys are bream fishing there. Theyll be using mostly soft plastics like Gulps on light jigheads, and some hardbodies as well. Get the Berkley video on soft plastics from any good tackle shop and that will fast track you.

hey,

When casting towards the pontoons do u cast past it (To the side) and pull along it, or cast before it and pull away... or just try watevas best! ..... would a Jackal dchubby or an Ecogear SX40's be any good?? and are there any particular type of SP that would work best?

Thankz!

Cheers, Dylan

PB's

Both of those are knwon bream lures so they should do good. If your using hardbodies liek u are i'd be casting up past the pontoon a bit so that the lure has actually dug down a bit when it comes past the pontoon. A steady roll with a few twitches should do the trick, nice and slow. With soft plastics i dont think it matters too much because the lure will actually sink down straight away, still casting along the side is probably better, more time in the strike zone.

Yeah, I agree. cast before or after, its all good. sx40 and chubbys are both hot lures. Any sp can work, just keep em about 2in.

The experts say that casting ahead of the boat direction helps, so the boat doesnt scare the fish. They also say casting in tight to the pontoon is the key. casting within a few inches of the pontoon, is hugely different to getting it 12-24 inches away. Front or sides wont matter, they hang on all sides, but the beck eddy of the current/downstream is my choice.

Quote Originally Posted by the gecko View Post
    Yeah, I agree. cast before or after, its all good. sx40 and chubbys are both hot lures. Any sp can work, just keep em about 2in.

The experts say that casting ahead of the boat direction helps, so the boat doesnt scare the fish. They also say casting in tight to the pontoon is the key. casting within a few inches of the pontoon, is hugely different to getting it 12-24 inches away. Front or sides wont matter, they hang on all sides, but the beck eddy of the current/downstream is my choice.

Hey, u mention "beck eddy" of the current ....what does this mean exactly

thankz

Cheers, Dylan

PB's

hey dylan,

the other day a "pro" was fliking sof plastics under jettis in my canal in river links i asked if he had caught anythng and he pulled out a nice jack i asked what he used n he said jacks are knowen for soft plastics aswell so keep that in mind.
    The best place to fish is "in the water"

tom

Can someone please inform me on to what a "beck eddy" is????

Thankz!

Cheers, Dylan

PB's

I presume he meant back eddie. The swirling water created by water movement around a structure due to current or tide. Down current of structure.

Most important thing is time on the water. Grab a couple of small plastics 3" or smaller and jig heads to match (ask tackle shop). 2000 size reel or smaller and light rod with line to match.

I would say forget jacks and start with bream. Cast at the front, side, behind the pontoon let it sink below the pontoon/boat/tree/rockbar/mooring. Experiment with depth, lure and lure placement. Don't get to fancy to soon.

Plenty of threads on bream and plastics. Try 'search' for both words.

Quote Originally Posted by flick View Post
    I presume he meant back eddie. The swirling water created by water movement around a structure due to current or tide. Down current of structure.

Most important thing is time on the water. Grab a couple of small plastics 3" or smaller and jig heads to match (ask tackle shop). 2000 size reel or smaller and light rod with line to match.

I would say forget jacks and start with bream. Cast at the front, side, behind the pontoon let it sink below the pontoon/boat/tree/rockbar/mooring. Experiment with depth, lure and lure placement. Don't get to fancy to soon.

Plenty of threads on bream and plastics. Try 'search' for both words.

Thanks for the help, yeh i wont try to catch Jacks ill start of with bream, i think timing is right because Jacks are just goin off as it gets cooler and bream are coming on, would Gulp! 3" Minnow - Nuclear chicken SP be suitable for bream????

Cheers, Dylan

PB's

I got a few bream at night with a three inch nuke chook.

Try thinking what the bream are likely to be doing. They wont be swimming against a strong current all day, they will usually be waiting behind structure down current so they can get a break and ambush food that floats past. Often you can cast ahead of a pontoon or boat with an unweighted plastic, as it sinks the current will draw it down under the pontoon where the bream are ready to ambush.

Hey Dylan, the 2" gulp prawn in new peny and the 3" moldy cheese gulp are great bream Sp's. There the first two that I will use when I'm fishing the canals for bream. With jacks I only have started chasing them this year but only managed to get bricked. I was using gold bomber (the shallow diving one). Also make sure your knots are good and strong otherwise you end up losing a lot of tackle and even worse some good fish!

Cheers, Mick.

Quote Originally Posted by 84mick View Post
    Hey Dylan, the 2" gulp prawn in new peny and the 3" moldy cheese gulp are great bream Sp's. There the first two that I will use when I'm fishing the canals for bream. With jacks I only have started chasing them this year but only managed to get bricked. I was using gold bomber (the shallow diving one). Also make sure your knots are good and strong otherwise you end up losing a lot of tackle and even worse some good fish!

Cheers, Mick.
    Thanks Mick,

some great info there, i will use it all thanks alot...........

Is ur technique very similar to most peoples???? let it sink right to the bottom then jerk a few times and let it land on the bottom again the whole way to the boat???????? if not please share!

Cheers, Dylan

PB's

Quote Originally Posted by Gold_Coast_Chaser View Post
    Thanks Mick,

some great info there, i will use it all thanks alot...........

Is ur technique very similar to most peoples???? let it sink right to the bottom then jerk a few times and let it land on the bottom again the whole way to the boat???????? if not please share!

No worries mate, I fish land base with very light jigheads. The first twitch is usually mid way down because the SP is so light but of course it does depend on the water depth. As soon as you cast you have to keep your eyes on the line at all times as fish can hit when the SP is sinking down (I got my PB this way). Hope this helps.

Cheers, Mick.